Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

6 Nations
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see Austin Healey's column from Saturday before the match was played by - Clicking Here

I normally don't let articles that are derogatory towards Scotland annoy me - but this guy is one arrogant w**ker! What the rugby has to do with criticisng Kilts, Bannockburn etc. is anyone's guess - this just points to his own hatred of Scots and all things Scottish. He's to be pitied in my opinion.

I wouldn't be surprised if Frank Hadden pinned this to the dressing room wall before the game to get the guys fired up. With the likes of that smarmy get Guscott, Healey et al - England always set themselves up for a fall. Once again - they've fell flat on their face. No wonder so many people revel in their losses in sport.

Wonder what this guy is going to write in next week's column? "Sorry, I was an arse and got it completely wrong - I guess Scotland aren't that bad a team" - probably not. It'll be the referee's fault no doubt, or the weather, or blah blah blah - but of course it won't be that Scotland actually played well.

Just thank our lucky stars we don't have twats like that writing in our newspapers - what an idiot.

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, we had the best possible reaction to pish like that. 18-12 GIRUY Laughing
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 6:28 pm    Post subject: Sour grapes. Reply with quote

Oh dearie me,I have just returned from a peek at an English board.The loons are nae very happy,you should see what they're saying about us.I will probably get some caustic comments frae my workmates tomorrow.

http://bbc.co.uk/dna/mbscrumv/f2172320.html

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And another yins at it.....................

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/...eet=/sport/2006/02/27/ixrugu.html

tut tut! It's amazing how angry they get when they lose a match to Scotland. These upper class twits that see Scots and Scotland as beneath them are unbelievable. Smile

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Funny how we hear about how we make beating the English into such a big thing and how that displays the inferiority of Scots as a people. But there's been some amount of bitterness coming out from south of the border since.

I totally disagree that we raised our game against England. I though we played in the same manner against France. More likely we raised our game against two of the best teams in the world, as Scotland has to if you want to compete.
I really have nothing else to do!!!

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not all bad though found this on the forum wisnae me gave us.

"Ooohhh, so now only pundits that have something positive to say about that woeful performance are to be given airtime??!!
Get Real Gowens, England were poor and have been poor for a long time now.
I rarely agree with Guscott, but he got my wholehearted backing for his comments.

My heart bleeds for those poor players that you believe are under so much pressure!! Perhaps if those players showed the same passion and pride playing for their country as the Scots - and J Guscott - always showed when playing for their country, the pressure would lessen somewhat!"

Maybe there not all bad Rolling Eyes
Cymro
I need ma own bl**dy forum!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you think Scotland will get on this weekend?

I think you can beat Ireland. The fact that they gave us such a hiding 2 weeks ago could be good for Scotland as it eases the pressure on you while the Irish may be too confident for this game.

Im nervous about what Wales will do. We should win, but we should have done a lot of things this season and well, we haven't. A typical Welsh thing unfortunalty. Things go well for us so we try and think of the best way to stop that and ruin it all - and we succeed!

If cocking things up was a sport we would be World Champions!
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this will be a tough game this yin,we might jist scrape it though.
I thought Wales were getting back to the teams of auld wi their performances last year,whit went wrong there?
I remember watching Wales in the days when they were untouchable,cannae mind the players names richt enough apart fae JPR Williams and Gareth Edwards[im sure ive got their names right],noo that wis a team!!
Cymro

PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem with the Welsh team this season was that we lost Henson through most of the build up. Dont rate him as much as he rates himself but he's quite an usefull player when he's fully fit and concentrating.

Ceri Swinney was injured in the build up. Sonny Parker decided a day before the squad was announced that he wanted to retire.

Gareth Thomas is now injured/stressed after the whole Ruddock affair.

These losses meant we had to rely on simmilar tactics to last season, but the opposition had learnt from last season what we could do. The lack of strength in depth meant we couldnt change the game too much.

Other players who where superb last season havent been as obvious. Probably down to confidence - Charvis, Adam and Duncan Jones even Dwayne Peel and Shane Williams.

We also started competing in the Powergen Cup and despite Llanelli doing well in it I think maybe we've asked too much of the players. Since the Grand Slam win we've played 4 or 5 Autum Internationals, many of the Welsh team went on tour with the Lions. Played in the Celtic League. Heineken Cup and the Powergen Cup. Thomas has also had a lot of games in the French league as has Stephen Jones. Slight knocks havent had time to heel and got worse as a result.

Loosing Ruddock with all the blame and questions which arose after hasnt heped at all either. He was a fantastic coach and why ever he left it his morale and confidence in the squad and beyond.

Hopefully for the next 6 Nations we'll have more stability. The Under 21's had remained fantastic from their Grand Slam win last season so the future does look bright.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think wee might scrape it against the Irish. Going to come down to the performacne on the day, so just have to wait and see. If we do win, I think we'll go on to win or tie for the competition.

Watching the Wales Italy game at the moment. Italy dinnae look that great. What are Wales playing at though? Italy just missed a chance to go 21-15 up, now 18-15!
Cymro

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Terrible score for Wales.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Terrible score for Scotland. We were s***e. Ireland weren't much better, but well deserved the win.

First away point ever for Italy.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

....was like a reverse of the Scotland-England game today.

Ireland were the better team and Scotland looked bereft of ideas in the whole 2nd half. Who would've thought it - beat France and England, lose to Wales and Ireland.

Fortress Murrayfield it is then!

Cymro

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least the French did well!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cymro wrote:
At least the French did well!

Aye yer richt there Cymro! Very Happy They tell me thaurs a "sweet chariot" jist been pit up fer sale if yer interested. Wink ye should be able tae git it cheap enuch as they tell me the wheels hae jist cam aff it. Twisted Evil
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Sour grapes. Reply with quote

wisnaeme wrote:
Oh dearie me,I have just returned from a peek at an English board.The loons are nae very happy,you should see what they're saying about us.I will probably get some caustic comments frae my workmates tomorrow.

http://bbc.co.uk/dna/mbscrumv/f2172320.html

Aye,right enough I got some caustic comments from my English aquaintances but not half as many as I got frae our defeat in Ireland.

Aye weel,here's a wee reply tae the loons.

Ode tae ra English Rugby Team.

Ye come up here tae paradise,tae beat us at yer game.
Aw wind and pish an full o' sh*t.yer aw the bluidy same.
Ye caw yerselves World Champions,ra nation's most elite,
But Scotland are ra greatest noo,cos ye've just been fuckin' beat.

A game that wis invented,fer English gentlemen,
Nae Highland Jocks wi tartan frocks,weel bluidy think again.
A baw that's shapit like an egg,it's jist a stupid farse,
Ah suppose it makes it easier,tae ram it up yer arse.

Sa gan back home an lick yer wounds,yer a pack o stupid fools.
It's time fer ye tae cheat again an change ra fuckin' rules.
Rugby,fitba' cricket tae, yer jist a shower o chancers,
Stick tae whit ye dae ra best,ye Morris fuckin' dancers.

PDT_Aliboronz_39

Worth remembering that Moorish dancing (Morris) arrived in England with Moroccan slaves,so ye kin guess whit them big sticks were for.
While their supposed Anglo-Saxon epic poem" Beowolf" appears to be one o them Vilking Saga's frae Shetland,Iceland,Greenland or wan o them Scandinavian countries.

Last edited by wisnaeme on Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:15 pm; edited 3 times in total

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Laughing Laughing Thats guid that.Did ye wricht that yersel Wisnaeme?
Here! Hae ye noticed that its aw gone quiet ower oan the Blackleaf front aboot the rugby?I`ll tell ye this though..see if yon english dae manage tae scrape the 6 nations title Blackleaf will be back oan spouting the usual keech,thats a nap!
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
Laughing Laughing Thats guid that.Did ye wricht that yersel Wisnaeme?
Here! Hae ye noticed that its aw gone quiet ower oan the Blackleaf front aboot the rugby?I`ll tell ye this though..see if yon english dae manage tae scrape the 6 nations title Blackleaf will be back oan spouting the usual keech,thats a nap!

Naw. I did nae wricht that ma self,"Wolf". Ah wis sent it frae a pal who is weel kenit in Scotland called Robbie the Pict,ye ken the man weel frae his putting twa fingers up tae ra establishment an fighting fer justice.Aye ,ye're right about yon loon Blackleaf,tha loon wull be back tae crow fer something ra loon has nae had a part in if they win. Jist like a Kail yard rooster crowin' on ra tap o' a dungheap midden. Ps. Ah've jist edited ma last post fer ye,at ra bottom o it is something that may be o interest tae ye.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh a didnae ken ony ae theat aboot yon morris dancin an the auld Beowolf.Thats interesting that Wisnaeme.
Aye i ken whae yer talkin aboot in Robbie the Pict its a pity thaurs nae mair like him in Scotland,we micht be better aff if thaur wis i`ll tell ye.
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks fer that "wolf".Aye it is a pleasure tae myself that I can be associated wi yer man Robbie the Pict. Yer man is addressing the folk who will be gathering to celebrate the 700th anniversary of Robert the Bruce's Coronation as king of Scots later this month.Whit the Pict has tae say is always worth listening to.It's a pity maist o them loons in ra big house in Edinburgh tend tae ignore him but they dae that at their peril because that's wan man wae's nae gonnae go awa.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3