Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
Tartan Jack On A Journey (500 Miles)
Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:38 pm Post subject: |
Some things that amaze me about the "old firm" are 1-Celtic fans dont sing bigoted songs they sing,ahem,Irish folk songs!=in that case isnt "the sash an Irish folk song? 2-Celtic arent a Scottish club they are an Irish club=so who was the first British club to win the european cup then,Man Utd?3-Celtic were set up to support the poor Irish Catholics=obviously that still applys today so the "poor Irish Catholics" can afford the £300 plus season tickets!...1 Rangers fans wear England strips and fly union flags to show they are proud to be British,like when they wore Holland tops,and wearing an England top doesnt make you British it makes you err English? 2-When they sing GSTQ at Ibrox do they sing the verse about coming up to crush the Scots? 3-How many Rangers fans go to Ibrox and sing GSTQ then go and watch Scotland and would boo it if we were playing England? Please dont take this personally as i hate both sides of the "old firm" equally,lol.Oh and the fact that they both would leave the SPL tomorrow to play in the Premiership,face it they dont want you! If you think any side of the "old firm" would go down and make an impact in the premiership YOUR HAVIN A LAFF!!! And i hate admitting that as a proud Scotsman!!!
_________________ Swansea City F.C. |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:44 am Post subject: u |
| Quote: | | 1-Celtic fans dont sing bigoted songs they sing,ahem,Irish folk songs!=in that case isnt "the sash an Irish folk song? |
Celtic fans do sing bigoted songs and Irish folk songs are not, in general bigoted. Yes, the sash is a folk song from Northern Ireland.
| Quote: | | 2-Celtic arent a Scottish club they are an Irish club=so who was the first British club to win the european cup then,Man Utd? |
Celtic are a Scottish club and their name reflects that. The "Irish" clubs at the time used the name "Hibernians" whereas as Celtic chose their name to encompass their irish roots and scottish home. Celtic were the first British club to win the European Cup, Man U were the second and the first English club.
| Quote: | | 3-Celtic were set up to support the poor Irish Catholics=obviously that still applys today so the "poor Irish Catholics" can afford the £300 plus season tickets!... |
Celtic were set up to raise funds for the poor of the east end, a great many of them were Irish Immigrants. Oxfam were set up as a small famine relief charity in Oxford, Wimbledon was set up as a croquet club, Shell used to sell actual shells. Whats your point? Are you saying that only poor people who are Irish should be allowed to buy seats at Celtic Park?
| Quote: | | 1 Rangers fans wear England strips and fly union flags to show they are proud to be British,like when they wore Holland tops,and wearing an England top doesnt make you British it makes you err English? |
Very few Rangers fans wear England tops, many British teams fans use the Union Jack especially English teams.
| Quote: | | 2-When they sing GSTQ at Ibrox do they sing the verse about coming up to crush the Scots? |
No they don't, obviously. Actually that version no longer exists as such and has never been part of the version of the anthem sung in Scotland. At one point there was a verse calling for the return of the Stewarts, they don't sing that version at Ibrox either.
| Quote: | | 3-How many Rangers fans go to Ibrox and sing GSTQ then go and watch Scotland and would boo it if we were playing England? |
Not many I would imagine, and when we next play England they will use an English rather than british anthem for their team just as their cricket and rugby teams do.
| Quote: | | Please dont take this personally as i hate both sides of the "old firm" equally,lol. |
I dont take it personally and I notice that you don't seem to hate bigotry and sectarianism in other clubs fans or in wider socity, just in the old firm.
| Quote: | | Oh and the fact that they both would leave the SPL tomorrow to play in the Premiership,face it they dont want you! |
In fact it wasn't "both" as rangers had decided against that idea a few years ago while Celtic still had it as its target. The management and directors of a club have a duty to improve and expand that club. They will not allow borders, just like any other business person wouldn't, to block their thinking, why should they? It remains to be seen but I think that a re-alignment of national FAs across Europe is coming if the smaller nations are to compete with the big 6. It might not be England we join up with as they already have the big market they need. Marco Van Basten called for the Dutch and Belgian leagues to merge just this week. Cardiff city are chasing promotion the the ENGLISH premiership, teams from Leichtenstein can get promotion to the Swiss leagues, its not that unusual an idea really.
| Quote: | | If you think any side of the "old firm" would go down and make an impact in the premiership YOUR HAVIN A LAFF!!! |
I think it is obvious that they would, even if it is unlikely to happen. If they were in the premiership they would immediately be about £20million per year better off, are you saying that the old firm with their current squads and facilities wouldnt match English teams with an extra £20m to play with? I think you are wrong. It may have escaped your notice, but the team currently in third in the SPL made the last 16 of the Champions league this year. The last three competitive matches between English and Scottish clubs puts us in front, with Rangers putting up a good show against Man U and Celtic defeating Blacburn and Liverpool on their way to a UEFA cup final in 2003. |
Cymro I need ma own bl**dy forum!
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:27 am Post subject: |
| Quote: | Quote:
3-How many Rangers fans go to Ibrox and sing GSTQ then go and watch Scotland and would boo it if we were playing England?
Not many I would imagine, and when we next play England they will use an English rather than british anthem for their team just as their cricket and rugby teams do. |
England sing God Save the Queen at their football and rugby matches. I don't see that changing either somehow, not in the immeridate future anyway. |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:14 pm Post subject: Re: u |
| Rinty wrote: | | It remains to be seen but I think that a re-alignment of national FAs across Europe is coming if the smaller nations are to compete with the big 6. It might not be England we join up with as they already have the big market they need. |
It will definitely happen. I liked the talk about an Atlantic league that we had a few years ago. I think joining up with a few teams from a few similar sized leagues would be a good idea. Allowing promotion and relegation to the respective national leagues. |
Wolf of Badenoch 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:31 pm Post subject: Re: u |
| SLG wrote: | | I liked the talk about an Atlantic league that we had a few years ago. I think joining up with a few teams from a few similar sized leagues would be a good idea. Allowing promotion and relegation to the respective national leagues. |
Aye i liked the idea ae yon Atlantic league tae,pity it fell away though.I cannae mind but wis it jist Celtic and Rangers that were the only Scottish clubs tae be involved? _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:51 pm Post subject: Re: u |
| Wolf of Badenoch wrote: | | Aye i liked the idea ae yon Atlantic league tae,pity it fell away though.I cannae mind but wis it jist Celtic and Rangers that were the only Scottish clubs tae be involved? |
There were a few different formats suggested. The one I remember would have had three Scots clubs. So OF +1. And two or three teams coming from Portugal, Belgium, Netherlands and Sweden (and maybe Denmark). I can't remember how the relegation would have worked. I think the bottom two would be replaced by a team from their own national league to keep the numbers balanced. |
sgmillerton 3 Strikes - Banned!

Posted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 11:16 am Post subject: Re: j |
If the SFA dared to start to tell Celtic fans what flags and songs they should display they had better have an extremely good lawyer to point out what parts are offensive, sectarian or breach any SFA rules.[/quote]
rinty, you recently said that 30,000 celtic fans singing about 'huns' is 'obviously' secterian. yet another contradiction or is it just another piece of fudging spin. i'm not sure, you'll know what you mean when you say one thing, then another. _________________ available now at aw ra pyooor besht stalls at ra barra's n that, know!!! oh teashoci teashoci, teashoci teashoci! |
sgmillerton 3 Strikes - Banned!

Posted: Sat Sep 22, 2007 11:17 am Post subject: |
sorry about that, the first part of the posting is a quote from rinty. _________________ available now at aw ra pyooor besht stalls at ra barra's n that, know!!! oh teashoci teashoci, teashoci teashoci! |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2007 6:29 pm Post subject: |
Yes and an entirely consistent quote with my other points.
A lawyer would be needed to establish what is and isnt a sectarian or bigotted act and it would be a minefield.
It can be seen in some cases what is obviously sectarian, but in others we wouldnt have as clear a picture.
Read my contribution to the whole thread. Can "the sash" be seen in itself to be bigotted or sectarian? Is flying a national flag of another country an act of hostility? |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum