Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Introductions and Communication
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 3:36 pm    Post subject: New member Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I was just on Scottish Independence Part website, and wrote up a big intro. So, I will just post it here as well. Hope that's alright!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I feel a bit odd posting here, but I really wanted to at least say hi. I feel embarrassed because I am not actually Scottish, I am actually American. Not that I particularly like being American or anything, but not complaining either. My boyfriend is a Scot though, and don't worry, he's a real Scot. I know how a lot of Americans like to claim they are Scottish when they mean some ancestor they managed to track down.

Through my boyfriend, I have gained a real appreciation for Scotland. I love the country, and really consider myself at home there. That's why I have decided to live there, and plan to move to Scotland in a couple of months to live with my boyfriend. It's been a long two or so years in the planning, I can't wait!

But to the topic at hand, I do feel strongly about Scotland and where it stands with England. There were so many things I was oblivious to, some things my boyfriend told me I couldn’t believe. And I found more when I searched myself! I remember reading an article saying why Scotland isn't a country, and it was awful. Nearly ever reason was "Kind of, England is in charge of..." I can post a link to that article if anyone is interested.

I think about my future in Scotland, and can see myself putting a strong, but not obsessive emphasis on preserving what the Scot's have kept alive for so long. I know I am not Scottish, and I know that doesn’t help. But I would go as far as to get rid of my accent so my children someday can grow up not only knowing their identity, but feeling it too.

I guess that might sound odd coming from an American, but I love Scotland, and I am concerned the wonderful traditions and even accent strength are slowly diminishing with the younger generations losing interest. Then again, equally, I feel Scotland is doing the best of among many countries in the world as far as preserving such wonderful things. I still see Haggis, and I still see kilts. That alone is something I think is cherishable.

I still feel weird saying all that and not even being a Scot. But I do hope Scotland gains more independence in the future. I mean, I do think back to what William Wallace did, and think how sad it is that everything he died for is now lost. The way I see it, England is ruling Scotland again, only this time politically. I hope we can see his dream come alive again by fighting back politically, as is done in this day and age.

Well, hopefully I didn't embarrass myself too much just there. Glad to be here!

-Oh, and forgot to add. My boyfriend showed me an article about them considering changing Glasgow International Airport to William Wallace International Airport. I hope they do! They are even considering changing Prestwick Airport to Robert Burns Airport.

'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome tae ye!
Enjoyed reading yer post there,very passionate.Guid oan ye! Very Happy

I notice ye mention england often in regards to a lot of whit ails Scotland at the moment,ye will find that its not the english but the brits who keep Scotland back and probably more importantly the Scottish themselves are responsible for keeping us nationalists from our goal of independence.

Yer post comes across as if it wis written by a passionate Scot[and ye are now Wink ]and if only more Scots had the same passion for independence as yersel we wid be free o the brit yoke.

Agin Welcome Tae Ye.

The Wolf.
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Closing ranks there with that scary wolf creature Laughing
Welcome Scotsgirl. We share the same passion.
Scotland that is, not yer boyfriend Wink

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi Scotsgirl - welcome. Smile

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
the bard of keppoch
Nationalist

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

welcome to the asylum Laughing
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much for the warm welcome everyone! It's so awesome to have this forum, and I can tell you why. Being American and all, I feel really odd standing up for Scotland as I do, and I am always worried a native Scot is going to look at me crazy. To be honest, even my own boyfriend sometimes seems a bit shy to show his pride because he worries folks will think he's weird or something. I always encourage him to show it though, even if it means wearing a kilt grocery shopping. Haha, actually that's for me, I love the kilt. In fact, ive had some neat ideas for making tartan bits to wear. Like hair bands, scarves, just something to give off that hint that I am a Scot's girl. Wink

Oh, and a special thank you to Wolf. You gave me a really warm welcome with your comment "Yer post comes across as if it wis written by a passionate Scot[and ye are now ]and if only more Scots had the same passion for independence as yersel we wid be free o the brit yoke." Thank you. Very Happy

Mind if I get an opinion now by chance? Just in case anyone will check back on this topic of course. I know intro's are short lived Rolling Eyes I have been thinking about learning a proper Scottish accent, and just taking it on. I know it sounds mad, and I do worry someone will think I am trying to pretend I am Scottish or something. I guess in a way I am, but here's how I look at it. Over here in the USA, it's very common for people from other countries to change their accents to an American one. Even people from the south will try to put on a "normal" american accent, but switch back to their southern accent when they visit their family or what not.

Not that I encourage disguising your accent, far from it. But, at the same time, I see putting on a Scot's accent as a way to really feel part of the world over there. And of course, it would be fun to switch back to my American accent to shock someone that thinks I am Scottish. Wink

Sorry for the long explination, for anyone wanting the bottom line, would be it alright or wrong of me to put on a Scots accent regularly after learning a proper one?

Thanks! Very Happy

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ye`ll probably find that if ye`ve lived in Scotland for a while ye will pick up the accent without even noticing it.Ye`ll soon hae a broad Scots burr. Very Happy
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wonderful, thank you. Im sure it will probably happen as well. Wink

Oh hey, answer me this. Why do people make fun of the Glaswegen...bah. Can't spell it. I'll just say the Glasgow accent's. Why do they make fun of them so much? I haven't heard a deep northern accent yet, but the ones from Glasgow sound the most Scottish to me. Is there something about the accent I am not seeing? Or maybe they are discouaging the stronger accents? I guess im not seeing it.
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never got the accent, just a couple of words, and God knows I've spent enough time amongst the locals in Scotland Shocked Can write it perfectly now though Laughing
I speak English with a Dutch accent. Crying or Very sad
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nina wrote:
I never got the accent, just a couple of words, and God knows I've spent enough time amongst the locals in Scotland Shocked Can write it perfectly now though Laughing
I speak English with a Dutch accent. Crying or Very sad

Oh really? I guess it depends on the accent you start with, and how much you think about it. I was given the impression from my boyfriends friend that my accent is very mono-tone to them, so maybe it will be easier for me. I know I adopted a few little hints of the accent from just being around my boyfriend. I supose there's no harm in learning one as well as practacing. Wink I actually find it fun, and useful even. Will make me feel like a proper Scottish citizen being able to sound like one. Very Happy

I am catching on the different words quite well though, like sweets instead of candy, and trousers instead of pants, chips instead of fries and so on. Get's me really confused when I want to say Jumper, but I know i'll confuse someone if I say it, and end up having to say Sweater until my big move. Very Happy
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yeah, never thought about it like that Scotsgirl, the things you say like trousers <> pants, sweets <> candy, I use the non-american names as a standard, don't know why, but I think it is because we are taught the "Britsh-English" as a rule in the Dutch educational system.
Is your boyfriend living in the USA at present?

You know what I sneakily think?
No one from outside Scotland is ever really welcomed as one of the Scots, one of "them". I know I haven't... Well, that could be because I am me... Confused But my father hasnae either. He has been living there for over 25 years now Shocked, being a Scottish nationalist and all. But I hope it will be different for you. Laughing
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nina wrote:
Oh yeah, never thought about it like that Scotsgirl, the things you say like trousers <> pants, sweets <> candy, I use the non-american names as a standard, don't know why, but I think it is because we are taught the "Britsh-English" as a rule in the Dutch educational system.
Is your boyfriend living in the USA at present?

Ah yea, I noticed that people from countries on that side of the world always appear to be taught british-english. Bleah. Rolling Eyes

Nope, my boyfriend has always lived in Scotland, no where else. Ive visited him twice, and he has visited me once. Mind you they were between 4 weeks and 3 months worth the visits! We can't wait to end this visiting business and be able to date properly. Who knows, maybe more. Wink

You know what I sneakily think?
No one from outside Scotland is ever really welcomed as one of the Scots, one of "them". I know I haven't... Well, that could be because I am me... Confused But my father hasnae either. He has been living there for over 25 years now Shocked, being a Scottish nationalist and all. But I hope it will be different for you. Laughing

Actually, it is quite different for me. I will never try to be Scottish, mind you, I want to live like a Scot, and blend in. But I will never go around pretending I am Scottish. I supose I am contredicting myself, wanting to take on the accent. But I see that more as blending in. So, when I say I am moving there, I always say I will be an American-Scot. Never Scottish.

However, funny enough, I am being given quite a warm welcome from folks I know there. In fact, so much, they are saying i'll be a Scot. Isn't that something? As my boyfriend told me once "You're Scottish to me, just in the wrong country." Rolling Eyes Very Happy
sandmountainslim
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a dear friend in The Netherlands who speaks English with a Southern accent, came from living in Alabama for a couple years. As for the Southerners who attempt to "lose" their accent to appear more "normal" we have a word for those type people... Scalawags.

Welcome aboard dear lady.
Deo Vindice
WP
Jefferson Republican Party
http://jeffersonrepublicanparty.com
http://jeffersonrepublican.blogspot.com/
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scotsgirl,
re: pants/trousers, the correct Scots word for this item of clothing is actually "breeks".
Best wishes.
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Abieuan wrote:
scotsgirl,
re: pants/trousers, the correct Scots word for this item of clothing is actually "breeks".
Best wishes.

ah! I did not know that. Must be in a different region then where my boyfriend grew up. Thanks!
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
Welcome tae ye!

I notice ye mention england often in regards to a lot of whit ails Scotland at the moment,ye will find that its not the english but the brits who keep Scotland back and probably more importantly the Scottish themselves are responsible for keeping us nationalists from our goal of independence.

The Wolf.

the brits keep scotland back thats a good one, scotland is over represented at the sharp end of the british imperialist machine, the british army.

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parkhead_rfb wrote:
Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
Welcome tae ye!

The Wolf.

the brits keep scotland back thats a good one, scotland is over represented at the sharp end of the british imperialist machine, the british army.

aye and if ye read the post agin ye`ll see it mentions"more importantly the scottish themselves are responsible" which i meant as brits.
Yer preaching tae the converted if yer pointing oot tae me aboot the Scots in the brit army.My family have had plenty o upset and grief at the hands o the brits but i don`t feel its something i need tae speak aboot on this forum.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm glad we agree then Laughing

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parkhead_rfb wrote:
Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
Welcome tae ye!

The Wolf.

What is the point of this particular line you have? Fair enough - Scots are technically Brits, as are you and I whether we like it or not.

You as well as I know that the over-representation of Scots in the army is due to high unemployment in certain areas where it is the only viable alternative to being 'on the dole'. Your selective facts go without telling the full story - but don't let you talking s***e get in the way of a good story.

There are many patriotic Scottish Nationalists who hate everything about Britain and that have been in the British Army - purely as a way of gaining employment and a decent income. Whether you agree with their motives is unimportant - it's a fact that a lot of these guys use the army as a means to put food in their families' mouths and clothes on their backs, not because they want to further the 'British Imperialist Machine' as you put it.

No one is trying to deny that soldiers of the British army have been at the sharp end of government policy in both Ireland and abroad. That goes without saying, but these guys were nothing but soldiers following orders.

What is the point of harking back all the time and creating a blame culture - what good does it actually do apart from create hatred and divisions?

You seem to be looking for an enemy on this forum who isn't actually there. A vast majority of those on here broadly agree with your aims so why continue to attack them? When someone disagrees with your views no matter the reason you always blow your top without first considering the reasons why. You are given free rein to post about any topic here. This is essentially a Scottish Politics Forum for those who wish to see Independence from the UK, or 'Britain'. I can think of only one or two people on here who consider themselves 'British'.

Please show a bit of courtesy on this forum to those who show it to you. If you want to act like a child and 'butt in' with unhelpful, disruptive and often unrelated posts - maybe this isn't the forum for you. I've seen in a lot of your previous posts here that you are able to add to many discussions effectively without becoming abusive or taking it completely off-topic - why not actually try and contribute in this constructive way rather than like the posts above?

Yours Hopefully,

rs_azzuri

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parkhead_rfb wrote:
i'm glad we agree then Laughing

PDT_Aliboronz_15 Wis it yer band that played up at the Glencoe commemeration in february past?There wis a band there an jist fae whit ye said in wan ae yer other posts a thoucht it micht be yersel.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Introductions and Communication All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2