Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Cricket - England on top in India.
Goto page Previous  1, 2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I love his spelling. It is like the sunny is coming out on a rainy day... Laughing

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
Blackleaf wrote:

I wish you would spell words properly rather than spell them the way you say them in your Scottish accent. Maybe I should write in my Lancashire accent.

Blackleaf..try changing the word accent for dialect.And onyways whae are ye tae tell me how i should be spellin`.
Batter in an wricht awa in yer "Lancashire accent",i for yin wid applaud ye.It`d probably mak mair sense than the gash ye`ve been posting up tae noo onyway. Wink

Or better yet, 'language'. given Scots is a language in itself I see no problem in Wolf using it.

In fact, I'd like to encourage it on this board - certainly brings a bit of character to the posts.

If only there were more like ye Wolf.... Very Happy

and Blackleaf, gonnae no' type in yer Lancastrian accent? I'd think it highly doubtful that people on this particular board would understand you, plus it'll remind me of my ex-flatmate who was a right tight b****rd! Razz

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank ye Nina and azzuri i think blackleaf wants me tae "flatten aw ma vowels an throw the r awa eh?" Wink
Ha i wis constantly gettin` bother at ma work for writin` the way a talk...You cannot write in slang Mr Wolf!!...ha! a`m no writin` in slang,a`m writin` in ma ain language so ye better stert haundin` oot the verbal and written warnings.I`ll tell ye Scots is a dying language as it is an nae bairns or workers under ma charge`ll be telt they`re talkin slang onyways.
PDT_Aliboronz_15
Leathlaobhair
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it Lallans or Scottish-English? I think the former, since I can more or less make out what you type...
Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Leathlaobhair wrote:
Is it Lallans or Scottish-English? I think the former, since I can more or less make out what you type...

A`ll tell ye tae be honest a dinnae hae a clue masel,i jist wricht the way a talk,i wis broucht up as a bairn wi Scots an` Irish words fleein` aboot the hoose so ive got a guid mixture although the irish disnae come through in the typing but there is a hint ae it in ma speech sae ive been telt.
twa guid sites here for ye tae hae a look at richt enough.
http://www.lallans.co.uk/lallans.html
http://www.scots-online.org/
Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It all starts again tomorrow.

How confident are you of getting a draw Blackleaf?

I think Flintoff has done pretty well as captain, but the batting has let the side down big time.
Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, a fantastic start for England today. Dravid may live to regret putting England into bat. Wonder if Engalnd get up to 450+ will they declare? Considering they need a win to draw the series I think it would be in their best interests to do so.

Bell must be skating on thin ice. If it wasn't for his brilliant fielding I think he would be out of the squad faster than you could say "Test Match Hundred"! In many ways he reminds me of Graeme Hick.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blackleaf wrote:
The rugby? That's another tournament England will win.

With England doing well in the cricket, England to win the Six Nations and England to win the World Cup, it's gonna be another great sporting year for England.

oh well - there's always next year eh? Laughing Rolling Eyes

see here - http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/r...n/international/table/default.stm

for the final table!

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Leathlaobhair wrote:

It's neither. It's Englis, but spelt wrong.

All these Scots do is write in English but the way that they pronounce the words, and then tell everyone that it's a language. But ANYONE can do that. I could easily write in the way I pronounce words in my accent and then tell you that it's a language.

I've noticed, too, that hardly any two Scots, who claim to write in a language called "Scots" hardly ever spell some of the words in the same way.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

England won the Third Test against India, and the Series is now level at 1-1 with a game tied.

1st innings
England - 400
India - 279

2nd innings
England - 191
India - 100

England win by 212 runs.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blackleaf wrote:

All these Scots do is write in English but the way that they pronounce the words, and then tell everyone that it's a language. But ANYONE can do that. I could easily write in the way I pronounce words in my accent and then tell you that it's a language.

I've noticed, too, that hardly any two Scots, who claim to write in a language called "Scots" hardly ever spell some of the words in the same way.

Aye an ye`ll be an authority oan it tae eh Blackleaf.Weel whit eer it is ye seem tae be gittin in an awfy rankle ower it,its the same-like rane oot ae ye aw the time.
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
Blackleaf wrote:

Aye an ye`ll be an authority oan it tae eh Blackleaf.Weel whit eer it is ye seem tae be gittin in an awfy rankle ower it,its the same-like rane oot ae ye aw the time.

You go Wolf! The truth hurts.
I'll do the wave for you! cheers
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aussies told to mind their language
By STEPHEN HULL, Metro

23rd March 2006

It's as much a tradition of the game as whites, the thwack of leather on willow and curled-up cucumber sandwiches for tea.

But now Australian cricket fans face being banned from using their time-honoured taunt - calling the English 'pommy b******s'.

They face being ejected if they sledge the England team during the Ashes tour later this year.

The crackdown by the game's ruling body Down Under, Cricket Australia, came after South African players complained about racist taunts.

"This is the first complaint by a cricketing nation and it must be taken seriously,' said CA chief James Sutherland.

Asked about Australian fans insulting England players he added: "If the English cricket team regards that as racist is more to the point and we need to be sensitive to it."

Sutherland spoke out after the International Cricket Council reported on the abuse directed at South African players during their tour of Australia last year.

dailymail.co.uk
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2