Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

What song are you listening to right now?.........
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 37, 38, 39  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:46 pm    Post subject: h Reply with quote

Of the classsic "there she goes" line up John formed "Cast" Chrissy ended up being Robbi Williams drummer as well as the Lightning Seeds, Lee went a bit mad, the others just drifted out of sight I think.

Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:

That's terrible news Nina Sad I hope your friend had a good excuse! I hope killin him will cheer you up a bit Laughing

Is this the only event like this throughout the year? You'll just need to get yourself on one of those cheap flights to Scotland and see the real thing!

Ach... you are too kind SLG, sympathising with me Laughing I did not kill him yet, I will though...soon, when he leasts expects it Wink
I've been to the Scotfest though, just returned now. I wanted to go there badly so I went alone. Been in the pissing rain, cold to the bone and seen many many pipebands and a couple of highland dancers, and some second rate bands from Germany and the Netherlands. Furthermore, there were some fake Scottish goodies (made in England Shocked Rolling Eyes ) and a guy selling smelly haggis and rolls. There were also heaps of Dutchmen walking around in fake looking kilts (How do I know they are Dutch, I hear you thinking.... Well, because them guys were tall!! Surprised )
All in all I would say....Yes, definately time to come over again and see the real thing Wink
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:49 pm    Post subject: Re: j Reply with quote

Rinty wrote:
The absolutely classic La's first and only album. If you've never heard it - buy it now and play it loud.

Rinty what type of music is that?

Listening to Pretend we're dead. L7 Laughing
Leathlaobhair
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Real McKenzie's rendition of The Bonnie Banks o' Loch Lomond is pretty good so far.
Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:19 pm    Post subject: h Reply with quote

http://www.geocities.com/The_Las/

Its the best type of music Nina, the good stuff.

The LA's paved the way for the stone roses and others.
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad you made it to Scotfest Nina, even if the weather was crap. I hope it was worth it Wink . Are there any other Scots events on the calender in the Netherlands?

Rinty wrote:
John formed "Cast"

Ah, forgot about that. Bought their first album, thought it was pretty good. They got a bit crap after that though.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:09 pm    Post subject: y Reply with quote

Friends of mine did a couple of tours with them in the late 80's, so I was lucky enough to see them a few times.

In the film fever pitch from the Nick Hornby book they use "There She goes" as the main them and it is based around arsenal winning the league in the last minute against Liverpool.

The night that happened I was at a LA's gig watching the game backstage with them and their arsenal supporting record company. I had always associated that song with that match, turns out so did the director of the movie, I always wondered if he was at that gig!
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:
Glad you made it to Scotfest Nina, even if the weather was crap. I hope it was worth it Wink . Are there any other Scots events on the calender in the Netherlands?

There's plenty SLG, yet I guess they are all more or less the same, if you catch my drift Wink
http://www.thespiritsofscotland.be/Links/beurzen.htm

Rinty, I checked their music out. Must say I like some of their songs Laughing
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:
Are there any other Scots events on the calender in the Netherlands?

I got telt thaurs a rubber clog flinging event o which Nina is the current rubber clog flinging champion,shes tae humble tae tell ye though. Twisted Evil

Listening tae Blitz- Voice of a Generation
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:

I got telt thaurs a rubber clog flinging event o which Nina is the current rubber clog flinging champion,shes tae humble tae tell ye though. Twisted Evil

Wolf... I have sat here for 5 minutes thinking about some really smart thing to say, yet I cannae seem to come up with one Crying or Very sad Well... I know your whole clogs-thing basically boils down to................your fetish. Poor thing. I found a remedy for you, look you can sit in it!! Now you can remove the rubber one from under your pillow Twisted Evil Laughing

Listening to Wicked Games - Chris Isaak.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Laughing Laughing I could sleep in yon clog.

Angelic Upstarts - Shotgun Solution
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cap in hand - The Proclaimers Confused

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sake` passe`.........Krosfyah

Today is Labour day an' thers a big street party goin' oani BogHall

. Heat in de place!! PDT_Aliboronz_24

BG

Here is where I come to water my roots.
Firefox
Gaining a Reputation........

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fight Song - Marilyn Manson

Okay... kind of. I just changed to that from "Sound of the Underground" by Girls Aloud when I decided to post this... PDT_Aliboronz_29

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crazy baldheads "Luciano" Ae Bob marley song.

BG afro

Here is where I come to water my roots.
frank rizzo
Nationalist

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seen The La's at the Mayfair (Garage now) around 1990. Met the guys and got the drummers sticks which was nice. Still have them I think!

Still play that album now and again and there's a few crackers on it. Dont know why Lee Mavers hated the recording as it was pretty raw. He was a bit of a nutter mind.

Closest I've seen to that kind of raw 60's beat sound was a band called The Stairs. Quite similar and they had a cracking drummer too.

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool Grooving aboot tae "Disco Inferno" afro

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 9:40 am    Post subject: g Reply with quote

Dont know why Lee Mavers hated the recording as it was pretty raw. He was a bit of a nutter mind.

Lee didnt like it as he was forced to release it when the record company put their foot down. There were better versions of the tracks on that album, including a John Leckie produced version.
Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
Cool Grooving aboot tae "Disco Inferno" afro

O my God...it is the end of the world. The Wolf is grooving Laughing To disco music!! Twisted Evil Cool What's with the afro? Shocked
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 8:00 pm    Post subject: Re: g Reply with quote

Rinty wrote:
There were better versions of the tracks on that album, including a John Leckie produced version.

Have you got them?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 37, 38, 39  Next
Page 3 of 39