Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

st patricks day celebration
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Campaigns/Events...
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 6:52 pm    Post subject: st patricks day celebration Reply with quote

18th of march 2006

10.30am Huntingtower road

bailleston

all welcome

organised by the west of scotland band alliance

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP
Leathlaobhair
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure why but the Washington D.C. saint patrick's day parade is tomorrow... not sure if I'll be going. Not a big fan of the OAH
Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon
Tartan Jack
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Id much rather celebrate St Andrews day,im not Irish im Scottish so i wont be there,St Patricks day means nothing to me but if you are Irish(as in born in Ireland)have a good yin!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 2:43 pm    Post subject: h Reply with quote

but if you are Irish(as in born in Ireland)have a good yin

You don't have to be born in Ireland to be Irish. I would hope that scots born in Pakistan or anywhere else would not feel less Scottish because they were not born here. I would also hope that people of scots or Irish descent around the world would not feel restricted by where they were born to celebrate their scots or Irish culture.

peorsonally, I'm an atheist and a republican so I don't do saints days whether its the Greek Andrew or the English Patrick.
Tartan Jack
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well im from Coatbridge where they celebrate St Patricks day but dont celebrate St Andrews day and i have to admit it annoys me.The place is full of people who think their Irish because they drink guiness and know the soldiers song.I was also at the Scotland v rep of Ireland game when the Irish fans sung"wheres your famous Hampden roar" in a Scottish accent.Ive a lot of Irish friends who were amazed when they came over here and seen half the numptys in their Ireland tops and talking to them about the "old country".Leave St Patricks day to the Irish and let us concentrate more on St Andrews day,oh and dont think im a Gers fans because of these views im not and i love guiness but i wont be celebrating St Patricks day.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

numptys because they wear ireland tops? people are freee to choose what countries they have an affinity to, if people celebrating any they have with ireland offends you i suggest that says more about you than them.

i am scottish but i am also aware my families irish background, if you want to celebrate st andrews day do it, i dont see why you demands everyone else joins you.

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:08 pm    Post subject: J Reply with quote

jack, if you changed the irish references in your post to pakistani ones you would be attacked. It seems the Irish and those of Irish descent are the only ones who should keep their culture underwraps are go home to where they cane from. And here I've been told that the anti-Irish racism in Scotland ended at WW2.

I assume that you think the scots canadians should hide their st andrews flags and that Chinese New Year should hide their dragons unless they also celebrate St Andrews day.

Should people who are not Christian celebrate a christian saints day just to be allowed to celebrate their own history and heritage? Or is just the time you want to dictate to?

Keep your petty racism jack, I dont celebrate any religious days but Im never offended by those who do.
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been thinking about this. I think it's far too simplistic to put this down to petty racism, Rinty. I think it is more to do with misunderstanding and confusion.

Aye, if folk want to celebrate St Paddy's day, fair enough. If someone is interested in celebrating the day of a Christian saint, they might want to celbrate the day of St Patrick as they have some Irish heratige. But given that ther are Scottish, why would they not also also want to celebrate the day of St Andrew, the patron saint of their country?

Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:34 pm    Post subject: Re: h Reply with quote

Rinty wrote:
peorsonally, I'm an atheist and a republican so I don't do saints days whether its the Greek Andrew or the English Patrick.

Um, Patrick was British from a part of the country that is now in Scotland.

I don't think I've ever celebrated St Andrew's Day... although I have had a few Irish friends in my live, so inevitably St Patrick's Day has been enjoyed on a couple of occasions...*hic*

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:40 pm    Post subject: Re: h Reply with quote

Aventinian wrote:
Um, Patrick was British from a part of the country that is now in Scotland.

How exactly do you draw the conclusion that he was British?
Tartan Jack
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Out of all the people ive met who celebrate St Patricks day very few of them can actually name their Irish relatives,ive no problem with people celebrating their heritage but it seems to me that its a case of if they support Celtic then they have Irish heritage so they support Ireland.Would they do the same if they had English heritage?Would they celebrate St Georges day? I just hate the way we seem to celebrate other countries rather than our own.If you want to celebrate St Patricks day,have a good yin but it means nothing to me.Ive Canadian blood in me but i dont want to celebrate anything Canadian as im Scottish and thats that! i dont want to offend anyone as i have loads of good Irish friends but this is my opinion.
Tartan Jack
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh and rinty im not racist,as soon as you say boo to someone nowadays your either racist or sexcist!
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weel ma mithers Irish,im no im Scottish but i celebrate baith ae them..St.Patricks and St. Andrews...best ae baith worlds eh? Wink
I will be celebrating St.Patricks day in the time honoured tradition ae a couple ae pints ae guinness in Bairds Bar and then in next door tae the Barralands tae see Stiff Little Fingers.
Tartan Jack
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive got to admit Stiff Little Fingers are quality!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tartan Jack wrote:
Ive got to admit Stiff Little Fingers are quality!

PDT_Aliboronz_31 Yer richt there!!
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tartan Jack wrote:
Out of all the people ive met who celebrate St Patricks day very few of them can actually name their Irish relatives,ive no problem with people celebrating their heritage but it seems to me that its a case of if they support Celtic then they have Irish heritage so they support Ireland.Would they do the same if they had English heritage?Would they celebrate St Georges day? I just hate the way we seem to celebrate other countries rather than our own.If you want to celebrate St Patricks day,have a good yin but it means nothing to me.Ive Canadian blood in me but i dont want to celebrate anything Canadian as im Scottish and thats that! i dont want to offend anyone as i have loads of good Irish friends but this is my opinion.

why feel the need to comment on the event then? if it didnt bother you, you woudlnt have made your original comments.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has the West of Scotland Band Alliance ever thought about organising a celebration for Scotland's patron saint?
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no we are an irish republican organisation in the west of scotland, that is our primarmy concern. if another organisation was to organise one and invite us then i am sure we would consider it, but it is unlikely we would be invited. wosba bands have attended the john mclean commemoration organised by the scottish republican socialist movement.

RFM

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To SLG;
The Catholic Encyclopedia (not an entirely unimpeachable source) puts St. Patrick's birth place as at near Dumbarton in 387. Supposedly born of a father with a roman name who was also supposedly a minor roman official.
Anyway this upperclass kid was supposedly was kidnapped by Irish "marauders" (as if there are any other kind) at the age of 18, saw the light and became a churchman. Like all of the history of that time and place, very sketchy.
RFM

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aye very interesting that RFM, i think i hae read somethin` similar afore.
Yer richt aboot sketchy details though and it gits even sketchier when ye`ve got Aventinian callin` him british. Confused
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Campaigns/Events... All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3