parkhead_rfb Getting on a bit!
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:34 pm Post subject: irish republican army easter message |
IRA Easter message
Teachtaireacht na Cásca 2006: Dualgas ar Rialtas Átha Cliath
IRA remains committed to ideals of Proclamation
"This Easter marks the 90th anniversary of the 1916 Rising, a turning point in the history of Ireland.
Irish republicans remember with pride those who gave their lives that extraordinary Easter and the leaders executed in the weeks that followed.
The leadership of Óglaigh na hÉireann extends solidarity to the families of all of our patriot dead from every generation and in particular those from this phase of struggle.
We send solidarity greetings to our imprisoned comrades and their families.
This year we also commemorate the valiant prison Hunger Strike of 1981. Ten brave men - freedom fighters and patriots - died. Their legacy and that of Frank Stagg and Michael Gaughan, lives on and their fortitude and courage continues to inspire.
Following our statement of July 28 last year, IRA Volunteers have adhered, in the spirit and the letter, to the decisions and instructions outlined by the leadership.
We commend the discipline of our Volunteers and salute their commitment.
The IRA has no responsibility for the tiny number of former republicans who have embraced criminal activity. They do so for self-gain. We repudiate this activity and denounce those involved.
The IRA remains committed to the peace process. Our decisions and actions of last July and September are proof of that.
The leadership of Óglaigh na hÉireann believes that it is possible to achieve the republican goal of a united Ireland through the alternative route of purely peaceful and democratic means.
We know that many republicans are frustrated and angry at the positions taken up by the two governments over the last year. However, in our view, the will of the people is to see advances in the political process.
The onus is on the two governments and the political parties to ensure that this happens. The Irish Government in particular has a duty to see beyond the current phase of the process. Its responsibility is to promote an end to partition and to create the conditions for the unity and independence of Ireland.
The IRA is fully committed to the ideals and principles of the Proclamation of Easter 1916.
We urge maximum unity in the time ahead.
Beirigí bua."
"I mbliana céiliúraímid comóradh 90 blian d'Éirí Amach na Cásca, am cinniúna i stair na hÉireann.
Cuimhníonn poblachtánaigh Éireannach le bród agus l'ómós, iad siúd a thug a mbeatha tráth na Cásca cinniúna sin ach go spéisialta na cinnirí a chuireadh chun báis ag Gall i gcaitheamh na seachtainí beaga tar éis Seachtain na Cásca. Faireann ceannaireachht Óglaigh na hÉireann dlúthpháirteachas do theaghlaigh na tírgráthóirí calma uilig a thug a mbeatha ar son saoirse na hÉireann in achán glún ach go háiríthe ár gcomradaíthe a fuair bás sa tréimhse coimhlinte is déanaí.
Scolaimid beannachtaí agus guímid gach ráth ar ár gcuid phearsanra atá faoi ghlás ag Gall agus ar a gclainne siúd freisin. I mbliana fosta cuimhnímis agus comóraimís Stailc Ocrais 1981. Fuair deichniúr cróga, trodairí saoirse agus tírgráthóirí bás. Maireann oidhreacht s'acú agus oidhreacht Frank Stagg agus Michael Gaughan beo agus tugann a gcuid díongháilteacht agus crógacht ionspioráid dúinn ar fad.
Ó éisíodh ráiteas Óglaigh na hÉireann ar an 28ú Iúil na bliana seo cáite chloí Óglaigh s'againne go dlúth le spioráid agus le briathra an ráitis sin agus cloí said leis na cionníolacha agus na treoir uilig a tugadh dóibh. Séanann ceannaireacht Óglaigh na hÉireann na bréaga agus na líomhainti gan bhúnus a táthar a gcraobhscaoileadh ag ár naimhde. Molaimid ár gcuid Óglach as a rialbheas agus seasmhacht.
Níl Óglaigh na hÉireann freaghach ar bhealach ar bith as an fhíormhionlach d'iár phoblachtánaigh a d'imigh le coirpeachas. Rinne siad amhlaidh da thoradh féinsuime séanaimid iad agus a gcuid gníomhaíochta agus cáinimid iad.
Tá Óglaigh na hÉireann dlúite don phróiseas síochána ar fad. Fíoraíonn ár gcuid gníomhnaíochta agus ár gcuid cinní sin. Creideann ceannaireacht Óglaigh na hÉireann gur féidir an sprioc poblachtach: Éireann athaontaíthe a bhaint amach le gniomhnaíochta síochánta agus daonláthacha amháin. Tuigimid go bhfuil frustrachás agus fearg nach beag ar go leor poblachtánaigh mar gheall ar an seasamh atá glachta ag an dá rialteas le bliain anuas. Bíodh sin amhlaidh sé ár mbarúil gurb é mian an phobail dul chun tosaigh a fheiceaíl sa phroiseas síochána. Tá an fhreagracht ar an dá rialtas agus na páirtíthe polaitiúla cinntiú go dtarlaíonn an dul chun cinn sin.
Tá freagracht uathúil ar rialtas Átha Cliath féachaint chun tosaigh agus noís fáide anon na an tréimhse reatha sa phroiseas. 'Sé freaghacht agus dualgas s'acú coinníollacha a cothú agus a cruthú a cuireann deireadh leis an críochdheighilt agus a cuireann aontas agus neamhspleachas na tíre i gcrích.
Ta ceannaireacht Óglaigh na hÉireann tíománta go h-iomlán do bhunfhealsúnacht Forógra 1916.
'Sé an rud is tabhachtaí san am atá le teacht ná go leanfar leis an aontas a tháispeán poblachtánaigh chuige seo.
Beirigí bua."
P.O'Neill,
Irish Republican Publicity Bureau,
Dublin.
_________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP |
frank rizzo Nationalist
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 11:36 am Post subject: |
The modern day IRA has been for decades nothing but a civilian murdering, gun running, drug dealing, sham. They have nothing in common with those that fought for an independent Ireland all those years ago.
Fascists is what they turned into. _________________ Proud to be Scottish, ashamed to be British. |
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 5:00 pm Post subject: |
would you like to back up those allegations of drug dealing? and of course they gun run, how else would they get guns?
as for civillian killers yes the ira has made mistakes and civillians have been killed, that is the nature of the war that the ira has had to fight. also civillians were killed in both the easter rising and events surrounding it try and know at least a little information on the topic being discussed before shouting your mouth off you only look foolish. _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4276 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 6:08 pm Post subject: |
I think we've discussed this before Parkhead - the IRA civilian casualities are no accidents, they deliberately target civilians for their purposes. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really mean—power over people, power to the State.' |
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 6:35 pm Post subject: |
that statement is total nonsense, if the ira were to target civillians no warnings would have been phoned and casualties would have been far, far higher than the unfortunate numbers of non combatants that were killed.
one of those who resisted the french occupation of alergeres, unfortunately his name escaped me, when in respnse to the fact that civillians were killed he said give us the same resources as the french army and we wont need to do these bombings. its the nature of war, the blame for the situation in ireland lies squarely with successive british governments and their failure to organise an orderly withdrawal from the island. _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
Cymro I need ma own bl**dy forum!
Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 7:51 am Post subject: |
I support the aim of an United Ireland and find the history of it all facinating. But the PIRA in their actions have not done the cause any favours. 40 odd years ago when they 'came back' they where defenders to an extent. But actions like Fuel Smuggling (in association with Loyalist Paramilitary groups bizzarely), gun smuggling, and I'm sure drug dealing have had an impact on those communities they claim to protect and have lost them some support.
Killing of civilians too did no favours. Bombs in Mancherser, Warrington, Canary Whaf where aimed at taking the war to the English and any 'soldier' with the IRA would have known that this have the likely potential to kill and maim people who had no interest in Ireland being British or Independent. If they didn't want to risk hurting civilians they would have concentrared on attacking military bases and convoyes on the main land.
I do think the IRA and the PIRA have had an important role in securing the apparent peace in the North now, and am glad they played a part in the Peace Process. But by the end of their 'war' they had done some damage to their cause. |
frank rizzo Nationalist
Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 1:40 pm Post subject: |
They have specifically murdered civilians parkhead, an act of fascism and terrorism, nothing at all to do with their 'war'
They have run local communities using fear and intimidation for decades. Funding their cause through gun, drug, extorition rackets and any other means they've seen fit.
I agree that the blame lies at the Brit Governments for not leaving the whole country and I fully support a united 32 county Irish Republic. I also know that the loyalists were killing innocent Irish, in collaboration with the RUC but to suggest that the modern day IRA are a principled organisation is wishful thinking at best.
They gave up their marxist principles when they started murdering civilians sadly. _________________ Proud to be Scottish, ashamed to be British. |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4276 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:52 pm Post subject: |
| Cymro wrote: | | Killing of civilians too did no favours. Bombs in Mancherser, Warrington, Canary Whaf where aimed at taking the war to the English and any 'soldier' with the IRA would have known that this have the likely potential to kill and maim people who had no interest in Ireland being British or Independent. If they didn't want to risk hurting civilians they would have concentrared on attacking military bases and convoyes on the main land. |
Ah, they're a bit too incompetent for that. Recall that device they launched at the MI6 HQ in London not too long ago - basically made the brickwork a bit black.
Let's not forget that they have bombed Scotland too. |
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 7:16 am Post subject: |
| Where in Scotland did they bomb? |
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 12:50 pm Post subject: |
i am also unaware of any bombs in scotland.
i see what you are saying cymro but the ira were fighting a guerilla war and so were limited in what actions they could take. unfortunately a few attacks on army bases doesnt worry the british that much but a bomb which costs millions to the economy certainly does get the attentions of the british government. that was the objective of those bombs they were economic bombs and not intended to harm civillians as some will claim just because thats what they want to believe or thats what the sun told them.
wither or not they done the cause of a united ireland more harm than good is debatable. Certainly the nationalist community needed a protective force, the ruc and their cohorts the b specials were behaving more like a unionist militia and the british army soon became another force to beat nationalists with so the ira were certainly needed. Perhaps the campain could have been ended sooner and a political solution sought but you have to remember that for years it was the policy of the british government to ignore the demands of republicans so any process was always doomed to failure. if you have a read at brendan o'Duffys stuff he talks of the need for a hurting stalemate in these tyoes of conflicts and i agree with that. all sides in the conflict had to realise that the cost of continuing their stance outweighed any benefits, it is unfortunate that it took so long for that to happen but it is certainly not the sole fault of republicans that it did so. _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 1:32 pm Post subject: |
Warrington is not exactly enomically important - appart from the UK's frist Ikea!
Economic bombs they may have bean, but the fact goes they saw that as far more important than the life of civilians. Gureilla warfare does not justify loss of civilian life. The PIRA, could and should have done a LOT more than they did to ensure civilians where not effected by their campaign. As a result they lost lots of support. |
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:30 pm Post subject: |
organising such a campaign is not easy though, the pira have never denied that they have made mistakes but with that type of war civillians were always going to be at risk. the same as in any other type of war. i look at the british for not tackling the roots of the conflict and instead trying to defeat republicanism. _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
frank rizzo Nationalist
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 3:41 pm Post subject: |
Scotland breaking away from the British State would increase the possibility of Ireland becoming a united nation. If there was no real Union left, who would the Loyalists be loyal to? This is why organisations such as the Orange disOrder etc are firmly opposed to their members voting SNP or even the idea of Scotland becoming independent.
This is why I always find it strange that so many in Scotland whom support an end to British rule in Ireland, vote to retain British rule in their own country.
The West of Scotland is one messed up place! _________________ Proud to be Scottish, ashamed to be British. |
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:57 pm Post subject: |
| parkhead_rfb wrote: | | organising such a campaign is not easy though, the pira have never denied that they have made mistakes but with that type of war civillians were always going to be at risk. the same as in any other type of war. i look at the british for not tackling the roots of the conflict and instead trying to defeat republicanism. |
Poor excuse. PIRA decided that they needed to take the war to the British. As well as attacking military insallations (with them being an army you can almost accept) they chose to attack busy civilan areas. Easy or not, this is what they chose to do. The British should have done more to deal with issues before it went this far, but it still does not justify placing civilian lifes at risk on the British mainland as much as they did. |
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 6:03 pm Post subject: |
well then i ask you what republicans should have done? the civil rights campaign was met with state brutality the british response was to send in the army, who were then used to attack nationalist communites even further. Attacks on army bases dont cause changes in government policy so what is your grand solution. you can sit back and criticise the ira but what were the options should they just have sat back and took the state discrimination and violence? _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
Leathlaobhair No Longer a Wean

Joined: 26 Oct 2005 Posts: 94 Location: Every day above ground is a good day
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:50 pm Post subject: |
Are they Fascists or Marxists? I wish their detractors would make up their minds... _________________ Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:10 am Post subject: |
Life is a multi-faeceted situation. Scots are not comfortable with killing civillians in shoppng malls, or onywher else.While we agree that yer sasannach are the worst kind of despot.,Still ya cannae kill yer ain' people?? I watched that video on the Omagh Bombing in 1998, an' I'm still greetin' fer yer!
Scotland is going to become independent of the sasannach one day.
We WILL be once more a people.While I do agree that the Loyalist will be in a pecarious situation when that day occurs.
An" excuse me parkhead, if the phone ahead warnings were effected, but guess wha'? It didnae work!! INNOCENT people died AND this is just playing into the sasannach hands!!
You got tae wheel an' come again!!
Puttin' on the woad BG  _________________ Ath-bheothachad
Here is where I come to water my roots. |

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:14 am Post subject: |
The Omagh Bombing was a horrible tragedy that was unfortunately allowed to happen by M15 and the RUC for political reasons. _________________ Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:49 am Post subject: |
I love ya but ah cannae believe they set it up.
I can believe they knew an' let it happen onyway. Just as ah've said, playing into their hands! They get the worlds sympathy an support, just as they intended!!
The brits are masters of manipulitation!! Why can't onyone get that!! FEK!!
They are playing you man!!
BG  _________________ Ath-bheothachad
Here is where I come to water my roots. |

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:06 am Post subject: |
| Babygael wrote: | I love ya but ah cannae believe they set it up.
I can believe they knew an' let it happen onyway. Just as ah've said, playing into their hands! They get the worlds sympathy an support, just as they intended!!
The brits are masters of manipulitation!! Why can't onyone get that!! FEK!!
They are playing you man!!
BG  |
They didn't set it up; they received multiple warnings of the blast and then directed the crowd towards it.
Think about it, why would the RIRA bomb civilians on purpose like that? What possible accomplishments could they reap from it? And then look at what possible sympathies the British government could accue from it, and how it paints Irish nationalism as bad ... of course there have been sadists in Republican movements who have done horrible things, and people have made horrible mistakes, but Omagh was allowed to happen by the authorities for political reasons. _________________ Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon |