Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Im terrible at this!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 12:29 am    Post subject: Im terrible at this! Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

Ok, here's what's going on. I have a chatroom I go to regularly, and there's a nice girl there, but she's a history nut. Nothing wrong with that, but everytime I try to defend Scotland, she pulls out some information that proves me wrong. Im not a debater, I don't know much histroy, but I have the fire to go out of character to defend Scotland. Now, I am not someone to spit out assumptions and lies to win a debate, and ive been researching this site and other wonderful Scots independence websites to back up my debate...a first for me I might add. It started with her saying the Scot's voted no to being seperate from the UK, but I spoke to a nice person on this forum who replied to my nearly in tears PM and explained there has not been a referendum for the Scot's to vote for independence.

Well, just when I was building confidence, suddenly I am saying how unfair the Scot's have been treated after reading how they were actually tricked into joining with England into the United Kingdom. I showed her the article, she said it's untrue, or rather, she doesen't believe it. Then we went on to chat about why Scotland became the UK with England, how it was because they tried to build a colony in Panama or somewhere down there, and because England woulden't trade with them (or the rest of the world she informed me) the colony....or settlers she said....caused Scotland to lose nearly half it's money. So, she said England offered up the money they lost and to allow trade if they would join the union. That still sounds like trickery to me, but she doesen't feel that way.

Then I go on to try to explain how even now Scotland is getting infair treatment, and give a link someone posted about "the big lie" thinking that would be a perfect example among many. Well, she didn't even look, and went on saying how in the UK parlement England has 529 representatives from England, 40 from Wales, 18 from Northern Ireland and 59 from Scotland. Now, im still learning how the government works over there, but that sounds really outragious to me. She says it works in Scotlands favor, but I really don't see how. Even if it's done by % of population, that's just an outragious difference if you ask me. Thankgoodness for the Scot's parelement, though I heard it has limited powers.

Right, ok, don't think im arguing with this poor girl because we are cool at the end and appreciate making each other learn like this. But at the same time, and I haven't told her, I am really upset I can't defend Scotland. Sometimes after talking to her I worry that everything I read about Scotland being treated unfair is maybe a stretch of truth to win favor...but I can't believe that. I don't know what to think, makes me wish a full blown textbook was in front of me that I could show someone and have them read that what I am telling them about Scotland is straight fact. But....even so....I do believe that back in that time period history could have been written differently to benefit England. Maybe I need to just get reading and understand Scotland history better, I don't know.

What should I do??? I want to be able to defend my future home! And for that matter, my boyfriend, who is a born, raised, and ancestoral Scot. Crying or Very sad I feel when I get into debates I am not just defending Scotland, im defending him, because it's part of who he is. And he's part of who I am, so Scotland is in my heart through him. I must admit, the fire to defend and love Scotland just sort of happened too just getting to know my boyfriend, someone told me it's the "ancestrial blood memories" im feeling. I don't know if im related to any Scots, but it's possible seeing as I have cried worrying about Scotland. What can I do to defend Scotland intelligently? No one wants to hear "it comes from the heart."

True Scotsman
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scotland was forced into a union with England. We were bribed, blackmailed,
threatened, bullied, & forced into a Union with England. As Robert Burns put it "We're bought and sold for English gold".

A Parcel of Rogues in a Nation

http://www.worldburnsclub.com/poe..._parcel_of_rogues_in_a_nation.htm

The Darien Scheme, Thanks to Rinty on finding this.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/state/nations/scotland_darien_01.shtml

Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scotland was forced into a union with England. We were bribed, blackmailed, threatened, bullied, & forced into a Union with England.

Scotland was not forced. Scotland benefited hugely, got access to massive areas of trade that would otherwise hnot had happened as Scotland would have been foreign.

What do you mean "we", I was not bribed and I would imagine that all of Scotland's population wasn't either. Unless the films "Highlander" are true and there are immortals floating around then there might be on or two that can say "we were bribed" but apart from them, who are the "we" you refer to?
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like they were tricked to me Highlander....strange you say that when you're on a Scottish Independence website. If the English had not announced that trade wasn't allowed with their neighbor while trying to set up that colony, Scotland would still be independent. But all they cared about was they feared competition, honestly, Spain was already there, and Scotland was poor enough at the time. Did they think more folks would come to try the idea after Scotland or something? You would think they would encourage it, more trade and all that with two sources of goodies coming across, especially if England had helped…from what I read of course. Now, someone DID tell me that England refused trade from several countries, not just Scotland. BUT...even if that is true, why did they see a tiny poor country like Scotland such a threat to include them from trade? I think all Scotland was trying to do was better herself for her peoples quality of life, it's not like they would have a HUGE advantage because other countries had also made camp at Panama like Spain. Another thing that puzzles me is if England wanted to be a union with Scotland so badly for the "benefits" why woulden't they push for union AFTER Scotland managed to get a colony going? Thus having helped instead of refusing help, and benefeted from an extra colony? I supose they could assume Scotland want's nothing to do with England, which is right, so they decided to put them in a situation where they had no choice. Boom!

Anyone can say Scotland benefited greatly from the union, but you have to ask yourself, did they really want it? If you're flat broke, you're ultimately forced to do something you don't want to, say for this analogy take money from a dodgy friend. It's worse when the reason you are broke is because your dodgy friend cut off your resources and your plans backfired when you are sure he had worst competition to worry about. So, broke, your friend suddenly offers you up all the money you lost (as your parents will kill you when they find out) under the condition that you become partners. Do you want to be partners with this dodgy friend? No, but you don't have much choice, and I believe Scotland didn't either, despite any benefits.

Also, I read all the articles about how Scotland can stand on her own two feet, which is wonderful! The Union did whatever good it did now, and I am ready to see Scotland become free again! woo hoo!

There's my attempt at defending Scotland! I think I am doing a wee bit better. Im really terrible at this history/politics stuff, but im giving it a go for Scotland!
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Highlander wrote:
What do you mean "we", I was not bribed and I would imagine that all of Scotland's population wasn't either. Unless the films "Highlander" are true and there are immortals floating around then there might be on or two that can say "we were bribed" but apart from them, who are the "we" you refer to?

Immortals floating around? Now that's just rude. I believe he means "we" as the sons and daughters of the Scot's before us, our ancestors looking to us to finish what they couldn’t, and to not ignore, nor forget what they went through. And to remember that often "...history is written by those who have hanged heroes" as nicely quoted from Braveheart (yes I know it's got many inaccuracies, but it has heart). And also, I don't think all of Scotland voted for the Union, often poor Scotland finds herself pushed into things by the "nobles" or politicians, different titles in time, because they saw more benefit in being too friendly with England to their benefit then doing what's best for Scotland. But I don't know how the process went, so I will stop there until I understand it better.

I also wanted to add that is Robert Burns felt that way that's a pretty solid account. Wink Thanks for the links True Scotsman!
Economist
I really have nothing else to do!!!

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/scottishhistory/union/intro_union.shtml

Another good link, similar to that from True Scotsman.

It seems to me the Union came about through English greed, as much as a failed Scottish financial venture.

Not England's finest hour, or Scotland's either for that matter.
True Scotsman
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your welcome ProudToBeAScotsGirl about the peom & exactly my point as well about the ''We''.

It was the Union of Crowns that currupt Scotland in the first place &
England did on purpose so they could get a Union with Scotland. Only 15 out 110 Members of the Scottish Parliament (Lords, Judges, etc) that voted for Union actually supported a Union so how did they managed to get the other 95 Members to support the Union. Here a list of some of those members who were bribed.

Duke of Montrose £200
Duke of Athole £1000
Duke of Roxburgh £500
Marquis of Tweeddale £1000
Earl of Marchmont £1104
Earl of Cromarty £300
Earl of Balcarres £500
Earl of Dunmore £200
Earl of Eglinton £200
Earl of Forfar £100
Earl of Glen Cairn £100
Earl of Kintore £200
Earl of Findlater £100
Earl of Seafield £490
Lord Prestonhall £200
Lord Ormiston £200
Lord Anstruther £300
Lord Fraser £100
Lord Polwarth £50
Lord Forbes £50
Lord Elibank £50
Lord Banff £11
Provost of Ayr £100

ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lord Banff did it for £11? Shocked
IF Convenor
I really have nothing else to do!!!

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He was cheap, not smart.
Hazel
Nationalist

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

<<Then we went on to chat about why Scotland became the UK with England, how it was because they tried to build a colony in Panama or somewhere down there, and because England woulden't trade with them (or the rest of the world she informed me) the colony....or settlers she said....caused Scotland to lose nearly half it's money. So, she said England offered up the money they lost and to allow trade if they would join the union. That still sounds like trickery to me, but she doesen't feel that way. >>

My apologies. I have to copy/paste because, try as I will, I have never mastered the other method where you can quote just part of a previous post.

Now, having said that, the answer to what you can do is read, read, read. For example, the above quote from yours. Trickery it was. You are right. But the person arguing with you is correct in what she is saying. Scotland was almost bankrupt by that colony. (Why can't I say its name right now? It's on the tip of my tongue.) The colony had many problems because they went in there not knowing what a different environment it was. Many died. Their economic plans never got off the ground. They needed support but England (and, unfortunately some in Scotland) refused to send it. If I remember rightly, one ship tried to go but England warned other Caribbean nations not to let them through. In the end certain "England-friendly" Scots with an eye on the British pound led their own country into capitulation.

Another point that will help you know what to expect from the debaters is that there were many Scots who wanted England in. Over the centuries, for one political reason or another, kings and other strong figures in Scotland invited English, Flemish, and others into Scotland with gifts of land in return for their political support.

It was not a clear case of England invading and forcing Scotland to sign on. There was a lot of Scots against Scots looking to England for support in their own goals. Do you happen to know, for example, how John Balliol became king of Scotland?

When you are well versed in what really happened, you will be able to hold your own against those who see it another way. You want unbiased history and I am sure there are good historians on this board who can recommend several. I got started with Magnus Magnusson's "Scotland" but I've found others as good for the documentation they provide.

Advice? I am always full of it and have not the foggiest what I am saying most of the time. But, I'd say listen to those arguments, take notes, write down your questions and then come over here and ask the Scots historians. They will give you the facts so that you can then go back and say it straight.

Does that help? Last advice? Don't let them get you down. Everybody has an agenda to sell. You are listenting to agendas. Hazel

Chan ann air chall a tha gach neach air allaban.
True Scotsman
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The money that England offered Scotland for the Darien Scheme was another bribe so that they could get Scotland into a Union. There was also an Alien's Act which put pressure on Scotland.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alien_Act

ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh Hazel, thank you SO much! And to everyone else! I am very new at this, and didn't really plan to become a supporter of Scottish Independence as I am now. I always imagined being the regular ol' citizen who would vote yes should the time come, but through recent events ive found myself reading up Scottish history to become aware so I can defend Scotland, and myself really! I firmly believe in coming up with real, histroy/fact arguments to support myself, which has encouraged me to study Scottish histroy in detail...something I normaly would be afraid to do!

I am experiencing the downside of it now though, even here on this amazing forum, I get hurt when I hear people say bad things about Scotland, or speak against the idea of a free Scotland. But I am also learning how to deal with them, and to take it with stride instead of getting angry or sad.

For some time now ive had this beautiful idea of how to do my wee part to support Scotland and it's independence, and in a non-violent, non-argumentive way...with a witty tongue when called for! But more of an artistic expression in a peaceful manor, if that makes sense. What's great is all my studying on Scottish history will really benefit my idea greatly, as well as having this wonderful forum as a resource (with permission of course!). I could rant on about it, but I think it's better I let my mind ponder it a bit longer and when I actually have the website built and have something working i'll be sure to post it here so everyone can check it out and give me their input and suggestions!

What I can say is if Scottish histroy is not taught in schools in Scotland (I don't know for sure yet) I will definetly make sure my future children know their history. Of course, i'll make sure it's fun and interesting, more like story telling, then shoving it into their brains. Obviously if I did that they would see it as a negative thing and lose interest REAL fast. More like, they ask "why?" and i'll explain that time in history, and im sure the cureosity and interest will be enough. ^_^
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

idea of a free Scotland

I can quite assure you Scotland is free. We are not subject to a foreign power. Many people on this forum would like to see Scotland independent of the U.K. which Scotland is a part of and has been a part of for 299 years. There is nothing in our present form of governence to suggest that we are not free.

May I ask where are you from ProudToBeAScotsGirl?
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There was also an Alien's Act which put pressure on Scotland

What does that mean?

That an alien did what? Act? Put pressure on Scotland? What are you trying to tell us here? That some alien life did some sort of act?????

Maybe you meant to say that the Alien Act put pressure on Scotland.
Maol.Chaluim
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A unionist with a poor grasp of Scottish history, there's a surprise...

Try sticking "Alien Act" in Google.
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Highlander wrote:
idea of a free Scotland

I can quite assure you Scotland is free. We are not subject to a foreign power.
There is nothing in our present form of governence to suggest that we are not free.

Ach aye,
Free tae hae Magggie fer 18 years.
Free tae gather and spend oor ain revenues.
Free tae hae a coastline wa belongs tae us.
Free tae gan on foreign adventures.
Free tae represent oorselves abroad.
Free tae hae laws foreign tae oor way o thinking forced on us.
Free tae defend oorselves agin countries that have thur way wa us.

Aye,right enough,waur free by ra way. Jist hang on a minute weel ah Lie doon an spread ma legs an think o England. Wink

ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Highlander wrote:
There was also an Alien's Act which put pressure on Scotland

What does that mean?

That an alien did what? Act? Put pressure on Scotland? What are you trying to tell us here? That some alien life did some sort of act?????

Maybe you meant to say that the Alien Act put pressure on Scotland.

I think it's respectable to bring up issues about Scottish Independence and Scottish Pride, and to allow us to defend ourselves, as we most definitely can. But please, do it with respect and manners. Thank you.

What few people understand is we may speak and defend ourselves with knowledge of history, current events and politics...but the true reason we believe in an independent Scotland is because it comes from our hearts. And sadly, many people will never be able to understand that.

Hazel - I do have another question to ask where I coulden't defend myself in my regular chatroom. Some rude guy came in and started calling the Scots "bad seeds" which...well im afraid to say he did get me fired up when he continued saying horrable things. I really need to try to learn to ignore them, but I take it personaly as my boyfriend is a born and raised Scot. At some point he said something about the Scot's being horrable to the Irish, and I made the mistake of saying "the scots have always been good to the Irish" when I really don't know the history. I want to get it straight now, if you happen to know if the Scot's were ever bad to the Irish. To my knowledge the Scot's have always had good close ties with Ireland, and it was folks from England that gave them a terrible time as I saw on a documentary. What do you think?
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ach aye,

Free tae hae Magggie fer 18 years.

Free tae gather and spend oor ain revenues
Free tae hae a coastline wa belongs tae us.

Free tae gan on foreign adventures.

Free tae represent oorselves abroad.

Free tae hae laws foreign tae oor way o thinking forced on us.

Free tae defend oorselves agin countries that have thur way wa us

1 Do you think a country votes 100% for the same party? Then even with independence then parts of Scotland will have politicians forced upon them that they don't want.

2 We do that already by the treasury. Our nation-state is the U.K. so we already do that one. You cannot argue differently because this is fact. We already raise and spend the revenues.

3 We have a costline that belongs to us

4 We have passports that allow us to go on these adventures and then we can get enrty visas to these countries

5 We do represent ourselves abroad. We are in a nation-state that is very well represented.

6 I don't know of any law that is not "too our way of thinking". Can you tell me some.

7 We already have a defence force. Its called the Royal navy, Army and Royal AirForce
Highlander
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A unionist with a poor grasp of Scottish history, there's a surprise...

Try sticking "Alien Act" in Google.

No I can assure you that I know about the Alien Act. See what happens is when someone writes with such ambiguity or even writing something that has a different meaning from what the writer intended.

When someone writes
Alien's Act
then that means an alien owns that act, the alien performed an act. To the effect of that. Whereas if it was just Alien Act then it is quite obvious. But put that ' in and becomes a little strange and weird to read.
ProudToBeAScotsGirl
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Um....seriously Highlander, why are you here? Isn't there a Unionist forum somewhere? Or are you just trying to keep us on our toes? Your arguments are all the same because they translate to me "we are independent because we are in the United Kingdom" which makes no sense really. Independence means making your own decisions doesn’t matter if you are a country or a teenager. Personally, I am ready to end the "joint bank account" known as the Union and get Scotland in control of her future! Just me though!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3