Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Alba - SFA
Goto page Previous  1, 2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Campaigns/Events...
RadgeJougal
I really have nothing else to do!!!

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt this Aventiwhatever character actually has any interest in Punjabi whatsoever. Hypocrite.

Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RadgeJougal wrote:
I doubt this Aventiwhatever character actually has any interest in Punjabi whatsoever.

Aventinian wrote:
I have absolutely no interest in it.

Your Holmesian powers of deduction serve you extremely well. Have you ever considered a career in the police force?
Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinian said
because be assured that my opinions of you are hardly glowing

You have a problem with women posting their political concerns and otherwise on here? Because I'm wondering who gave you leave to??

Git over yer sel' loon!

BG Twisted Evil

Here is where I come to water my roots.

Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Babygael wrote:
You have a problem with women posting their political concerns and otherwise on here? Because I'm wondering who gave you leave to??

Git over yer sel' loon!

BG Twisted Evil

No. Do you have a problem with me posting my political concerns and otherwise on here? Because that would seem to be more the case.

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinion, ah mais certainly dinnae have a problem wit ye postin yer concerns oan here! In fact, yer talk sich erm "things" that it really gits everythin gaun. An as ahv said before,if yer wave that union flag (so tae speak) in ma face yer guan tae git it!!! Fer every action.......!

because be assured that my opinnions of you is hardly glowing

Ah dinnae think that was a political opinnion!!Ach it sure as hell sounded like a personal remark tae me!! kindly leave the dutch alane!!
An if yer trying a wee bit ae reverse phsycology oan me
no.Do you have a problem with me posting my concerns and otherwise on here?

Wal momma dint raise no fool!!

Later Ave,
BG

Nina
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Baby...
Laughing

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hai Dutch!! Hows yew?? havenae hear frae yew lately?

Tae change the subject entirely! Ah just saw ae really guid picture oan the war and it brought back memories of "Anna Franks" hoose! ah read the book a few times and saw a couple of movies oan her life.Ach nothing prepared me for the hoose!! The room wae her posters oan the wall!It gave me the creeps!! Shocked Ah admire people wae courage,we Scots always go oan aboot the english,ach whit is yer feelings toward the Germans??

BG

garye
Gaining a Reputation........

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My tuppenceworth:

Manx is not a dead language. Although the last native speaker (Ned Mandrell) died in 1974 there were a few dedicated souls who had learned the language during the 50s and 60s from the remaining elderly Manx speakers on the island and who carried on campaigning for language recognition and rights. This campaign has came so far that there is now a dedicated Manx language Primary School on the island.

http://www.bunscoill.iofm.net/

Given this turnaround in the fortunes of Manx I think it’s plainly quite clear that an arbitrary number of 50,000 speakers for a language to be declared “dead” seems ridiculous. If Manx (or Cornish) had even 10,000 speakers I think they’d be dancing jigs.

Given that Scots Gaelic at the last census had 58,700 speakers and a total of 92,400 people who had some knowledge of the language (and that’s just in Scotland, they don’t count it in the rest of the UK so what about migrants to England Wales & N Ireland?) then I think it’s fair to suggest that it’s far from “dead” yet - especially given the fact that there are now 2068 kids in 61 Gaelic Medium Units/Schools.

Gaelic in Scotland is still a precarious position though as the numbers of elderly speakers dying still outweighs the numbers of young people being brought up with the language. Expansion of the Gaelic Medium network has also been slowed by the limited supply of qualified teaching staff. This should be helped by recent initiatives in specified University places and distance learning courses.

So overall it’s far from dead but needs all the help it can get, which is why I support this petition because it would highlight the Gaelic language to the whole nation.

What is not helpful is the type of “I don’t know what I’m talking about but I’ll chuck a stick in the spokes anyway” of the likes of Aventinian.

Everybody in Scotland has been touched by the historical Gaelic legacy we have, be it through the name of the town you live, places you’ve been, mountains you’ve climbed, lochs you’ve swam in/sailed in/fallen into, songs you’ve heard, people you’ve met, your own personal name, your ancestry… the list goes on. To lose that is to lose our soul.

Also, Gaelic isn’t just part of our own cultural heritage, it’s part of the cultural mosaic of the entire planet, something which most supporters of minority languages realise and why they tend to support each other in their campaigns.

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everybody in scotland has been touched by the historical Gaelic legacy

And
to lose that is to lose our soul

Right on Garye

BG dwarf sunny

RadgeJougal
I really have nothing else to do!!!

PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinian wrote:
Your Holmesian powers of deduction serve you extremely well. Have you ever considered a career in the police force?

Don't give up the day job yourself!

If you're not interested in Punjabi, why are you discussing this? To use an American expression of sorts, keich or get off the potty.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Campaigns/Events... All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2