Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

The Union Jack: A Banner For Britain

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> UK and Ireland Politics
True Scotsman
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:12 pm    Post subject: The Union Jack: A Banner For Britain Reply with quote

There was this programme about the Union Flag on BBC 2. If you have seen the programme what's your view on it?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbctwo/listi...60621/20060621_1900_4224_21718_60

The Union Jack: A Banner For Britain

Wed 21 Jun, 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm 60mins

With the World Cup in full swing, fans from England are waving the flag of St George with pride. Meanwhile, in Scotland and Wales, devolution has already brought a revival in their national flags. In the wake of the 7/7 bombings, Chancellor Gordon Brown asked Britons to fly the Union Jack in every garden in order to forge a clear view of what it means to be British. Is that really feasible? [AD]

garye
Gaining a Reputation........

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Am I just reading too much into the likes of this programme and the plethora of articles that have appeared in the past couple of days or is the union on its last legs?
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sa Brown jobbie wanted abody tae fly ra rag then did he? Aye weel thur's nae ony change frae then tae noo is there? Trust a politician nae tae be practical.
Ah watched ra programme an ah nearly pished ma self laughing when yon unionist said, in a rough quote," because of all the bits that the union jack is made up from, it doesn't usually last more than a few hours in a stiff breeze. Ah weel, nae doubt yon flag wull hae separated in tae it's constituted pairts shortly, with oot ra benefit o a stiff breeze. Smile

An here is the weather forecast; there wll be a gale force 10 lasting fer mair than twa hours blawin frae ra north, it is recommended that Westminster battens doon ra hatches an all union jacks tae be taken doon,stored awae, an then consigned tae oblivion Laughing

PS. that bluidy goal in 66 wis shown yet agin.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

garye wrote:
Am I just reading too much into the likes of this programme and the plethora of articles that have appeared in the past couple of days or is the union on its last legs?

Sometimes I wonder that too garye - but the sensible part of me wonders whether they are building the issue up just to come up with some sort of 'magical' solution that the public will endorse and welcome with open arms just because the problem needs solved. This solution will of course incorporate Scotland staying within the UK - but maybe nothing more than a stalling measure, like devolution itself.

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really don't think anyone is setting the agenda here (or not any more than normal anyway). It is happening naturally. The SNP really need to capitalise next year though. Failure to do so would release some of the pressure. That doesn't mean they have to become te biggest party though, just make enough gains to keep Labour worried and keep Independence on the agenda.

At some point, the UK government are going to have to come up with a solution, the more pressure from Scotland influencing that the better. Either way, any move they make will, IMO, weaken the Union even further so should be welcomed.
IF Convenor
I really have nothing else to do!!!

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have to get out of the union before the asset-strippers take everything.
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IF Convenor wrote:
We have to get out of the union before the asset-strippers take everything.

Aye, ah agree wae that. We had a short, very short period of indignation frae ra oil companies when the government announced an increase in tax from the north sea oil bounty. Bearing in mind that ra spin emitting frae ra usual suspects that we've nearly used up "oor" resources and whit's left maybe more expensive to extract even at $70 a barrel, is it not strange that there appears to be an unseemly rush for licences to explore and extract what little is left (weel, little left according to some folks ). So is there more than jist a little collusion going on behind closed doors doon south involving oor resources with wurds like tax concessions, ect being mentioned frae Brown jobbie and his beezness aquaintances? Why the haste? Aye greed is guid fer ye, unless of course it is some ither folk, frae ither places an their greed that's guid fer them.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats exactly my concern If. Just prior tae independance,the english will try to pass laws to hang on tae as much as they can of oor country!
It must NEVER happen!

BG

Here is where I come to water my roots.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> UK and Ireland Politics All times are GMT