Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:07 am Post subject: t |
Kevin Wiliamson gives the event at Bannocburn today a plug in his "Rebel Ink" column in this weeks Voice.
http://www.scottishsocialistvoice.net/ |
True Scotsman I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:53 am Post subject: |
700 years since Robert the Bruce was crowned King of Scots, that's a long time. It is getting closer to the day when the Declaration of Arbroath was signed.
sandmountainslim I Love 'Our Scotland'

wisnaeme This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 2:46 pm Post subject: Re: t |
Thanks Rinty for the web link. I used to read associated publications with a socialist viewpoint,Red Pepper for one but I have to say that the editorial impute and the articles contained in this publication is of a far higher standard than I remember in the past.Interesting reading. This web link is now on my 'favorites'. I'll be thinking of those folk at the gathering today and I will be thinking o The Bruce as well.May the gathering be well attended. |

Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 4:01 pm Post subject: y |
Its a good paper wisnae especially given its tiny budget. Kevin is a great columnist and inpires a lot of debate (complaints ).
I'm glad you will now read it but could I suggest that you buy a copy instead from your local branch and help the paper keep going. Its the only left wing weekly paper in Scotland and as such is very important.
Tell me where you are and I'll let you know where you can find a copy locally.
Of course, if your skint, then read it for free!
Last edited by Rinty on Sun Mar 26, 2006 7:52 am; edited 1 time in total |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:06 pm Post subject: |
REBEL INK
Kevin Williamson
No more heroes?
“I don'’t have any heroes. They’re all useless.” I first heard those words spoken on a radio show, back in 1977, contemptuously spat out by a young John Lydon, then lead singer in the Sex Pistols. Which I must say, I found a bit confusing, because Lydon’s anti-establishment venom had made him a hero of mine. I’'m still not sure about the value of heroes, as such, but inspirational figures are important. Scotland’s own radical history, often buried deep beneath the weight of official British history, has a rich vein of inspirational figures that we can draw strength and learn from.
Whenever any poll is taken among Scots, regarding the most inspirational characters from Scottish history, the first two on the list have usually been William Wallace and Robert Burns. And rightly so. Both have a deep and enduring emotional appeal to all Scots who value freedom, independence and our unique Scottish culture. But Wallace and Burns are only two of many. For the Scottish left there is no shortage of inspirational characters.
If I was asked to name Scotland’s three most inspirational political figures from the last century there wouldn’t be much hesitation: the names of Ethel Moorhead, Hugh MacDairmid and John Maclean would instantaneously trip of the tongue. In that order.
Ethel Moorhead, the most militant and uncompromising of all the Scottish suffragette, was a one woman direct action tornado. No amount of imprisonment, force feeding in jail, nor police harassment could stop her for long. And, most importantly, her cause was actually won. Which is why she’d be number one on my list. Hugh MacDairmid has left his cultural and political footprints across the face of 21st century Scotland in a way no other political or cultural figure has even come close. MacDairmid’s impact on the world of literature and poetry, allied to his championing of the Scots language, would have by themselves secured his place in history. But MacDairmid, like John MacLean before him, made his greatest impact on Scottish political life through his understanding of the need to link the national liberation struggle in Scotland with class politics. That is the inspirational legacy of both men.
Along with Wallace and Burns, those three giants of Scottish history are a constant source of inspiration. But go back further into Scottish history and there’s plenty more individuals whose inspirational lives are worthy of study. In the nineteenth century, the lives and actions of militant land agitators, Alexander Robertson and John Murdoch, as well as Hardie, Baird and Wilson, the executed leaders of the 1820 Insurrection, are held dear by all Scots who value liberty and freedom. In the century before that Thomas Muir of Huntershill, another militant revolutionary, and one of the original Friends of the People, is rightly recognised as being another great hero of the Scottish resistance. Fletcher of Saltoun is another inspirational figure from the past who stood up in 1707, at a crucial juncture in history, against the “parcel o rogues” who, in the words of one of Robert Burns’ greatest poems, “were bought and sold for English gold”.
And yet there is another larger-than-life historical character, without whom, modern day Scotland would not even exist. The story of Robert The Bruce, who was a vacillating Scottish noble during the first phase of the Wars of Independence, is inspirational in every sense. In March 1306 Bruce seized the crown of Scotland, and then took to the hills as an outlaw and fugitive, to wage a courageous guerrilla struggle that led triumphantly to Bannockburn, and then to 400 years independent nationhood. On the basis of results, Bruce is perhaps the greatest Scot of all.
On Saturday 25 March at 1pm, a commemoration is being held at the Bannockburn statue, to mark the 700th anniversary of Robert The Bruce’s seizure of the Scottish crown and the relevance of that act today. Author David Ross, Robbie The Pict, and yours truly will all be speaking. All welcome. _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |

Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:48 am Post subject: The Bruce |
I'm muckle scunnered that I'll no be there myself,"rs_azzuri",I hope the Pict is in good form at the gathering, he usually is. Yer man has got me out of many an awkward position wae the forces of law and order.Mair power to his elbow.
Wee Jack and the Lanarkshire mafia were recently spouting off about history not being a subject of worthy importance in a school's curriculum,I wonder why not? Could it be that the teaching of Scottish history to receptive minds that would include the stories of working class heroes,heroines and others who have overcome adversity become a benchmark and a cause celeb to aspire to.Couldn't have that, could we.Imaging it,little people growing up to think for themselves and asking why it must be so.Oh dearie me no,that would never do. |

Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:21 am Post subject: Re: y |
| Rinty wrote: | Its a good paper wisnae especially given its tiny budget. Kevin is a greta coulnist and inpires a lot of debate (complaints ).
I'm glad you will now read it but could I suggest that you buy a copy instead from your local branch and help the paper keep going. Its the only elft winf weekly paper in Scotland and as such is very important.
Tell me where you are and I'll let you know where you can find s copy locally.
Of course, if your skint, then read it for free! |
I live in Coventry,England "Rinty" so I would have difficulty obtaining it frae the local socialist branch.Dave Nellist may Know,I'll ask him next time I see him.It certainly contains content that would be of interest to socialists down here in England. It is nice to read a publication that is not controlled by MiLuds or the content influenced by powerful financial interests.On a different subject, it is so nice to be informed that the media scoop of the year was awarded to the Mirror Trinity group rag,the Daily Mirror for it's "earth shattering event" of it's coverage of the Kate Moss and cocain revelations,Bluidy hell, is there nothing more serious going on in the world?Bluidy pitiful.Maybe I'll sent a wee cheque up to that wee socialist newspaper,it will be worth it if only to keep them online.If something is worth having then it worth supporting and paying for. Either that or lose it all together.Nae gonnae dae that fer most of the other Scottish media can be and is pish poor and "their view orientated" when it comes to important issues.
Last edited by wisnaeme on Sun Mar 26, 2006 4:29 pm; edited 1 time in total |

Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 10:35 am Post subject: Re: y |
| wisnaeme wrote: | | Rinty wrote: | Its a good paper wisnae especially given its tiny budget. Kevin is a greta coulnist and inpires a lot of debate (complaints ).
I'm glad you will now read it but could I suggest that you buy a copy instead from your local branch and help the paper keep going. Its the only elft winf weekly paper in Scotland and as such is very important.
Tell me where you are and I'll let you know where you can find s copy locally.
Of course, if your skint, then read it for free! |
I live in Coventry,England "Rinty" so I would have difficulty obtaining it frae the local socialist branch.Dave Nellist may Know,I'll ask him next time I see him.It certainly contains content that would be of interest to socialists down here in England. It is nice to read a publication that is not controlled by MiLuds or the content influenced by powerful financial interests.On a different subject, it is so nice to be informed that the media scoop of the year was awarded to the Murdoch rag,the Daily Mirror for it's "earth shattering event" of it's coverage of the Kate Moss and cocain revelations,Bluidy hell, is there nothing more serious going on in the world?Bluidy pitiful.Maybe I'll sent a wee cheque up to that wee socialist newspaper,it will be worth it if only to keep them online.If something is worth having then it worth supporting and paying for. Either that or lose it all together.Nae gonnae dae that fer most of the other Scottish media can be and is pish poor and "their view orientated" when it comes to important issues. |
Good idea wisnaeme, maybe if it's struggling financially we should try and raise some funds on this site?
You can't put a price on free speech after all. _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |

Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 4:26 pm Post subject: y |
Actually, subsrcibing to the paper would be a big help. It is the SSP paper but as it is the only independent not-for-profit left of centre weekly paper in Scotland its really for everyone, and is bought and read by many outside of the party.
Subscriptions at http://www.scottishsocialistvoice.net/subs.html
If you would rather not subscribe and still want to help we have an appeal at http://www.scottishsocialistvoice.net/appeal.html
They are also always looking for contributions especially about local campaigns and events in Scotland. Anyone who wants to write something for the paper should email Jo Harvey at voice.editorial@btconnect.com |

Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:03 pm Post subject: |
why not add a post about this under 'campaign/events' section? _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 8:34 am Post subject: h |
| Smart thinking batman |
Blackadder 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:56 pm Post subject: |
| Robin thought so too. But he turned to be a bit of a Joker! |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum