True Scotsman I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:01 am Post subject: SNP only a quarter of way to poll fund |
THe SNP are a qaurter of a way to there £1 target.
http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/politics.cfm?id=1483272006
SNP only a quarter of way to poll fund
HAMISH MACDONELL
SCOTTISH POLITICAL EDITOR
THE SNP is only a quarter of the way towards its aim of raising £1 million to fight next year's election, but Alex Salmond, the party leader, said yesterday he was still confident of hitting the target.
The Nationalists have raised £250,000 since Mr Salmond's appeal to the party last year for a fighting fund of £1 million.
There are only six months to go before the campaign starts but Mr Salmond said it was an achievable target.
"I know that leaves three quarters of the money still to be raised but I am confident we can get to that target," he said.
Mr Salmond also suggested that he would only be able to make sure that there was an independence referendum if the SNP emerged from next year's elections as the largest party.
There has been increasing speculation about the prospects of an SNP-Lib Dem coalition after the next election. However, the Liberal Democrats do not believe in an independence referendum and this could become a barrier to any such partnership.
Mr Salmond said yesterday he was absolutely committed to an independence referendum in the first term of an SNP-led administration but said it would be up to the electorate to decide.
He said the SNP could dictate the course of a coalition government if it emerged as the largest party in Scotland next May - and make sure a referendum was a key policy.
But he implied that the Nationalists would not be able to be so dogmatic if they failed to win the most seats.
"The leading party will of course be in poll position after the election because they will have the moral and political authority," he said.
And he added: "The electorate's decision on this will be a great humbler for other parties. It will bring people to terms with the underlying strength of support for independence."
_________________ FREEDOM FOR SCOTLAND!!!!!!!! |
October1974 I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:08 pm Post subject: |
£250,000 from ordinary members so far is not bad at all. No donations from dodgy characters like the other parties. Most of the donations normally come just before the election. Some local organisations have lots of funds and should donate more to HQ. _________________ I am not a Nationalist because I am proud to be Scottish but ashamed of the state of the country and want it improved |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:22 pm Post subject: y |
A £1M budget is huge, not compared to labour and the big parties, but if it isnt reached they can still have a good campaign.
We are budgeting £50k for Solidaritys campaign  |

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:13 pm Post subject: |
http://www.sundayherald.com/58421
Tom Farmer to give the SNP £100,000 - so who else will follow? _________________ I am not a Nationalist because I am proud to be Scottish but ashamed of the state of the country and want it improved |
wisnaeme This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:51 pm Post subject: |
To think ah've been less than kind to himself in previous posts. Looks like he's fallen out wae his pal John Reid then or mibee yer man was impressed wae yon guid MSP Mr Mather's sound beezness proposals. Aye,better than the visions frae a former hardline,lefty union man turned Neo Con pretendy New Labour. Ah ken wae ah would trust when the subject of consistency and John Reid appear in the same sentence. Heard the lastest frae ra numpty Reid by ra way, apparently he thinks that the best way to solve prison overcrowding is to risk violent prisoners escaping and so make room for mair. Aye, mibee things are getting better wae yon kind o logical problem solving, ah don't think.
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2087-2393840,00.html
 _________________ They distain all things above their reach and prefer all countries before their own." pluralisation of Thomas Overbury. |
neil8r I Love 'Our Scotland'
Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:33 pm Post subject: Re: y |
| Rinty wrote: | A £1M budget is huge, not compared to labour and the big parties, but if it isnt reached they can still have a good campaign.
We are budgeting £50k for Solidaritys campaign  |
But then are you guys fielding candidates in every seat? |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:43 pm Post subject: n |
| Quote: | | But then are you guys fielding candidates in every seat? |
Don'y know yet, I doubt it but when the SSP did we still only needed £75K |
wallacesclaymore No Longer a Wean

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 11:12 pm Post subject: |
Sir Tom Farmer....a top bloke.
Sell made man. And to give money to the SNP to "level the playing field" is a nice move....
It all helps towards the cause.
Nice one.
WC. _________________ SNP x 3 .... 3rd May 2007 |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:05 pm Post subject: |
| This is a huge move from Tom Farmer. the £100k will of no doubt be a lot of help and it keeps up the momentum gathering around the SNP. But more importantly we have one of the most well known businessmen in the country supporting an open debate on independence and in clearly not antagonistic towards the prospect. There is still IMO the perception that the business community is almost entirely against the prospect of independence, that many would go so far as to relocate to England should we become independent. Of course this is just one man's opinion, but I think it will go far to reassure many people. |

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:52 am Post subject: |
More good news for the SNP, it looks like Connery could be about to start donating serious money as well. Not to believe too much of what the Record says, but they claim that Connery is going to give a 'six figure sum' to the party before next May's election.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news...062%26siteid=66633-name_page.html |

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 4:52 pm Post subject: |
Just back from the SNP Conference - they have now raised £531,000 and still 7 months to go. _________________ I am not a Nationalist because I am proud to be Scottish but ashamed of the state of the country and want it improved |
wisnaeme This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:33 pm Post subject: |
| October1974 wrote: | | Just back from the SNP Conference - they have now raised £531,000 and still 7 months to go. |
Mibee its time ah put ma hand in ma pocket as weel. Mibee its time ah rejoined ra SNP as ah was a Heid Quarters member a few years ago. Naw jist tae jump on ra bandwagon ye understand but ah've heard through reliable sources that yon Wee Jack is gonna push through the privatisation o Scottish Water after ra elections if yon Labour numpties are still ra heid yins but he's nae gonna tell folks that,ken. They would be terrible scunnered wae yon and that's wan o ra reasons amang ithers that yon numpty dis nae wanna upset ra voters.Ra investers incorporate had a wee jaw jaw in ra capital o ra empire recently, looking fer investment probabilities so they were. Mibee wan o ra remaining colonies had possibilities so wan group said. Aye right. Noo we've seen how ra shareholders o ra energy indrustry apparently hae mair clout than social concience recently wae thur bumping up o prices in the name of profit. Ra media hae naw helped by thur scare stories about a rare commodity which turned oot tae be a load o keech. Sa we can expect a load of baw jawing on how Scottish Water needs investment fer its nae dae ing verra weel and yon nice investment chappies whid dae a better job if we jist handed it over tae them fer tae put smiles on thur share holders pusses an bugger social concience. Are we gonna stand by an let ra Labour profiteers an carpetbaggers dae yon? Aye New Labour's slogan," greed is guid fer ye" may weel be true, fer some folk ony ways. Sa its nae jist independence that's ra only subject o interest next May. Time ra carpet baggers and thur Labour pals got thur merching orders. Ah prefer ra SNP policy on yon sa called private/ pretendy public partnerships scams. Ah dinna want Scots folk tae be sold doon ra watter agin and ye can kiss yer national public utility guid bye if Labour hae ony thing tae dae wae it. _________________ They distain all things above their reach and prefer all countries before their own." pluralisation of Thomas Overbury. |
Lothian Sky I Love 'Our Scotland'
Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 7:20 pm Post subject: |
| Don't just sit there, donate £1.50 by texting SNP to 84424 |
Avatar I need ma own bl**dy forum!

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:54 pm Post subject: |
"Don't just sit there, donate £1.50 by texting SNP to 84424"
Does all the money go to the SNP though? _________________ "Quite simply, Labour have been caught red-handed so often that no-one believes a word they say any more." |
Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 10:17 pm Post subject: |
| Yes |
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:50 pm Post subject: |
Is this some mad fundraising scheme?
Wee Nicola pole dancing or something?
I'd just like to reiterate that you can donate £1.50 to the SNP, right now,
by texting SNP to 84424.
It's totally legitimate. |

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:46 am Post subject: |
Apologies to all regarding the spam. We had hoped that there were enough mods to cope. But it's getting worse and worse. Unfortunately, the only way to stop it is to have moderator approval for all new members, so in future a new member won't be able to sign up and then post straight away, they'll have to wait till approves them. We'll try and sort this out soon and hopefully this should wipe out the spam.
Cheers,
SLG |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4276 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:48 am Post subject: |
| Lothian Sky wrote: | Is this some mad fundraising scheme?
Wee Nicola pole dancing or something? |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 3:45 am Post subject: |
I suspect engerlish infiltraitors pole dancing!!  _________________ Ath-bheothachad
Here is where I come to water my roots. |
Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:40 am Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: |  |
You know you want it, Aventinian!  |