Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 11:36 pm Post subject: Scottish History in Schools |
Compatriots,
I recieved the following email from my friend Kenneth Sheerin of
Scottish Resistance today, I ask you to consider joining the members
of Scottish Resistance, ScotWatch, Kenneth and myself in sending a
note of encouragement for this petition. Thank you for your time.
Deo Vindice
WP
The Scottish Executive Minister, Patricia Ferguson, is about to
announce educational changes which will lead to the abolition, in
practical terms, of any teaching of Scottish history and culture in
Scottish schools.
Please consider writing a note supporting Donald Smith's very
concisely and diplomatically worded petition, to be handed in to the
Scottish Parliament on St Andrew's Day, before Ms Ferguson makes her
announcement.
If you would care to support the following petition prepared by
Donald Smith, please email your support to him at
donald@scottishstorytellingcentre.com
Donald thinks 500 names will be needed to make a real splash and
catch the St Andrews Day opportunities. So please copy and paste this
article and Email it as widely as possible through the week to
everyone you know.
"This is our last chance before Patricia Ferguson's announcements,
so we need to make this impressive - or desist." Donald Smith
Petition to be submitted to the Scottish Parliament on St Andrews
Day, 30th
November:
Recognising that critical self-awareness of Scottish history,
literature and languages is vital to a confident, successful and
outward-looking Scotland, we submit that the present arrangements for
the study of these disciplines at primary, secondary and tertiary
levels are inadequate, and request that they be reviewed and effective
frameworks established to ensure that all citizens of Scotland have
the opportunity to understand these key aspects of their own society
and culture.
_________________ William Potter
ScotWatch International
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/scotwatch/
Jefferson Republican Party
http://jeffersonrepublicanparty.com
http://jeffersonrepublican.blogspot.com/ |
Blackadder 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:58 pm Post subject: |
| Yes ... well ... Donald has been known to keep the same simmit on till a new one comes by every so often! |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:48 am Post subject: |
never too late to learn about the psychotic english and their murderous ways. _________________ Ath-bheothachadh
Drink beer,don't drive...its cheeper! |

Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:32 am Post subject: |
This is true. For every one psycho-Scot, there's around ten to fifteen psycho-English bastards. And I'm proud to say we Blackadders have had our share.
It's people like us who gave you an empire to go out and colonise ... after we did our level best to eradicate the local natives with, if not weapons, gonnorhea and syphilis.
Be grateful! |
Pragmatic Pict No Longer a Wean
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:04 pm Post subject: |
| Babygael wrote: | | never too late to learn about the psychotic english and their murderous ways. |
Although I would not be so sweeping there is some evidence by the fact (as you well know) the scots did not treat the english to badly in the towns they took in '46 but the then evil english government and army not only killed defenceless Jacobite but then went about eradicating highland culture, language and inexucusably burning houses and killing innocent clan members.
A McGregor never forgets who his enemies are!(until Scotland gains independence when you will forgive.) |

Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:20 pm Post subject: |
Well, Cumberland the Butcher WAS German like the rest of the Georges ... and little Englishman are good at following orders where you Scotties are concerned. Especially when you're already beat and it's about five on one to do you in further! I never liked the Georges. Idiots to a man.
A McGregor eh? "Royal is my race" and all that. I thought we got rid of you lot to South America where it's now a fairly common name. |
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:37 pm Post subject: |
A McGregor eh? "Royal is my race" and all that. I thought we got rid of you lot to South America where it's now a fairly common name.[/quote]
Don't think I really hate England or the English as it was the past but it makes me annoyed that they have not given Scotland the Independence it deserves.
e.g England makes Singapore independent in the 1960s but does not give Wales and Scotland anything then. The difference is the British Empire made Singapore the country what it is from an uninhabited swamp importing chineseand other people for the population of the port. ITS madness!
To be proud of your clan heritage does not mean you are a racialist or fascist and you have to keep your clan or culture going as no one else will. This can even apply to England.
P.S I may not be a full blooded McGregor jus proud of who I am. You never know what ancestry you have!  |

Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 9:40 pm Post subject: |
On the contrary ... my family line can be traced back to the 11th century when we came over from Normandy with William the b****rd and took the country from the Saxon "nobility".
England CANNOT give Scotland its Independence. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is a Union of the two senior Kingdoms of England and Scotland. They are equal partners in the Union. Check how many Scots have been PM since Walpole, oik!!!
Since Scotland was never subjugated by the right of conquest, how can it be "given" Independence??
England has never "given" Independence to anyone. Great Britain (the UK) did that.
Do your research better. |
IF Convenor I really have nothing else to do!!!

Joined: 29 Apr 2006 Posts: 906 Location: Scotland or West Africa, it depends
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 12:45 am Post subject: |
Just out of interest, Pragmatist, how old are you? You come across as very young. _________________ The man o independent mind,
He looks and laughs at aa that. |
Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 10:37 pm Post subject: |
| Blackadder wrote: | On the contrary ... my family line can be traced back to the 11th century when we came over from Normandy with William the b****rd and took the country from the Saxon "nobility".
England CANNOT give Scotland its Independence. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is a Union of the two senior Kingdoms of England and Scotland. They are equal partners in the Union. Check how many Scots have been PM since Walpole, oik!!!
Since Scotland was never subjugated by the right of conquest, how can it be "given" Independence??
England has never "given" Independence to anyone. Great Britain (the UK) did that.
Do your research better. |
You take me too literally. Obviously England has never "given" Independence to anyone just that Great Britain is basically England with most of the MPs being english or prescribing to English mentality such as Neil Kinnock. |
Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 10:40 pm Post subject: |
| IF Convenor wrote: | | Just out of interest, Pragmatist, how old are you? You come across as very young. |
Jus because I be terrible at English structure and that I be a wee bit reactionary against imperialists does nae to mean I am a wee lad
Last edited by Pragmatic Pict on Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:04 pm; edited 1 time in total |
Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 10:54 pm Post subject: |
| Blackadder, I find it quite strange that a man of your intellect wastes his time on a site arguing against separation of Scotland from the union when most people are Scottish Nationalist on this board and will not change their view point. |
IF Convenor I really have nothing else to do!!!

Joined: 29 Apr 2006 Posts: 906 Location: Scotland or West Africa, it depends
Posted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:51 pm Post subject: |
Where's the fun in arguing if everyone agrees with you? _________________ The man o independent mind,
He looks and laughs at aa that. |

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:38 am Post subject: |
PP wrote;
| Quote: | | You take me too literally. Obviously England has never "given" Independence to anyone just that Great Britain is basically England with most of the MPs being english or prescribing to English mentality such as Neil Kinnock. |
Neil Kinnock is Welsh. And I can assure you he is NOT a person with an English "mentality". |
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:48 pm Post subject: |
| IF Convenor wrote: | | Where's the fun in arguing if everyone agrees with you? |
That is true.
Blackadder is jus cunning like a cunning fox who studied cunning at the University of cunning. He has outwitted me as I don't even know to where his opinions lay  |
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:56 pm Post subject: |
| Blackadder wrote: | PP wrote;
| Quote: | | You take me too literally. Obviously England has never "given" Independence to anyone just that Great Britain is basically England with most of the MPs being english or prescribing to English mentality such as Neil Kinnock. |
Neil Kinnock is Welsh. And I can assure you he is NOT a person with an English "mentality". |
I know he is welsh but he does not seem it the way he is so staunchly anti-devolution of any kind. I have never met a welsh person (although I have only met welsh speakers) who are totally against more independence for Wales. If he was only against total independence from the UK that would be more understandable. |
Theresa Nationalist
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:43 am Post subject: |
Blackadder wrote:
| Quote: | | Neil Kinnock is Welsh. And I can assure you he is NOT a person with an English "mentality". |
Hmm. Many of Y Cymry would disagree. _________________ "Qui tacit consentire." Silence gives consent. |
Morph I really have nothing else to do!!!

Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 12:41 pm Post subject: |
Slim i couldnt find any information on this piece. Please can you give me a link to some eviedence of this story. The way the Curriculum for excellence, the new 5-14 type idea, is set up it would be very hard to abolish the right to teach Scottish history. Even the standard grade and higher courses include Scottish history e.g. the Scotland and Britain 1830 to 1930 topic, which in my school dealt mostly with the Scottish aspect of these courses. Scotland unlike England doesnt have a really cast in iron curriculum and there is the room for movement. _________________ "An oppressive government is to be more feared than a tiger" |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 3:18 pm Post subject: |
| Was it not the case in the higher exams that the exam board would set guaranteed questions on certain areas, but there was no guaranteed question on Scottish history. So most teachers would still teach it, it would be given a lesser priority than those areas where a question would definitely come up. |

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 6:34 pm Post subject: |
History ... as it is taught in most Education systems ... is crap! This is partly because the monolith we call Education is not geared for anything except getting you to pass exams. The nuts and bolts of History is best learned outside of school.
btw ... Donald Smith and I are old freinds ... I spent 2 happy years at The Netherbow, working beside him ... and no ... I'm not Uncle Duncan!!! |