SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:32 am Post subject: Limerick game |
Ok, someone gives the first two lines of a limerick and everyone else has to complete it. When folk are bored of that one, someone else can post a new opening two lines.
Sound like it's worth a go?
Ok, I'll start:
There was a young man fae Dundee
Who wanted to be an MP
Babygael Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:17 pm Post subject: |
Nice change SLG!
Who wanted to be an MP
Sae he wint doon tae Westminster
An became the Prime Minister _________________ Pict Quine.
Here is where I come to water my roots. |
Blackadder Time For Reincarnation

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 2:23 pm Post subject: |
Where's your last line, BG?? Or didn't you read SLG's entire post?
Who wanted to be an MP
He stood for election
(He'd hired much protection)
Thank goodness that man isn't me!!!
A female (we'll call Babygael)
Was always as slow as a snail
Till she got stuck to a car
Which took her quite far
But .... her remains are over there ... in a pail!!
Only kidding!!!
Here's the next one with first two lines ... next poster must complete it, then write first two lines of THEIR limerick ... and so on ...
A lassie fae the island o Skye
Once baked an electric eel pie ....... |

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:13 pm Post subject: |
Aye ye'r right BA ah dinna read it properly!
Ther' wis a young man fae Dundee
Who wanted to be an MP
Sae he wint doon tae westminster
Tae become a Prime Minister
Bit the engerlish,they dinna agree.
Next wan
A Lassie fae the Island of Skye
Once baked an electric eel pie.
She now glows like a worm
And walks wae a squirm
An' ainly the eel kens why! _________________ Pict Quine.

Posted: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:19 pm Post subject: |
There wis a wee mannie fae Tain
Wit walked in a toga tae spain _________________ Pict Quine.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 12:28 am Post subject: |
There wis a wee mannie fae Tain
Whit walked in a toga tae Spain
His feet were aw lumps
Fae hittin the bumps
So he's no goin back there again!!!
Okay ... next up ....
McNumpty wis feelin real doon
His next post wis gauntae be soon .... |

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 5:06 am Post subject: |
MacNumpty wis feeling real doon,
His next post wis gauntae be soon,
Bit he took a real chance
Hitched a car ride tae France
Bit ended up in down town Kowloon!
Ok!
Ther' wance wis this pair englishment
Wae crossed a Scotsman's path _________________ Pict Quine.

Posted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:57 pm Post subject: |
One feels you haven't quite grasped the essentials of building a Limerick, BG. The first two lines and last line must rhyme. Only the middle two take on a different rhyming cadency.
Please re-examine your first two lines and fix accordingly.
By the way ... one assumes you were on the hooch when you started typing ... |
Xcotty Gaining a Reputation........

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:12 pm Post subject: |
Got to have a wee go at this
There was a wee monkey from France
Who thought he should learn how to dance
He found a good teacher
a beautiful creature..... _________________ Freetalkscotland Forum |

Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2006 2:47 pm Post subject: |
Hahahaha BA Very funny!! Just because you can't take up a challenge you must resort to below the belt comments! SIGH! And no, no hooch how about you???
Where was I?Oh yes (if yer want something done......!)
Ther' wis aince this engerlishment who crossed a Scotsman path,
Said he: "Oh I say, I say old chap,is this the road to Bath?"
Ach no its no ye engerlish loon! Ah think ye've lost yer wye
sae tak yersel back tae englant Toon, ONY time today!
A simple one fer BA
While glancing in the mirror, BA turned a deathly white,
Suddenly,the air wis rent apart wit seismic shrieks of fright!
Hi Xscotty, nice to have someone else joining in! As BlackAdder obiviously can't hack it and finds the going a bit tae steep fer hissel !
Klingons rule!!!! _________________ Pict Quine.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:21 am Post subject: |
BG ... THAT was NOT in ANY circumstance a LIMERICK, which has DEFINED poetic rules and regularities which you in your usual self-blind ignorance have ignored. There was NO "below-the-belt" comments. I merely pointed out your failings at grasping simple essentials of the art of poetry and comic timing. If you can't play the game as it is meant to be played, then don't play at all!
Hi Xscotty
You're only supposed to do the first TWO lines according to SLG who started the thread and therefore makes the rules ... but anyway ... let's see what we can do ...
There was a wee monkey from France
Who thought he should learn how to dance
He found a good teacher
A beautiful creature.....
And the dance turned into romance!!!
How's that ... Gimme more!
And now we turn to Babygael's proffered couplet albeit with edits to make it work ...
In the mirror, BA turned deathly white,
And the air wis rent with his fright!
Though his beard had turned grey
(Oh, what a horrible day!)
Well, at least ... it hadn't turned white!!!
And here's the next one ...
While waiting to see the doc
A woman (in a very nice frock) ...
btw ... Klingons SUCK!!! |

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:57 pm Post subject: |
Love this game, even if i got the rules wrong hehe.
I'll have another go in a bit.
By the way, i find Klingons are easy to cut off
with scissors. But careful down there, one slip
and poopsville  _________________ Freetalkscotland Forum |

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:00 pm Post subject: |
While waiting to see the doc
A woman (in a very nice frock) ...
Felt she needed to poo
so run to the loo
But too late, she missed the pot
There was a young man from Dunoon
Who wanted to visit the moon...... _________________ Freetalkscotland Forum |

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:41 pm Post subject: |
| Xcotty wrote: | Love this game, even if i got the rules wrong hehe.
I'll have another go in a bit.
By the way, i find Klingons are easy to cut off
with scissors. But careful down there, one slip
and poopsville  |
Lovely image that - cheers  |

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:42 pm Post subject: |
There was a young man from Dunoon
Who wanted to visit the moon......
He got in his car
And drove really far
But never got further than Troon |

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:52 pm Post subject: |
Tisk! Tisk BA, suffering from PMS ??
Slg where's your twa lines lad??? _________________ Pict Quine.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:55 pm Post subject: |
| Babygael wrote: | Tisk! Tisk BA, suffering from PMS ??
Slg where's your twa lines lad??? |
Here you go, see what you can do with this one...
Jimmy was out on the water
When he got in a fight with an otter |

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 2:36 pm Post subject: |
Jimmy was out on the water
When he got in a fight with an otter.
Took a hard slap tae the heed
Thought he wis deed
Noo he walks wae a pronounced teeter Totter!
Early wan morning atween twa or three
A knock on the windae en a vice say's"Its me!" _________________ Pict Quine.

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 4:10 pm Post subject: |
Much better, BG ... I applaud that one ... indeed including the previous ones from Xscotty and SLG ...
Early wan morning atween twa or three
A knock on the windae en a vice say's"Its me!
Ah ken ah'm ower auld
But ah'm oot in the cauld
Let me in or else ah wull freeeee ........!!!!!!"
Here's the next ...
On our-scotland.org things are fine
We like wrting things line by line .... |
mairead Jim Baxter is God...........really!!!!

Posted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 4:58 pm Post subject: |
On our Scotland, things are fine
We like writing things line by line
But oh, I've got a pain
'Cos of all this Blooming rain
So to sunny climes I think I will resign
Follow this now.
A fine lady who comes from Argyll
Thought she would make Blackadder smile _________________ I fear not hell, nor English strife,
For Scotland, I will give my life |