Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

The Darien Scheme

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:18 pm    Post subject: The Darien Scheme Reply with quote

The Darien scheme was an unsuccessful attempt by the Kingdom of Scotland to establish a colony on the Isthmus of Panama. If successful this could have been the beginnings of a Scottish Empire.

But the scheme failed and, not long after, Scotland joined the Union with England and Wales - probably due to the fact that this venture bankrupted the Scottish economy.

---------------------------------

The Darien Scheme - The Fall of Scotland

Some have said: 'The Darien venture was the most ambitious colonial scheme attempted in the 17th century…The Scots were the first to realise the strategic importance of the area..." Whilst others claimed: "They were plain daft to try…. It was disaster. They never had a chance." T'is for you to decide!

William Paterson, a Scot who's other major claim to fame was the foundation of the Bank of England, was born in Tinwald in Dumfriesshire in 1658. He made his first fortune through international trade, travelling extensively throughout the America's and West Indies.

John Senex. A new map of ye Isthmus of Darien in America, the Bay of Panama...
Scale: 45 miles to 1 inch. 47 x 28 cm

Upon his return to his native Scotland, Paterson sought to make his second fortune with a scheme of epic proportion. His plan was to create a link between east and west, which could command the trade of the two great oceans of the world, the Pacific and Atlantic. In 1693, Paterson helped to set up the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies in Edinburgh to establish an entrepot on the Isthmus of Darien (the narrow neck of land separating North and South America now known as Panama). It was claimed that the company would prosper through foreign trade and promoted Darien as a remote spot where Scots could settle.

The original directors of the Company of Scotland were Scottish and English in equal numbers, with the risk investment capital being shared half from the English and Dutch, and the other half from the Scots. However under pressure from the East India Company, afraid of loosing their trade monopoly, the English Parliament withdrew its support for the scheme at the last minute, forcing the English and Dutch to withdraw and leaving the Scots as sole investors.

No shortage of takers though as thousands of ordinary Scottish folk invested money in the expedition, to the tune of approximately £500,000 - about half of the national capital available. Almost every Scot who had £5 to spare invested in the Darien scheme. Thousands more volunteered to travel on board the five ships that had been chartered to carry the pioneers to their new home where Scots could settle, including famine driven Highlanders and soldiers discharged following the Glencoe Massacre.

But, who had actually been out to see this Promised Land, this remote spot where Scots could settle? Well not Paterson apparently! The pioneers had wrongly believed, on the basis of sightings by sailors and pirates, that Darien offered them a colony where entrepreneurs could establish trading links with the world and bring prestige and prosperity to their country. And so it was much fanfare and excitement that the ships sailed from Leith harbour on 12 July 1698 with 1,200 people onboard.

It was however, a depleted and less excited group of pioneers that arrived on the mosquito-infested scrap of land known as Darien on 30 October 1698. Many were already sick and others were quarrelling as power struggles arose among the elected councillors. They struggled ashore and renamed the land Caledonia, with its capital New Edinburgh. The first task was to dig graves for the dead pioneers, which included Paterson's wife. The situation grew worse because of a lack of food and attacks from hostile Spaniards. The native Indians took pity on the Scots, bringing them gifts of fruit and fish. Seven months after arriving, 400 Scots were dead. The rest were emaciated and yellow with fever. They decided to abandon the scheme.

Sadly, news did not travel quickly in the 17th Century, and six more ships set sail from Leith in November 1699 loaded with further 1,300 excited pioneers, all blissfully ignorant about the fate of the earlier settlers. And whoever said that bad news travels fast was obviously not a Scot as a third fleet of five ships left Leith shortly after.

Only one ship returned out of the total of sixteen that had originally sailed. Only a handful survived the return journey. Scotland had paid a terrible price with more than two thousand lives lost. Together with the loss of the £500,000 in investment the Scottish economy was almost bankrupted. It has been argued that the Darien Scheme crippled the country's economy to such an extent that it triggered the dissolution of the Scottish Parliament and led to the 1707 Act of Union with England. A mere coincidence, or had the English withdrawal from the scheme been deliberately engineered to ensure its failure?

http://www.historic-uk.com/HistoryUK/Scotland-History/DarienScheme.htm
Jim Baxter is God...........really!!!!

Location: Edinburgh, Fort Augustus, Kilmarnock, Flodigarry, Oban

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The genius of the darien scheme did indeed come 100 years too early. The foresight of it was amazing - we are indeed a nation of genuises Blackleaf...

"There is British nationalism or Scottish nationalism. I prefer the civic nationalism of small nations that has been expressed through the independence of a dozen European nations of similar size to Scotland in the past 100 years. They have prospered and I'd choose the tolerance and peace of Norway and Ireland over Trident and the illegal Iraq war any day. - Alex Salmond

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
One O'Clock Gun
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Coming up on the history channel next-

Blackleaf posts an article about some queen called mary, who had her head chopped of by some other queen, apparently (with important bits highlighted in red)
Corby Boy
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this story it was one of my ancestor's who dreamt the whole thing up and lost his missus in process.
BonnieBlueFlag
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neither the Spanish or English assisted the Scots in trouble at Darien. Once again another example of how education should be used to teach people why the Union was not designed as a partnership but a annexation. The English would silence any Scottish threat both on the mainland as well as eliminating a potential trade threat.

Jimbo
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"A mere coincidence, or had the English withdrawal from the scheme been deliberately engineered to ensure its failure? "

Of course it had.
Anthropos
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BonnieBlueFlag wrote:
Neither the Spanish or English assisted the Scots in trouble at Darien.

Why should they have assisted them? The Spanish can hardly have been expected to welcome another country treading on its turf, and the English can hardly have been expected to risk a diplomatic incident with the Spanish by supporting another country treading on their turf.

BonnieBlueFlag wrote:
Once again another example of how education should be used to teach people why the Union was not designed as a partnership but a annexation.

I would expect education to give a considerably more intelligent and informed account than that. The problem is too many people are content with simplistic 'Victim Scot' pish rather than a more considered analysis.
BonnieBlueFlag
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its not a simplistic evaluation, Scottish history in general is not widely known, even among Scots. With proper education the troubles between Catholics and Protestants would be considerably less.

I also believe that the "Spanish turf" you mention was actually indigenous American 'turf', merely stolen by the Spanish.

I certainly don't see Scotland as a victim in every account through history but there are examples of Scotland being the underdog and in a sense the 'victim' however you can apply that notion to a whole nation.

Anthropos
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BonnieBlueFlag wrote:
Its not a simplistic evaluation, Scottish history in general is not widely known, even among Scots.

I don’t think the above really makes much sense, whether or not Scottish history is widely known doesn’t mean your evaluation wasn’t simplistic.

To go back to your original claim that “the Union was not designed as a partnership but a annexation”, and why I regard it as simplistic. The Treaty of Union left intact the three pillars of Scottish society, namely Law, Education and the Church. Furthermore these things - which directly shaped the life of a Scotsman - all remained distinctly Scottish. Scots law is based – like most European nations – on Roman law, and differs significantly from English Law. The Presbyterian religion has little that an Anglican would recognise, and a Scots college would have been a very different experience from an Oxbridge college.

Were it merely, as you claim, “an annexation”, that would not have been the case, the Treaty of Union intentionally preserved these things, things which made Scotland "Scotland", as well as giving the nation access to English economic resources.

I could go on about this much more, but I think I have given sufficient for you to see why I found your analysis somewhat lacking.

BonnieBlueFlag wrote:
With proper education the troubles between Catholics and Protestants would be considerably less.

I don’t think that is the case, the problem of sectarianism is grossly exaggerated (usually by politicians prone to nannying), try going to Kelso, Perth or Aberdeen and ask where the Catholic areas are. So called sectarian violence is directly linked to everyday thuggery and anti-social behaviour.

Catholic schools also exist in England and Wales without the problems we have in Scotland, why? Please don’t tell me it is because they are properly educated as you will have me in stitches, and not the kind you get after encountering a ned with a broken bottle.

BonnieBlueFlag wrote:
I also believe that the "Spanish turf" you mention was actually indigenous American 'turf', merely stolen by the Spanish.

Rolling Eyes Yes but let us stick to the point, I am sure you knew what I meant.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History All times are GMT