Cymro I need ma own bl**dy forum!
Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:18 pm Post subject: Article (biased) about the Gaelic language in the Times |
This link was posted on a Welsh language message board (www.maes-e.com) that I visit about the Gaelic language.
Very interesting, but in typical Times method quite one sided. I don't need to say on which side to I?
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2091-2416393_1,00.html
Highlander I Love 'Our Scotland'
Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:30 pm Post subject: |
It was a very good read. The sad thing is, gaelic is being forced upon the Scottish population. I would have no problem with Gaelic if the politicians also forced, middle english, old english, lallans, old norse and some brythonic languages on us as well and so I could see sign posts in all these languages. But instead they decide that Gaelic (A VERY SMALL PART OF OUR HERITAGE) must be nationalised and forced in every area of our country even if it was only spoken there for a short time in the history of languages here. It is utter discimination on a large scale. _________________ British to the end |
Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:50 pm Post subject: |
The argument about whether it should be 'forced' into all of Scotland is one thing. But the article (while being a good read) does paint the whole thing in a negative way and that those camapigning for the language are some awkward, annoying little people just making a nuisance of themselves.
The language is 1 element of Scotlands heritage, but that doesn't make it unimportant. Loosing the language will be a sad thing and everything must be done now to ensure that doesn't happen. Areas with Gaelic speakers, however small must take steps to not only preserve the language but promote the language. One of those ways is to ensure by say 2010 all road signs in those areas, and all other public signs are fully bilingual.
Public bodies must offer services in Gaelic, as it should be considered a basic right. Thats not to say that Doric in the North East and Scots shouldn't also get that right.
I can see why the Gaelic lobby groups and the Scots lobby groups don't see eye to eye but more links them than seperates them and imagine what could be achieved if they co-operated?
The article makes a mistake in drawing an image of the situation in Wales being a lot easier because the Welsh had no challenges. This simply isn't true. The Anti Welsh langauge groups (backed by Labour who have a negative attitude towards minority languages in the UK) tried to say areas like Wrexham, Flintshire, Monmouth, South Pembroke etc didn't have enough Welsh speakers and the language was English so should therefore be kept out of any legislation.
They lost. |
garye Gaining a Reputation........
Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:12 pm Post subject: |
| Highlander wrote: | | It was a very good read. The sad thing is, gaelic is being forced upon the Scottish population. I would have no problem with Gaelic if the politicians also forced, middle english, old english, lallans, old norse and some brythonic languages on us as well and so I could see sign posts in all these languages. But instead they decide that Gaelic (A VERY SMALL PART OF OUR HERITAGE) must be nationalised and forced in every area of our country even if it was only spoken there for a short time in the history of languages here. It is utter discimination on a large scale. |
Ok then "Highlander tell us where you live in the Highlands and I'll tell you how many Gaelic speakers there were there at the time of the 1891 census and who will have been there for over a millenium.
Gaelic IS NOT BEING FORCED on the people of Scotland. The gaelic lanaguage act WAS PASSED UNANIMOUSLY - DO YOU UNDERSTAND THAT HIGHLANDER - UNANIMOUSLY - by the Scottish PARLIAMENT - -PARLIAMENT - DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT THAT MEANS YOU IGNORANT CRETIN? IT MEANS THAT AS PART OF THE DEMOCRATIC PROCESS THE BILL WAS CARRIED WITH OVERWHELMING SUPPORT.
There have also bee Polls carried out showing large scale support across the population as a whole for more support for Gaelic.
This article was one of the most viciously anti Gaelic, biased and factually inaccurate articles I have ever read, I'm so feckin angry at this point in time I'm just about to explode......
come ahead "Highlander" boy am I in the mood for a square go wi you ....
Cymro, I think this article also misinterprets the situation that exists between Gaelic and Scots lobby groups. I am not aware of any Scots lobby groups who would argue that either promotion of Gaelic is a "bad thing" per se or that support should be cut. Similarly I think there is general goodwill from Gaelic organistaions towards Scots. Both are aware that they are both minority languages struggling for survival and recognition in the 21st Century albeit both having different issues and having differnt levels of official support. |
Highlander I Love 'Our Scotland'
Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:25 pm Post subject: |
| Quote: | | Ok then "Highlander tell us where you live in the Highlands and I'll tell you how many Gaelic speakers there were there at the time of the 1891 census and who will have been there for over a millenium. |
I refuse to tell you anything about me. However, we all know that the highlands are the main base of where Gaelic is and was spoken. I think you miss the point.
| Quote: | | Gaelic IS NOT BEING FORCED on the people of Scotland. The gaelic lanaguage act WAS PASSED UNANIMOUSLY - DO YOU UNDERSTAND THAT HIGHLANDER - UNANIMOUSLY - by the Scottish PARLIAMENT - -PARLIAMENT - DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT THAT MEANS YOU IGNORANT CRETIN? IT MEANS THAT AS PART OF THE DEMOCRATIC PROCESS THE BILL WAS CARRIED WITH OVERWHELMING SUPPORT. |
I am not going to debate this because arguing with people who have to insult and threaten others ("YOU IGNORANT CRETIN""I in the mood for a square go wi you") to debate is not worth my time. I will however point out a few things. The act of union was passed by the Estates of Parliament (parliament of Scotland) in the 1700s. I will now quote you "PARLIAMENT - DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT THAT MEANS YOU IGNORANT CRETIN? IT MEANS THAT AS PART OF THE DEMOCRATIC PROCESS THE BILL WAS CARRIED WITH OVERWHELMING SUPPORT" _________________ British to the end |
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:58 am Post subject: |
Come now Highlander, stop hiding behind semantics. Do you not accept that the Gaelic language Bill was passed with clear political will be all parties? We live in a representative democracy and all those MSP's represent the people of Scotland, they descided it was beneficial to them to pass the language bill. That is not forced is it? And that is completely different to what Scotland saw with the Act of Union. I suspect you realised that, but that won't stop a person from trying will it?
We aren't bothered about your address so don't worry. But, as someone living in the Highlands your area (wherever that may be) has seen a massive decline in the Gaelic language. I was watching a programme a few weeks ago on BBC 2 Scotland about the Sutherland dialect of Gaelic. Fascinating programme, but very sad, one thing is to ressurect a language (which is quite easy) another thing is to ressurect a dialect (it's practically impossible). This particular form of the language was now only spoken by a few individuals (one was an American). The language was dying and along with it a part of that particular areas culture.
It is imperative that the language is allowed to not only survive but to become a past of community life once again. Otherwise everyone will be at a loss. |
Grachka On A Journey (500 Miles)

Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 6:10 pm Post subject: |
As good a topic as any to post my first post.
Whilst I agree with the aims of the law, and the sentiment behind it, the strategy seems to be flawed. History shows that threatened languages can recover when a) there is a socioeconomic incentive for the speakers to retain it and b) there is/can be a concentrated base from which to work from. As much as I sympathise with the idea that they wish to reach out to new potential learners, Partick or Edinburgh don't really qualify for b) and the resources diverted to them affect a).
The best thing the Gaelic lobby could do is focus their efforts on their 'stronghold' in the North West, improving the economy somewhat and branch outwards so that the base gets wider, otherwise I don't see this strategy succeeding and this will be a big waste of time and money.
P.S. Regarding the round-trip for the English-speaking schoolchildren at the Gaelic school, the article fails to point out the opposing argument of the vast majority of Gaelic speakers that the usual round trip for a Gaelic schoolchild to get Gaelic medium education is much greater than the rather measly 30 miles they cite. |
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:43 pm Post subject: |
Dinnae fash yersel "Highlander" I was only meaning square go in the robust debate sense of the word.
However regarding your cretinous ignorance how exactly can you reconcile a statement like:-
| Highlander wrote: | | I would have no problem with Gaelic if the politicians also forced... lallans .... on us as well . |
with another couple of comment of yours from another thread regarding Aberdeenshire Doric?:-
| Highlander wrote: | Just watched that video. I cannot understand a word she is saying. I can't really tell, what language was it?
I still don't have a clue what she was saying. It was a foreign language. |
Or how's about a comparison of these two:-
| Highlander wrote: | | However, we all know that the highlands are the main base of where Gaelic is and was spoken. |
and
| Highlander wrote: | | So why are we getting Gaelic forced down us left, right and centre? It is as though todays politicians are trying to change our culture and tell us that we are all Gaels. This is just wrong! We are not and never have been. |
For those reading this thread interested in finding out just how Gaelic the Highlands and Islands were the following gives a breakdown from each census from 1881:-
http://www.linguae-celticae.org/GLS_english.htm
Interestingly as regards this particular article in the Times I e-mailed the quoted Socio Linguistic professor, John Joseph, suggesting that perhaps he had been misquoted in the article.
He replied and confirmed for me that not only had he been misquoted but he strongly supports the Gaelic Language Bill and is preparing an article in response to the one published by the Times.
Grachka in some ways I can understand what you are saying and I think there does need to be alot of effort in Skye, Lochalshe the Western Highlands and the Western Isles.
However you are missing the ongoing success stories in places like Glasgow and Edinburgh. Glasgow currently has Primary and (newly) Secondary Education in dedicated Gaelic schools and in Edinburgh the rejection of Parental demands for a dedicated Gaelic Promary school are starting to look more ridiculous every year as the numbers entering the Gaelic unit at Tollcross grow year on year.
Even in places like North Lanarkshire you have a situation where the Gaelic unit in Condorrat near Cumbernauld now has over 130 kids. Resources do need to go to areas of concentration but that shouldn't take away from areas showing ongoing success. The Unit I plan to send my own kids to now has over 40 kids in it, an active Parents organisation and local classes to enable parent with kids in the unit to learn the language. If that type of success can be replicated and built upon (remember the growth of GME has been hindered by the lack of suitably qualified teachers, which is another area "where the money goes") then Gaelic can grow both in traditional and more distantly traditional areas. |
RadgeJougal I really have nothing else to do!!!
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:19 pm Post subject: |
Not much of a "Highlander" is it?
-----------------
British to my rear end. |
Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:21 pm Post subject: |
| Grachka wrote: | As good a topic as any to post my first post.
Whilst I agree with the aims of the law, and the sentiment behind it, the strategy seems to be flawed. History shows that threatened languages can recover when a) there is a socioeconomic incentive for the speakers to retain it and b) there is/can be a concentrated base from which to work from. As much as I sympathise with the idea that they wish to reach out to new potential learners, Partick or Edinburgh don't really qualify for b) and the resources diverted to them affect a).
The best thing the Gaelic lobby could do is focus their efforts on their 'stronghold' in the North West, improving the economy somewhat and branch outwards so that the base gets wider, otherwise I don't see this strategy succeeding and this will be a big waste of time and money.
P.S. Regarding the round-trip for the English-speaking schoolchildren at the Gaelic school, the article fails to point out the opposing argument of the vast majority of Gaelic speakers that the usual round trip for a Gaelic schoolchild to get Gaelic medium education is much greater than the rather measly 30 miles they cite. |
Your perfectly right with that, but it takes more than one 'initiative' to ressurect the language. The Gaelic language needs to be as a strength not a weakness for the local economy and culture (this will take time), and the areas where the language still exists as a day to day life need to be strengthened as Beacons of Gaelic Success but at the same time the enforcment of Gaelic language laws within public life - all road signs in the language, tv channel, all public forms etc in Gaelic are a way of raising it's profile, status and importance in the areas so that those areas like in the North West take it seriously.
And Partick, and Edinburgh etc are all perfectly justifiable as areas. |
Babygael Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 5:33 pm Post subject: |
And he has the termerity tae call himself "Highlander" ??? Well! Well! Might I make a suggestion? How about "Brassbowl?" Much more fitting!
As we all know and heard a million times,the origional Highlanders/Gaels were cruelly removed from their homes and famillies by the engerlish devils and greedy Scots rogues,(a national disgrace for all time!) "others" The "new"Highlanders, those who kowtowed tae the sasannach gabhar,took over their lands and homes in the Highlands and its surrounds,either with the help of the chief devil's, the sasannach Duke/Dutchess of erm Sutherland ( of whom there is still a statue which hasn't been buldozed intae the sea....yet ...by-the-way!!)
So I suspect no real Highlander with a smattering of enlightenment could be diametrically opposed to their own culture. I doubt they would cut off their own nose to spite their face!
While I suppose its ok to have urdu/punjab etc?
Now I could understand complaints about that far easier than this very boring and frankly discrimitory attack on the language of the Highlanders and others who speak it.
Yet here it is that we have the Local authorities producing information written in the very many Non-National Scottish languages, but not one in the indigenous language of the Gaels?Whats wrong with this picture I ask? Fortunately as far as I can gather this is going to be redressed, finally. Gaelic speakers can conduct their business in their native tongue and the sooner they can get the show on the road, the better.
The good news is that there are still native speakers who stand out like beacons, national hero's. the survivors of the sasannach whirlwind that swept through our country,scattering the Gaidhealtachd Na h-Alba tae the four winds.
Everything was done to elimate you from the face of the earth yet here you still stand against many odds,showing that the spirit of freedom and of independence can overcome all obsticles.Take a bow people!
Oh and Ps erm Hielander, Doric is a DIALECT as opposed to Gaelic which is a LANGUAGE!  _________________ Pict Quine.
Here is where I come to water my roots. |
agentmancuso Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Joined: 06 Sep 2006 Posts: 2008 Location: Darkest Lanarkshire
Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 8:18 pm Post subject: |
| Highlander wrote: | | It was a very good read. The sad thing is, gaelic is being forced upon the Scottish population. I would have no problem with Gaelic if the politicians also forced, middle english, old english, lallans, old norse and some brythonic languages on us as well and so I could see sign posts in all these languages. But instead they decide that Gaelic (A VERY SMALL PART OF OUR HERITAGE) must be nationalised and forced in every area of our country even if it was only spoken there for a short time in the history of languages here. It is utter discimination on a large scale. |
With all respect, that's utter nonsense. None of the other languages are spoken by anyone in Scotland. Gaelic is still a living language, if only just. And it is a huge part of Scotland's heritage. It is perfectly correct for areas that contain reasonable numbers of Gaelic speakers to have bi-lingual signs, public information, official press releases etc. |
Posted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 9:17 am Post subject: |
| agentmancuso wrote: | | Highlander wrote: | | It was a very good read. The sad thing is, gaelic is being forced upon the Scottish population. I would have no problem with Gaelic if the politicians also forced, middle english, old english, lallans, old norse and some brythonic languages on us as well and so I could see sign posts in all these languages. But instead they decide that Gaelic (A VERY SMALL PART OF OUR HERITAGE) must be nationalised and forced in every area of our country even if it was only spoken there for a short time in the history of languages here. It is utter discimination on a large scale. |
With all respect, that's utter nonsense. None of the other languages are spoken by anyone in Scotland. Gaelic is still a living language, if only just. And it is a huge part of Scotland's heritage. It is perfectly correct for areas that contain reasonable numbers of Gaelic speakers to have bi-lingual signs, public information, official press releases etc. |
No, it's perfectly correct in the very least that all areas where the Gaelic language can be connected too (the nature areas where Gaelic is denyied can be debated with people more in the know than myself) to be given Gaelic troad signs, bilingual public material etc. The last thing the Gaelic language needs is some sort of 'opt out' when it comes to numbers speaking it, it will just allow those who tend to have a negative immage of the language to try and ignore it. The traditional British Socialists (Old Labour) have a problem with languages like Gaelic and Welsh so will try and use any means possible to unermine it. |
RadgeJougal I really have nothing else to do!!!
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:14 pm Post subject: |
| Highlander wrote: | | they decide that Gaelic (A VERY SMALL PART OF OUR HERITAGE) must be nationalised and forced in every area of our country even if it was only spoken there for a short time in the history of languages here. It is utter discimination on a large scale. |
And you call yourself "Highlander", weird.
It's not a "very small part of our heritage". Nearly every lake in this country is a "loch" something. Valleys are glens and straths. Scots dialect contains umpteen words and speech patterns from it. Many, if not most of our placenames are from it from Dumfries to Dundee, to Duncansby and Dounreay.
And the word "Scot" itself comes from a Gaelic tribe.
Hardly "a very small part of our heritage". It was obviously big enough in recent history for it to be beaten out of defenceless children with sticks and belts.
p.s. The only areas of Scotland which should have no coverage are Orkney and Shetland, IMO. I have researched my history. |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4416 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 12:13 am Post subject: |
"And dead threads shall walk the earth" _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really mean—power over people, power to the State.' |

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:00 pm Post subject: |
 _________________ Pict Quine.

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:01 pm Post subject: |
 _________________ Pict Quine.
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 11:37 pm Post subject: |
| Hey BG cait a'bheil thu a coiseachd an drasda? |

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:51 pm Post subject: |
Tha e gabhar!! _________________ Pict Quine.
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 2:37 pm Post subject: |
| De bhios gabhar ghaidhlig ag radh? Mheth!!! |