sandmountainslim I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 5:03 pm Post subject: Missouri School Apologizes for Kilt Ban |
Compatriots,
ScotWatch recieved the following concerning the Warmack Situation.
Deo Vindice
William Potter
Dear fellow Scots:
My son Nathan Warmack was the topic of a great injustice by his high
school this fall, when he was told to leave his Fall dance because
he wore a kilt. The principal told him, "I am not going to let
anyone dressed like a CLOWN into my dance".
This not only destroyed Nathan's dance, but humiliated him beyond
explanation. As a family we made the decision to fight the system (a
real David vs Goliath). We searched for a lawyer, but found none
interested in this case. Then we received an e-mail that a group
called SLRC wanted to hear from us. I called and talked to Mr.
McCredie, who, in turn, put me in contact with Mr. Lyons. (Both
Scots).
It was through many hours of work as a team, that we were able to do
what few ordinary people can do: make a school district admit they
were wrong!!!!
We won on every issue, and for that, I thank the SLRC, and Mr.
Lyons.
I know first hand as to the many hours that were involved in this
case, as well as the travel time for the SLRC to be there for us. It
has also come to my understanding that there are other young people
who are facing similar fights that the SLRC are attempting to help.
We received some contributions that totaled approximately $300.00,
and for that we are very grateful, but just the cost of doing this
type of work for the rights of all of us, is enormous.
When no one else would, the SLRC helped us in time of need. This has
brought the Scottish community together like nothing in several
years. for this reason, I am asking for your help, financially, for
the SLRC. They are a not for profit group and donations are tax
deductible.
If we don't fight for our little rights, one day we will awake to
learn we have NO RIGHTS LEFT.
I am grateful for the SLRC, and hope that you will see fit to help
them in any way you can.
We need of voice of freedom, and the SLRC was our voice, and will
continue to be that voice, for that we need to come together once
again.
Terry Warmack (Nathan Warmack's Father)
Send Donations to:
SLRC, Inc
P.O.Box 1235
Black Mountain, NC 28711
828-669-5189
www.slrc-csa.org
Here is the apology letter signed by the Superintent
January 9, 2006
Mr. Nathan Warmack
Mr. & Mrs. Terry Warmack
979 Aaron Drive
Jackson, MO 63755
Dear Nathan and Mr. and Mrs. Warmack:
This letter is proffered by the Board of Trustees of the Jackson R-2
School District as a final resolution to the events of November 5,
2005, where Nathan was denied entry to the Silver Arrow Dance by Mr.
Rick McClard because he was wearing a Scottish kilt.
The Jackson R-2 School district acknowledges that Mr. McClard and
through him the district, had no right to restrict any appropriate,
non-disruptive clothing that Nathan wished to wear to school or to
any school function, including a kilt, and that Nathan, as a student
at Jackson High School, has the right to wear his kilt at school or
any school function."
Neither the district, its board members, agents or employees may
require any student to remove any item of appropriate non-disruptive
clothing.
The district, on behalf of the board and its administrators,
including Mr. McClard, apologizes to Nathan for the fact that he was
humiliated and not permitted to wear his kilt to the Silver Arrow
Dance. The district will take appropriate measures (footnote1)to
train administrators and staff in the proper application of the
district's dress code and non-discrimination policy to prevent
future errors in interpretation.
In consideration of the district's agreement to take the actions
outlined in this letter, the Warmacks (Nathan and his parents) agree
not to make any legal claim or to file any legal action or to make
any administrative or other claim against the district, its board
members or employees arising out of the refusal by the high school
principal to permit Nathan to wear his kilt to the Silver Arrow
Dance.
This letter will be incorporated into the minutes of the January 9,
2006 Jackson R-2 School District Board of Education meeting.
Sincerely,
(Signed)
Ron Anderson
Superintendent
For the Board
Agreed and accepted this 9th day of January, 2006
(Signed)
Nathan Todd Warmack
Terry T. Warmack
Paula Warmack
Cc: Steven Wright, esq.
Kirk D. Lyons, SLRC, Inc
Kendra Pauline Mizell
_________________ William Potter
ScotWatch International
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/scotwatch/
Jefferson Republican Party
http://jeffersonrepublicanparty.com
http://jeffersonrepublican.blogspot.com/ |
wisnaeme This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:58 pm Post subject: National Dress |
| Jings, Whit next wull ra PC numpties ban in ra land o ra free? They'll be banning ra Rednecks frae wearing their national dress o a white bedsheet over their heids next an they winnae be able tae see wan anither either in ra dark without their burning crosses! |
Nina I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:16 pm Post subject: Re: National Dress |
| wisnaeme wrote: | | Jings, Whit next wull ra PC numpties ban in ra land o ra free? They'll be banning ra Rednecks frae wearing their national dress o a white bedsheet over their heids next an they winnae be able tae see wan anither either in ra dark without their burning crosses! |
 _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |
Aventinian Time For Reincarnation

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4571 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 1:04 am Post subject: |
That does sound rather malicious.
A shame that a young man's night was ruined for the sake of some small-minded fool's ego. |
Morph I really have nothing else to do!!!

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:02 pm Post subject: |
Am sure that St Andrew uni banned Kilts from their graduation service as well. _________________ "An oppressive government is to be more feared than a tiger" |

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4571 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:59 pm Post subject: |
| I think you are thinking of Cambridge actually. |

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:37 am Post subject: |
sorry, still a bit wrong that the Scottish national dress cannot be worn at the graduation of Scottish people _________________ "An oppressive government is to be more feared than a tiger" |

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:16 am Post subject: |
| I suppose maybe they wanted to prevent showy extravagance. Anyway, I believe it only lasted for one year before the usual Northern Moan got them to change their minds. |
Wolf of Badenoch 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:01 am Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | I suppose maybe they wanted to prevent showy extravagance. Anyway, I believe it only lasted for one year before the usual Northern Moan got them to change their minds. |
Usual Northern Moan???Is this a regular occurrence then is it? _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:04 pm Post subject: |
| Well, yeah. By the Usual Northern Moan I'm pretty much referring to any time when someone gets a bit offended by something, plays the Scottish card and all the liberals bend over backwards to accomodate them. |

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:20 pm Post subject: |
Ahh so its Scottish moan ye meant then,heres me thinking tae that ye meant northern english moan...still the "northern moan" as ye call it is a much sweeter sound than the southern whinge.
I thought it wis us Scottish that walked aboot wi a chip oan oor shooders tae[or so we`re telt onyway]  _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:56 pm Post subject: |
The south of England is probably the only region where it is considered acceptable to blatently rip the piss out of its citizenry. Again, the trouble of being the preceived majority.
By the way, I am Scottish in case you didn't realise. |

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:13 pm Post subject: |
As a national dress i feel that it is perfectly acceptable to be worn on special occassions. Does this make turbans and traditional asian dress "showy extravagance" _________________ "An oppressive government is to be more feared than a tiger" |
wisnaeme This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:58 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | Well, yeah the liberals bend over backwards to accomodate them. |
Got it wrong again,haven't you.Ah thought they bent forwards to accomodate them,allegedly. |

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 7:26 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: |
By the way, I am Scottish in case you didn't realise. |
No really interested tae be honest wi ye but congratulations onyways. _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |
RBK I Love 'Our Scotland'
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 9:45 pm Post subject: |
| Wolf of Badenoch wrote: | Ahh so its Scottish moan ye meant then,heres me thinking tae that ye meant northern english moan...still the "northern moan" as ye call it is a much sweeter sound than the southern whinge.
I thought it wis us Scottish that walked aboot wi a chip oan oor shooders tae[or so we`re telt onyway]  |
Ye wanna live here. We got the best pack a moaners[m.o.p.e.] in the business. And I agree about the southern whinge bit  |

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:07 pm Post subject: |
| Morph wrote: | | As a national dress i feel that it is perfectly acceptable to be worn on special occassions. Does this make turbans and traditional asian dress "showy extravagance" |
Turbans that are every-day wear are not particularly showy, no. But there are many forms of native dress from these places that are.
| Wolf of Badenoch wrote: |
No really interested tae be honest wi ye but congratulations onyways. |
I don't give a toss whether you're interested or not. Stop implying thinks that are incorrect. |
parkhead_rfb Getting on a bit!
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:17 pm Post subject: |
stick to posting about the hills and the glens 200 hundred years ago rbk your labelling of the mope system belies the facts  _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP |