Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
Red Justice I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:34 am Post subject: What is your favourite Burns poem? |
I could have put this in the history section but Robert Burns is living history for all of us and tonight we celebrate the great poet. it would be interesting to know what is your favourite poem by Burns in today's Scotland.
This is mine as Burns was egalitarian and also had a social conscience during his life as Scotland's poet:
http://www.robertburns.org
http://www.robertburns.org/works/496.shtml
Type: Song
Tune: For a' that.
Is there for honest Poverty
That hings his head, an' a' that;
The coward slave-we pass him by,
We dare be poor for a' that!
For a' that, an' a' that.
Our toils obscure an' a' that,
The rank is but the guinea's stamp,
The Man's the gowd for a' that.
What though on hamely fare we dine,
Wear hoddin grey, an' a that;
Gie fools their silks, and knaves their wine;
A Man's a Man for a' that:
For a' that, and a' that,
Their tinsel show, an' a' that;
The honest man, tho' e'er sae poor,
Is king o' men for a' that.
Ye see yon birkie, ca'd a lord,
Wha struts, an' stares, an' a' that;
Tho' hundreds worship at his word,
He's but a coof for a' that:
For a' that, an' a' that,
His ribband, star, an' a' that:
The man o' independent mind
He looks an' laughs at a' that.
A prince can mak a belted knight,
A marquis, duke, an' a' that;
But an honest man's abon his might,
Gude faith, he maunna fa' that!
Their dignities an' a' that;
The pith o' sense, an' pride o' worth,
Are higher rank than a' that.
Then let us pray that come it may,
(As come it will for a' that,)
That Sense and Worth, o'er a' the earth,
Shall bear the gree, an' a' that.
It's coming yet for a' that,
That Man to Man, the world o'er,
Shall brothers be for a' that.
_________________ "We need independence but we also need socialism"
http://scottishsocfree.blogspot.com
http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=6732691161 |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4280 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:06 pm Post subject: |
I too like For A' That, it makes a rare song.
However my favourite has to be the following:
Willie Brew'd A Peck O' Maut
Chorus
We are na fou, we're nae that fou,
But just a drappie in our e'e!
The c**k may craw, the day may daw,
And ay we'll taste the barley-bree!
O, Willie brewed a peck o' maut,
And Rob and Allan cam to prie.
Three blythe hearts that lee-lang night
Ye wad na found in Christendie.
Here are we met three merry boys,
Three merry boys I trow are we;
And monie a night we've merry been,
And monie mae we hope to be!
It is the moon, I ken her horn,
That's blinkin in the lift sae hie:
She shines sae bright to wyle us hame,
But, by my sooth, she'll wait a wee!
Wha first shall rise to gang awa,
A cuckold, coward loun is he!
Wha first beside his chair shall fa',
He is the King amang us three!
Happy Burns' Night to one and all. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really mean—power over people, power to the State.' |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:09 pm Post subject: |
Why should we idly waste our prime
Repeating our oppressions?
Come rouse to arms! 'Tis now the time
To punish past transgressions.
'Tis said that Kings can do no wrong --
Their murderous deeds deny it,
And, since from us their power is sprung,
We have a right to try it.
Now each true patriot's song shall be: -
'Welcome Death or Libertie!'
Proud Priests and Bishops we'll translate
And canonize as Martyrs;
The guillotine on Peers shall wait;
And Knights shall hang in garters.
Those Despots long have trode us down,
And Judges are their engines:
Such wretched minions of a Crown
Demand the people's vengeance!
To-day 'tis theirs. To-morrow we
Shall don the Cap of Libertie!
The Golden Age we'll then revive:
Each man will be a brother;
In harmony we all shall live,
And share the earth together;
In Virtue train'd, enlighten'd Youth
Will love each fellow-creature;
And future years shall prove the truth
That Man is good by nature:
Then let us toast with three times three
The reign of Peace and Libertie! |
agentmancuso Getting on a bit!

Joined: 06 Sep 2006 Posts: 1812 Location: Darkest Lanarkshire
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:35 pm Post subject: |
How about Does Haughty Gaul Invasion Threat?
| Quote: | Does haughty Gaul invasion threat?
Then let the louns beware, Sir;
There's wooden walls upon our seas,
And volunteers on shore, Sir:
The Nith shall run to Corsincon,
And Criffel sink in Solway,
Ere we permit a Foreign Foe
On British ground to rally!
We'll ne'er permit a Foreign Foe
On British ground to rally!
O let us not, like snarling curs,
In wrangling be divided,
Till, slap! come in an unco loun,
And wi' a rung decide it!
Be Britain still to Britain true,
Amang ourselves united;
For never but by British hands
Maun British wrangs be righted!
No! never but by British hands
Shall British wrangs be righted! |
_________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |
Holebender I need ma own bl**dy forum!
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:32 pm Post subject: |
It's Holy Willie's Prayer for me. It's a biting satire and has self-righteous "Holy Willies" everywhere bang to rights. _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4280 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 3:36 am Post subject: |
| agentmancuso wrote: | | How about Does Haughty Gaul Invasion Threat? |
I considered it. Then I decided to leave the old horses for an evening; they've been frightened enough lately. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really mean—power over people, power to the State.' |
William_Cleland This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 5:36 am Post subject: |
^^Sadly predictable but I suppose winding people up on here helps him vent his spleen after a day in the classroom.
Epitaph For James Smith
Type: Epitaph
Lament him, Mauchline husbands a',
He aften did assist ye;
For had ye staid hale weeks awa,
Your wives they ne'er had miss'd ye.
Ye Mauchline bairns, as on ye press
To school in bands thegither,
O tread ye lightly on his grass, -
Perhaps he was your father! |
RadgeJougal I really have nothing else to do!!!
Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 5:18 pm Post subject: |
| The Twa Dugs (obviously) |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:44 pm Post subject: |
I have two which I love for differing reasons, the first already having been mentioned, A Man's A Man for A' That!
But "Charlie, He's my Darling", that just edges it for me. My granny used to sing to me when I was wee, little did she know the song's all about how easy it is to make love to a lady while wearing a kilt!
see - http://www.robertburns.org/works/458.shtml _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:38 pm Post subject: |
| William_Cleland wrote: | | ^^Sadly predictable |
Even more predictable than a discussion about how wonderful one minor Scots poet is by people who think him wonderful on the sole grounds of his nationality, yet who would collectively have severe trouble naming another Scots poet, never mind anything he'd written? _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |
will live from Glasgow On A Journey (500 Miles)

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:36 pm Post subject: |
to a louse if only for the line
"O wad some Power the gift tae gie us
To see oursels as ithers see us!"
cos weve all wanted it at some point and it sounds so much more profound the way he writes it. |

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 1:17 am Post subject: |
| agentmancuso wrote: | | William_Cleland wrote: | | ^^Sadly predictable |
Even more predictable than a discussion about how wonderful one minor Scots poet is by people who think him wonderful on the sole grounds of his nationality, yet who would collectively have severe trouble naming another Scots poet, never mind anything he'd written? |
Tough day at the chalkface I take it? You badly need to get a grip if you genuinely think Burns was a minor poet and that wasn't just another lame attempt at winding up the Nat nuts. What was the inspiration for the title of John Steinbeck's "Of Mice and Men"? |
Red Justice I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:46 pm Post subject: |
| agentmancuso wrote: | | William_Cleland wrote: | | ^^Sadly predictable |
Even more predictable than a discussion about how wonderful one minor Scots poet is by people who think him wonderful on the sole grounds of his nationality, yet who would collectively have severe trouble naming another Scots poet, never mind anything he'd written? |
Try Hugh MacDiarmid wrote famously 'A Drunk Man Looks at a Thistle" and lived until as recent as 1978.
However Rabbie Burns is a major Scots poet known worldwide.
Also poems by Burns are a far more interesting distraction than the agent is  _________________ "We need independence but we also need socialism"
http://scottishsocfree.blogspot.com
http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=6732691161 |
RadgeJougal I really have nothing else to do!!!
Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:07 pm Post subject: |
| agentmancuso wrote: | | Even more predictable than a discussion about how wonderful one minor Scots poet is by people who think him wonderful on the sole grounds of his nationality, yet who would collectively have severe trouble naming another Scots poet, never mind anything he'd written? |
Erm, I could name you dozens more. I think this is particularly stupid as an argument, since many Scots have heard of Walter Scott, who was originally famous for being a poet. Oh what a tangled web you weave!
Burns, whatever your personal opinion of him, is internationally known to some degree, and his work has been translated into fifty languages. |

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:16 pm Post subject: |
| RadgeJougal wrote: | | Erm, I could name you dozens more. I think this is particularly stupid as an argument, since many Scots have heard of Walter Scott, who was originally famous for being a poet. |
Not many people know that. Fewer have ever read a line he wrote, unless forced to in school, be it prose or poetry.
| Quote: | | Burns, whatever your personal opinion of him, is internationally known to some degree, and his work has been translated into fifty languages. |
Good for him. I've nothing against Burns, all good fun. But not, I think, poetry of the highest calibre. _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:17 pm Post subject: |
| William_Cleland wrote: | | You badly need to get a grip if you genuinely think Burns was a minor poet |
What possible argument would you like to make for Burns as a major poet? _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:50 am Post subject: |
| I already gave you one as did RadgeJougal. Not wasting any more of my time on such a ridiculous windup. |

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:15 pm Post subject: |
| William_Cleland wrote: | | I already gave you one as did RadgeJougal. Not wasting any more of my time on such a ridiculous windup. |
That's even less convincing than usual. _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:58 am Post subject: |
| Got better things to do with my time particularly when I strongly suspect that your posture revolves around your now well documented prejudices about "dialect". |

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:16 pm Post subject: |
I like dialects. I like Burns. But I don't think he can really be described as a 'major' poet. What's that got to do with prejudice? _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum