Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

New Poll Claims SNP Support at highest

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence
kevin04
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:08 pm    Post subject: New Poll Claims SNP Support at highest Reply with quote

http://www.theherald.co.uk/politi..._SNP_support_at_record_levels.php

To cut to the numbers

SNP 40% - up 7%
Labour 33% - up 1%
Lib Dems 13% - down 4%
Tories 10% - down 6%

the big news is others have gone up to 14% which I think is great news, I'd be good to see a few more Socialists and Greens in the next Parliament but they are not eating into the Labour vote.

I'm far from being a Tory but Goldie comes across well and is usually quite honest in her party's approach to the SNP's Bills, judging by what her party wants and not just to make a fuss, she also comes across alot more honest and sincere than Alexander.

Why are Labour continue to keep this core vote? Surely even some of the most socialist of labour supporters would look at the Solidarity, SSP and tempt to change but they are keeping their general support - and even after 8 years of hardly doing anything in government.

Scott2006
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scottish Mail on Sunday

The poll conducted by Scottish Opinion,questionned 1,004 voters in all 73 Scottish Parliament constituencies between April 15th and April 22nd. The Scottish Parliament constituency vote (change since 2007 in brackets) figures in full:

SNP: 40% (+7)
Lab: 33% (+1)
Con: 13% (-4)
Lib: 10% (-6)
Gre: 3%
SSP: 1%

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Doing a search for "SNP 40%" turned up this from the 5th April 2008 that contained the information that 65% want a referendum on independence in the life-time of this parliament.

The SNP at 40% seems to be a level that could be sustained

A YouGov poll carried out during the week north of the border has found a big boost for the SNP and suggests a possible problem for Labour in retaining seats in the country at the next general election.

Like most Scottish polls it is in three parts:-

Westminster General Election with changes on May 2005. SNP 31% (+13): Lab 35% (-5): Con: 17% (+1): Lib: 12% (-11): Oth: 4%

Scottish Parliament constituency vote with changes on the election last May - SNP 40% (+7): Lab: 32% (nc): Con: 12% (-5): LD: 13% (-3): Oth 4%

Scottish Parliament list vote with changes on last May. SNP 33% (+2): Lab 30% (+1): Con 13% (-1): Lib 12% (+1): Oth: 13%

The poll also found that 65% of those questioned wanted a referendum on Scottish independence during the life-time of this parliament.

Perhaps the most worrying numbers for Labour are on Westminster voting intention where swings of the scale suggested could lead to seat losses at a time when the party is likely to be under extreme pressure south of the border.

Added to the boundary changes reducing Labour’s notional majority, dealing with the Tory surge in England any losses to the SNP north of the border just add to the pressure on Brown in retaining an overall majority.

http://politicalbetting.com/index.../yougov-snp-touch-40-in-scotland/
Lewis
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.scotlandvotes.com/ Punch in those results here and you should see it represented well graphically.

Also, I would have expected the Tory vote to increase, not decrease, as the unionist vote in theory would reflect the anger at the Labour party. But only by about 2or 3%. The Labour vote I would have thought would have decreased by 2 or 3% as the SNP are gaining speed and there is a lot of anger at the Labour party. It wouldn't have been too bad a decrease for Labour as tactical voting would show the Unionists may go Labour to keep the SNP out.

Interesting results though. The Lib dems have lost more than I expected.

I would have put it about 39% for SNP, 30% Labour, 16%Con, 12% Lib Dem and 3% others.
chicmac
Nationalist

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lewis wrote:
http://www.scotlandvotes.com/ Punch in those results here and you should see it represented well graphically.

Also, I would have expected the Tory vote to increase, not decrease, as the unionist vote in theory would reflect the anger at the Labour party. But only by about 2or 3%. The Labour vote I would have thought would have decreased by 2 or 3% as the SNP are gaining speed and there is a lot of anger at the Labour party. It wouldn't have been too bad a decrease for Labour as tactical voting would show the Unionists may go Labour to keep the SNP out.

Interesting results though. The Lib dems have lost more than I expected.

I would have put it about 39% for SNP, 30% Labour, 16%Con, 12% Lib Dem and 3% others.

Ha ha!  I plugged in SNP 60.2% and Lab 0% and Lab still got 37 seats.

The model seems just a wee bit rigged in Labour's favour.
Lewis
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aye, it may be because the proportional representation thing still had labour on it.
William_Cleland
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Other way about. Labour still win 37 seats FPTP if all you do is change those numbers on the regional poll so the conspiracy theory doesn't pan out. Because Labour's support is so geographically concentrated, you have to go to 44.2% SNP to 21.2% Labour on the constituency section to wipe out Labour completely without adjusting the other parties.
chicmac
Nationalist

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

William_Cleland wrote:
Other way about. Labour still win 37 seats FPTP if all you do is change those numbers on the regional poll so the conspiracy theory doesn't pan out. Because Labour's support is so geographically concentrated, you have to go to 44.2% SNP to 21.2% Labour on the constituency section to wipe out Labour completely without adjusting the other parties.

Never read it properly, only had time for quick glance.  Thought the two sets were for 2007 and 2011 and just changed the second.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence All times are GMT