Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Police
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Gàidhlig
Abieuan
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 10:46 pm    Post subject: Police Reply with quote

CELTIC LEAGUE - PRESS INFORMATION

IDENTIFY WITH LANGUAGE AND CULTURE SCOTTISH POLICE URGED

As part of the ongoing campaign to ensure that police forces in the
Celtic countries identify and support the language and culture of
the community in which they work the Celtic League General Secretary
has written to the Chief Constable of Central Scotland Police.

Rhisiart Tal-e-bot told Chief Constable Andrew Cameron that the police
form part of the community it serves and as such should reflect the
cultural and linguistic heritage of that local and wider community.

This latest call to 'top cops' to up their act in relation to the
indigenous culture of the areas they serve follows earlier approaches
to forces in Wales and the Isle of Man.

"Dear Chief Constable Andrew Cameron CBE QPM BA

Central Scotland Police: Scottish Gaelic language and cultural commitment

The Celtic League is currently pursuing a campaign to examine how
the police forces in the Celtic countries reflect the respective distinctive
cultural and linguistic heritage in each nation.

So far we have written to all the forces in Cymru/Wales and Mannin/Isle
of Mann, asking them about particular aspects of their forces, especially
their public image. We are generally interested to know how they believe
their forces reflect the distinct cultural and linguistic heritage
of the Celtic nation in which they work and if they would consider
strengthening their public image in this respect.

We believe this campaign is important, because the police form part
of the community it serves and as such should reflect the cultural
and linguistic heritage of that local and wider community.

The League is therefore writing to all the Chief Constables in Alba/Scotland
to ask how, in their opinion, their constabularies reflect the Scottish
Celtic heritage and the Scottish Gaelic language and what commitments
they hold with regard to Scottish identity per se.

We fully appreciate the fact that Central Scotland police are currently
undertaking a community survey of their own, to advise planning over
the next few years in the force, and we thoroughly applaud this effort.
We would like to ask you to consider therefore, as part of this survey
if possible, the following questions:

Why can't I read your official website in Scottish Gaelic?
Why don't your police uniforms and equipment (e.g. vehicles) have
the words 'police' written in Scottish Gaelic alongside English?
Would you consider adopting a distinct Scottish police badge, with
the Scottish flag on it perhaps, as in the case of the new North Wales
police badges?
Are your officers able to attend free classes in Scottish Gaelic as
part of their job, should they wish to do so?
Do you have a specific Gaelic language policy for your force?
How could, in your opinion, the Central Scotland Police force show
more of a commitment to Scottish cultural and linguistic identity?

I think this will be coming sometime.
Correct me if i'm wrong, but i think the Gàelic word for Police is "Polis", just like the neds say "lifted by the Polis".
Wouldn't that be funny if they really had Polis written on their cars and uniforms.  Laughing
kevin04
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Happy  would love to see it as well, I sometimes use the word Polis but I think the gaelic spelling is 'póleis' maybe? also i think in welsh police is 'heddlu' and gardai in Ireland,
Abieuan

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know the following may be drifting into "Uk Politics", but Welsh Police already have Heddlu-Police or Police-Heddlu as their profile on uniforms and cars, isn't it time that at least Northern Constabulary tried to start to catch up with them?

CYMRU - POLICE NATIONAL PROFILE - ENCOURAGING RESPONSES

Several Welsh Police Chiefs have responded to Celtic League suggestions
that they should develop the National profile of their forces in line
with initiatives already taken by the North Wales force in adopting
a distinctive uniform.

The contributions which are set out below are most encouraging. In
particular Gwent Chief Constable, Mike Tonge, makes a significant
contribution when he suggests that the issue should move forward on
an 'all Wales' basis.

Powys Chief Constable, Andrew Richards, also makes a number of pertinent
contributions first by correcting the record and pointing out that
his Force already uses a silver dragon logo on its uniforms. He also
suggests that it is important that any overt stylising of uniform
may convey the wrong image in some (rural) areas.

Although brief both these contributions (which are set out below)
provide valuable 'food for thought'. Certainly, a less ostentatious
symbol which identified the National character of the Police forces
of Wales must be a desirable objective.

"1st February 2008

Dear Mr Tal-e-bot

Thank you for your letter dated 21st January 2008 concerning the adoption
of a distinct Welsh police uniform and badge.

I am grateful for you bringing me up to speed with this interesting
development in North Wales police.

All four Chief Constables in Wales meet to discuss issues on an 'all
Wales' basis and I will ensure this matter is raised at our next meeting.
I will write back to you following this with the outcome of our discussions.

Yours sincerely

Mike Tonge

Chief Constable
Gwent police"

"30th January 2008

Dear Rhisiart

A Distinct Welsh Police Uniform and Badge

Thank you for your letter concerning the above.

I have noted the development of the Red Dragon Flag in North Wales
with interest but would advise you that at this time we have no plans
to introduce such a uniform into this force area.

I have discussed the North Wales uniform with staff here and currently
it is felt to adopt too paramilitary an image in our predominantly
rural force area. I would point out that our uniform does carry the
silver Welsh Dragon which I wear with considerable pride on my own
tunic but we will consider any developments which might improve our
uniforms very carefully.

Thank you for your interest in this matter.

Yours sincerely

Mr Andrew R Edwards

Acting Chief Constable
Powys Police"

I do not understand why the Chief constable (and his staff) in Powys feel that a Red Dragon, rather than their silver one may be wrong for a predominately rural area?
It is a border area, perhaps English people crossing over would feel intimidated, but the silver dragon looks much like the white one (of the English) that the red dragon battled against in mythology.
Cymro
I need ma own bl**dy forum!

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't have much problem with a silver one personally, you can get First Class Stamps here in Wales with a silver one on it. I think it looks very elegent. However, North Wales Police have recently added the Red Dragon to the sleaves of their suits and no real complaints have been raised. Like Dyfed-Powys Police North Wales Police touches the border with England and North East Wales has some very Anglicised areas around the border with Cheshire.

Of all the Police Forces in Wales, North Wales Police under Richard Brunstom have by far done most to encourage and celebrate the Welsh language within it's ranks. Since Brunstom took over it's now essential for all Police Officers to have grasp of the Welsh language from their initial training and in order to get promoted have to show knowledge of the language and be prepared to learn it.
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cymro wrote:
you can get First Class Stamps here in Wales with a silver one on it. I think it looks very elegent.

Yes, we have those with a silver Lion Rampant on it, the second class is better, it's just a wavey Saltire but with a wee silver profile of the Queen's heid in the corner.

Mr Brunstrom is doing a good job of blending his force with the community it serves, i hope some Scottish Police forces will follow his initiative.

I have recently heard call's for Police in Kernow/Cornwall to have Kreslu on their uniforms, but this may be difficult as Cornwall Constabulary was some time ago merged with Devon to make Devon and Cornwall Constabulary.
Why not Cornwall and Devon ?  C comes before D.
Well, they are based in Exeter and are making some Cornish nationalists keep a lower profile at the moment - several arrests have been made without any charges ever pressed.
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

POSITIVE CULTURAL COMMITTMENT BY NORTHERN CONSTABULARY TO COMMUNITY

Scotland's Northern Constabulary has been setting out what it sees
as its positive credentials when it comes to a commitment to language
and culture in Scotland.

This letter (set out below) is addressed to DCC Norma Graham, Fife
Constabulary from Northern Constabulary's Deputy Chief Constable,
A G Sutherland, and is part of a Scotland wide response to queries
from the Celtic League.

The League are in the processing of liaising with all Police Services
in the Celtic countries in an attempt to establish how far they go
to identify with the National language and culture of the communities
they serve.

So far several forces in Wales, Scotland and the Isle of Man have
responded:

"Mrs Norma Graham
Deputy Chief Constable
Secretary - Operational Policing BA
Police Headquarters
Detroit Road
GLENROTHES KY6 2RJ

ACPOS/OP/G3 AGS/AC/DP ACPOS/GP

10th March 2008

Dear Mrs Graham

SCOTTISH GAELIC LANGUAGE AND CULTURAL COMMITMENT

I acknowledge receipt of your letter, dated 29th February 2008, with
enclosures, relating to correspondence received from the Celtic League
relating to the Scottish Police Service's commitment to Gaelic language
and culture.

In terms of our response, it is my intention to cover the specific
questions posed by the Celtic League in turn.

1. Why can't I read your official website in Scottish Gaelic?

Northern Constabulary's website is predominantly in English. However,
provision is made within our site to guide users to our "publications"
section which contains our Public Performance Reports from 2002/03
onwards currently to 2006/07. These documents are available in both
English and Gaelic. Publications are available to the public in both
languages in hard copy or via the website. The decision to promote
our annual report in Gaelic is a long-standing commitment and with
the support of the Northern Joint Police Board is likely to continue.

2. Why don't your police uniforms and equipment (eg vehicles) have
the word "police" written in Scottish Gaelic alongside English?

All Scottish Police Forces use the generic police uniform cap badge
of the Scottish Police Service containing the motto "semper vigilo",
meaning constant vigilance. However, Northern Constabulary serving
the Highlands and Islands of Scotland promotes Gaelic on all its marked
police vehicles, literature and police signs the words "Dion is Cuidich"
meaning "protect and serve".

3. /…

Page -2-

3. Would you consider adopting a distinct Scottish police badge, with
the Scottish flag on it perhaps, as in the case of the new North Wales
police badges?

Northern Constabulary would not consider changing its unique badge
as the one currently used is an adaptation of a celtic design registered
with the Lord Lyon King of Arms. This celtic design depicted the
relationship between the four unitary local authorities of the Northern
Joint Police Board, the then three Divisional Commands and the twelve
operational Sub-Divisions. Whilst our structure has altered slightly,
hence the adapted version of the logo, the coat of arms or badge formally
remains. We would not wish to loose this celtic connection with
our heritage.

4. Are your officers able to attend free classes in Scottish Gaelic
as part of their job, should they so wish to do so?

Officers in Northern Constabulary are able to apply to attend further
education and the Force is committed to continuous professional development
of staff. Our policy of financial commitment to further study is
dependent on the relevance of the course to the job requirements.
That said, over the years a small number of officers have attended
courses in Gaelic at Sabhol Mor Ostaig in Skye. Sabhol Mor Ostaig
is the Gaelic College and part of the network of the proposed University
of the Highlands and Islands.

5. Do you have a specific Gaelic language policy for your Force?

The Force does not have a Gaelic language policy per se. However,
as explained earlier our Public Performance Report is always printed
in Gaelic.

The current Chair of the Northern Joint Police Board, Mr Norman MacLeod,
Councillor, Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar, is a fluent Gaelic speaker
and proponent of Gaelic culture.

The most recent Gaelic MOD was held at An Gearasdan (Fort William)
where the local police representative to the committee was Sergeant
Donald Campbell, a native from the Isle of Barra and a fluent Gaelic
speaker. During the MOD festival three Gaelic speaking officers
were attached to duties to promote strong relationships between our
Force and the Gaelic speaking communities. Every year when the MOD
visits town within the Highlands and Islands, Northern Constabulary
will assist the local and national committees with liaison officers
who are Gaelic speakers. The Force identifies Gaelic as a language
and collects information about officers who have Gaelic as a first
or second language.

6. How could, in your opinion, the Central Scotland Police Force show
more of a commitment to Scottish cultural and linguistic identify?

Northern Constabulary reflects the communities it serves and a large
number of resident Gaelic speakers reside in our Force area. Notwithstanding
this, the Highlands and Islands are committed to promoting Gaelic
through Gaelic medium schools and through the introduction of Gaelic
as a second language. It is not uncommon for new officers and those
who have entered the education system from within, particularly Highland
Council or Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar, to have had an experience of
Gaelic language.

Yours sincerely

A G Sutherland
Deputy Chief Constable"
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Manx police are the latest to respond to the query from the Celtic
League about cultural commitment to the community they serve.

..............I can see the merits in using a Manx word for police on the sides
of vehicles. Indeed, you will see such a phrase on this letterhead.
However at the present time I do not have any plans to change things.

Yours sincerely

Gary Roberts
Deputy Chief Constable"

Well why not?
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CULTURE AND LANGUAGE - TAYSIDE POLICE RESPONSE LACKLUSTRE

Tayside Police are the latest to respond to the query from Celtic
League General Secretary, Rhisiart Tal-e-bot, about cultural committment
and the Celtic languages.

So far responses have come from police serives in Wales, Scotland
and Mann. Most Welsh forces were extremely enthusiastic, whilst Tayside's
colleagues in the Northern Constabulary were most upbeat. Even the
tiny Isle of Man Constabulary were 'cautiously' positive.

On the basis of responses to date it seems Tayside's is the most lacklustre!

"6th March 2008

Tayside Police

Dear Rhisiart

Tayside Police: Scottish Gaelic Language and Cultural Commitment

Thank you for your letter regarding the use of the Gaelic language
and the ramifications for Tayside Police.

Tayside Police support equality and diversity throughout the organisation
and have a range of policy and guidance documents that support and
underpin these issues, and which acknowledge the religious, cultural
and linguistic needs of all our members of staff.

Whilst we have an ever increasing demand for linguistic services I
am not aware of any previous requirement for a Gaelic language speaker,
or indeed any additional requirement for bilingual signage.

I hope that this assists you with your research and I am grateful
to have the opportunity to respond.

Yours sincerely

Colin McCashey
Chief Superintendent
Divisional Commander"

Sad
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SCOTTISH POLICE FORCES: SCOTTISH GAELIC LANGUAGE AND CULTURAL COMMITMENT

The Association of Chief Police Officers in Scotland (ACPOS) has sent
a comprehensive response to the Celtic League's query about commitment
to Gaelic language and culture. The correspondence is set out in full
below and complements earlier responses from individual forces in
Wales, Scotland and Mann.

"Dear Rhisiart,

SCOTTISH FORCES: SCOTTISH GAELIC LANGUAGE AND CULTURAL COMMITMENT

I refer to your correspondence dated 15 February 2008 which you addressed
to all Scottish Chief Constables in connection with the above subject.
I can advise that this response reflects the composite views of all
forces in Scotland with the exception of Strathclyde Police, who I
believe has responded separately to you.

Members agree there is no doubt that Gaelic continues to play a fundamental
part in Scottish life and legitimately claims its place as one of
our national languages. The language and culture is spread predominantly
throughout Northern Constabulary, which has a large number of resident
Gaelic speakers within its boundaries, and part of the Strathclyde
Police area. However, within other Scottish Police forces, the percentage
of persons, who speak, read, write and understand Gaelic, is low and
consequently, in these latter forces, Gaelic is included in languages
available through current interpreting and translation provisions.

For the reasons previously stated, the majority of Police Force websites
are predominantly in English. Notwithstanding, Northern Constabulary
have made provision within their site to guide users to the 'publications'
section, which contains their Public Performance Reports from 2002
/ 03 onwards, that are available in both English and Gaelic. Hard
copies of publications are also available in both languages and the
decision by the force to promote their Annual Report in Gaelic is
a long-standing commitment.

All Scottish Police forces have adopted the generic Scottish Police
Badge, which is the Thistle of Scotland surmounted by a Crown with
the motto Semper Vigilo on a scroll below. In addition to the foregoing,
and promoting Gaelic on all its marked vehicles, literature and police
signs with the words 'Dion is Cuidich', meaning 'protect and serve',
Northern Constabulary have a unique force badge. This is an adaptation
of a Celtic design registered with the Lord Lyon King of Arms and
consequently they would not wish to lose this Celtic connection with
their heritage.

Although there is not a Gaelic language policy in place, Northern
Constabulary identifies Gaelic as a language and collects information
about officers who have Gaelic as a first or second language. In
addition, when the MOD Festival visits towns within the Highlands
and Islands, the force assists local and national committees by providing
liaison officers who are fluent Gaelic speakers.

Police officers are also encouraged and supported, where appropriate,
towards any learning and development opportunities, relevant to their
duties and functions.

In conclusion, Scottish Police Forces are keen to ensure the service
provided is all encompassing both for the public and staff, and in
particular, all non-English speaking multi cultural communities.
Therefore should evidence emerge to identify a specific need to service
requirements for Gaelic within communities, it will receive appropriate
consideration and attention.

I trust that the foregoing is of assistance to you.

Yours sincerely

Harry Bunch
General Secretary"

So, it's Northern Constabulary does alright so nothing's going to change.

As for Northern Constabulary having a Celtic logo, only those who fought against the Jacobites were allowed to wear the kilt - to try and give them legitimasy - but they had to swear an oath to the Hanoverians.

Nothing is going to change in Alba for now.
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some good news!
From Mannin:

GAELIC ON MANX POLICE VEHICLES

The Celtic League has warmly welcomed a move by the Isle of Man Constabulary to put Manx Gaelic markings on all its vehicles.

The Manx force was one of a number of Police Services throughout the
Celtic countries which have been lobbied by the League's General Secretary,
Rhisiart Tal-e-bot, over their attitude to Celtic culture and language.

Recently the Isle of Man Constabulary outlined the new move - see
below:

"21st April 2008

Dear Mr Tal-e-bot

Further to our previous correspondence, I am pleased to be able to
inform you that the Constabulary intends to place the Manx Gaelic
phrase "Meoiryn Shee-Ellan Vannin" onto all of its marked police cars.

Work will be undertaken when vehicles undergo routine maintenance
with a likely completion date being towards the end of the Summer

Yours sincerely

Gary Roberts
Deputy Chief Constable
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Manx criminal underworld will be shaken to its foundations.

How many people will be able to read the new signs?
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps few at first, but given time after seeing them day in-day out, i would expect most people on the island will understand it.

It will no doubt be explained to all future school children on Mannin too.

A small step, but in the right direction for Manx Gaelic.
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Abieuan wrote:
Perhaps few at first, but given time after seeing them day in-day out, i would expect most people on the island will understand it.

It will no doubt be explained to all future school children on Mannin too.

A small step, but in the right direction for Manx Gaelic.

Is a it a step in the right direction for Manx taxpayers, who will have to pay for the new signs?
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agentmancuso wrote;
Is a it a step in the right direction for Manx taxpayers, who will have to pay for the new signs?

In the long run the new logo's won't be any more expensive than the present ones - but they will be better.
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Abieuan wrote:
In the long run the new logo's won't be any more expensive than the present ones - but they will be better.

I am unsure why a logo that nobody can read should be better than a logo that everyone can read. And there will be a sum of taxpayers money handed over to pay for these new signs in the near future. Is there really no more urgent cause to which the money could be directed?
Abieuan

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2008 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agentmancuso wrote;
I am unsure why a logo that nobody can read should be better than a logo that everyone can read.

The point is, agentmancuso, that soon almost everybody on the island will be able to read it.
This will be to the good of the national identity and to the community as a whole.
Yes, a very small sum of money will be required to change over, but then it will cost no more or no less than the current logo does.
Is there really no more urgent cause to which the money could be directed?

It seems the Manx Police don't  think so.
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Abieuan wrote:
This will be to the good of the national identity and to the community as a whole.

How so? What's the point of it?

It seems the Manx Police don't  think so.

They seem very keen to help, for an occupying imperialist force.
Cymro
I need ma own bl**dy forum!

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agent, you make some comment saying that no one will be able to understand what the Manx word for Police is. Well how do you know?

While the number of fluent Manx speakers may be very low that doesn't take into consideration those on the island with some graps of the language, people who understand individual words - like Police.

The Police Force as a Public Body that deals directly with the public on the island have a responsibility to reflect the lingustic nature of the island. As I said while the numbers who speak it at this moment in time may be low, these kind of initiatives in a small way are able to give the language just that little bit more 'status' and just that little bit more presence which could help in ensuring the language survives.

Don't see it as a problem, see it as something you needent worry your little Winnie the Pook socks about
agentmancuso
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cymro wrote:
Agent, you make some comment saying that no one will be able to understand what the Manx word for Police is. Well how do you know?

I asked Abieuan. He said 'very few'. According to Wiki 1,689 people have some Manx Gaelic, and 59 (fifty-nine) are considered native speakers. That's 2.2% of the population of the Isle of Man.

The Police Force as a Public Body that deals directly with the public on the island have a responsibility to reflect the lingustic nature of the island.

The linguistic nature of the island is that everyone (76,315) speak English fluently, and one bus load speaks Manx.

Don't see it as a problem

It is always a problem when taxpayers' money is spent on pointless identity gimmicks.
Abieuan

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agentmancuso wrote;

I replied,
Perhaps few at first

However, the full logo is,
"Meoiryn Shee - Ellan Vannin".
The second part will be understood by every Manx person on the island (perhaps with the exeption of a mini-bus load).  It is the name of the island they live on.
agentmancuso wrote;
It is always a problem when taxpayers' money is spent on pointless identity gimmicks

Why is it a problem for you?
Manx taxpayers pay their (very low) taxes to the Manx Treasury and not to the UK Treasury.
I have heard of no complaints from Manx taxpayers and the new logos are welcomed by Manx people.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Gàidhlig All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2