Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
Holebender I need ma own bl**dy forum!
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 8:47 am Post subject: |
Single-handed? She had help for all her Unionist pals.
_________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
William_Cleland I really have nothing else to do!!!

Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 8:50 am Post subject: |
Before you guys get too excited, bear in mind that the person who frames the legislation gets to set the question and you only need to look at opinion poll data to see the kind of influence that can have. The Tories appear to be dead set against it so the Lib Dems, the Greens and Margo all have to back it for it to happen because otherwise it would all boil down to the Presiding Officer's casting vote and he's a Tory. Probably still a long shot at this point in other words.
Last edited by William_Cleland on Wed May 07, 2008 11:37 am; edited 1 time in total |
Dave Coull Independentista
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 10:40 am Post subject: |
The official reason for not pressing ahead with a referendum "now" is that "people are entitled to judge the SNP on their performance in government first". But the whole point of a referendum is that it gives people the chance to answer a single question, without committing themselves on a hundred other questions. In a referendum, they can vote for independence without committing themselves one way or the other on plans for large golf parks in the North East of Scotland. In a referendum, they can vote for independence without thinking that a local income tax is the best idea since sliced bread. A referendum is about whether we should be independent, NOT about which political party should form the government of an independent Scotland.
Some months ago myself and three colleagues held a small demonstration at the Scottish Parliament, advocating "REFERENDUM NOW - INDEPENDENCE - YES OR NO". I could scarcely believe my eyes when I read that Wendy Alexander has abandoned her earlier opposition and come round to supporting this demand. I can still hardly believe it's real, but it's a fact that, on taking office at Westminster in 1997, the Labour Party did manage to organise a referendum on a Scottish parliament within a few months. It would be ironic indeed if the Scottish Government allows itself to get into a position of appearing to be the ones favouring delay - and it would be even more ironic if "independent" campaigning groups such as the Scottish Independence Convention should get themselves into a position of appearing to go along with this.
There is going to be a referendum on independence. That is now pretty much a certainty. There will be arguments about the timing. There will be arguments about the wording of the question. There may be attempts to add conditions. But it is looking like, sooner or later, and perhaps sooner than some had thought possible, a referendum bill could get through the Scottish Parliament.
This creates an entirely new situation. Both the National Conversation sponsored by the SNP government and the Calman Commission backed by the Labour Party now look as if they are struggling to have very much in the way of a purpose.
In this new situation, those of us who have been campaigning, on a non-party-political basis, for a referendum on independence, and with the intention of campaigning for independence in that referendum, have to reconsider our priorities.
It now becomes vitally important to ensure that the referendum question is not loaded. We have to keep up the pressure for a simple, straightforward, independence-yes-or-no type question.
We also have to insist that the result of the referendum should be based on a simple majority. None of that counting the dead (but still on the Electoral Register) as “no” votes, as happened in 1979.
We also have to start thinking about what part, individually and collectively, we will be playing in the actual campaign for the “yes”, or pro-independence, vote in the referendum itself. |

Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 11:31 am Post subject: |
| Dave Coull wrote: | | ....There is going to be a referendum on independence. That is now pretty much a certainty..... |
Definitely difficult for Labour to say no to one now in 2010, which is probably why a Westminster MP is quoted off the record as saying that she "must be off her head". She maybe hopes that this will lead to a fundie vs gradualist split in the SNP in the interim but I suspect there are plenty of people in the Labour party who disagree vehemently with what she is doing so it could boomerang on her. |
Reluctant Hero Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 11:44 am Post subject: |
It would be one of the greatest travesties in recent political history if given the current situation we are in, no referendum on independence takes place.
The fear I have is that if Alexander brings forward her own parliamentary bill and the SNP vote against it (because they don't like the wording or something) then in 2010 when the SNP bring forward their bill, Labour vote against it.
Then we will have no referendum and a lot of pissed off people. _________________ Visit the Our Scotland Blog at http://our-scotland.blogspot.com/ |
Shagpile No Longer a Wean
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 11:55 am Post subject: Re: Bring On Referendum - Alexander |
| Aventinian wrote: | | Shagpile wrote: | | I'm sure you wont be surprised that I dissagree here Aventinian. |
I did mentally and physically prepare myself for that possibility before making my post, however I must say that despite this I am both shocked and appalled. The temerity! |
| Aventinian wrote: | | Shagpile wrote: | | If Scotland had been independent we would possibly not have seen the demise of our manufacturing industry |
Oh yes we would! Socialists fail to appreciate it, but it wasn't Margaret Thatcher who destroyed our manufacturing industry, it was a rather inevitably and frankly quite obvious consequence of globalisation and increased affluence.
| Quote: | | the neglect of our infrastructure, nor the closure of our rail network. |
What of our rail network? Last I checked we still had one. Admittedly a good few branch lines closed off, including my own - if they didn't fall within a reasonable profitability, then I doubt any government in Scotland would've preserved them.
That's the wonderful thing about these fantasy scenarios: you can spend high (excellent rail network) yet apparently cut taxes (retaining manufacturing and keeping business from relocating) without acknowledging the contradiction. |
If Scotland had been governed with Scottish interests at the top of the agenda, I don't believe the effects of what you oppin (and there is validity there) would have been so drastic. It's hypethetical though and only my oppinion.
| Shagpile wrote: | | We would certainly not have seen Scottish firms paid UK subsidies to relocate south of the border. |
| Aventinian wrote: | | When did that happen? |
http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0WVI/is_/ai_59214077
Viasystems received between £17m and £20m to relocate to Tyneside under the regional assistance scheme..... where you have schemes, you will find schemers. These ones were in the Labour party.
When this grant is awarded, it's not supposed to leave the original site in need of regional assistance. |
Alasdair 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 12:02 pm Post subject: |
| Reluctant Hero wrote: | | BBC reporting that Alexander is thinking about bringing forward her own parliamentary bill for a referendum on independence. |
It's doubtful that she'll be able to do that, she'll need the backing of an SNP, Tory or Lib Dem MSP to proceed with it, and aside from that parliamentary rules don't allow such bill's where the government is planning it's own legislation in the lifetime of the parliament ... thanks to the bbc for that tid-bit.
And now, following PMQ's, Brown has refused to endorse Alexander's position, going so far as to deny that she wants a referendum now!?! _________________ "We look to Scotland for all our ideas of civilisation." - Voltaire |
Alasdair 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 12:09 pm Post subject: |
| Dave Coull wrote: | | It now becomes vitally important to ensure that the referendum question is not loaded. We have to keep up the pressure for a simple, straightforward, independence-yes-or-no type question. |
Unless alexander is forced to 'resign' it'll almost certainly be a two option (yes or no) referendum as this is now alexander's stated preference ... which is great given that any STV or multi-option ballot is a bloody nonsense regardless of outcome
| Dave Coull wrote: | | We also have to insist that the result of the referendum should be based on a simple majority. None of that counting the dead (but still on the Electoral Register) as “no” votes, as happened in 1979. |
I doubt it could happen again, the game has changed wildly since then and I don't think that any party involved would find this acceptable. The fact that it happened before and is branded in the memories of many (not mine I'm too young ) should ensure that it doesn't happen this time around ... you would hope!
We also have to start thinking about what part, individually and collectively, we will be playing in the actual campaign for the “yes”, or pro-independence, vote in the referendum itself.[/quote] _________________ "We look to Scotland for all our ideas of civilisation." - Voltaire |
doodells No Longer a Wean

Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 12:16 pm Post subject: |
It sounds like wendy (or someone close) has had a brain-wave, risky but probably more effective than anything else she could come up with. She has finally realised that the SNP and their serious threat of independence will not go away. The Scottish Labour Party have realised that the commission can not be relied upon so they must get involved if they want to have any input or control over the timetable and details of the referendum. Its simply a matter of getting involved in something that is inevitable.
But does she really think that everyone is that stupid? Or is she just hoping that certain newspapers will cooperate in pressurising the SNP and forget her complete opposition to the referendum?
Scotland has waited long enough for a referendum, I don't see any harm in Salmond holding off for 2 more years especially if he thinks there is more chance of a yes vote.
Wendy says they are standing in the way of the Scottish people's right to vote down the independence question. I say Wendy is regurgitating Salmond's words and I dont believe people are as shallow as her. _________________ "Scotland alone remains the ragged trousered philanthropist of petroleum economies." |

Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 1:47 pm Post subject: |
| Alasdair wrote: | ....and aside from that parliamentary rules don't allow such bill's where the government is planning it's own legislation in the lifetime of the parliament ... thanks to the bbc for that tid-bit.
And now, following PMQ's, Brown has refused to endorse Alexander's position, going so far as to deny that she wants a referendum now!?! |
Laughing my head off at that. She is now on very thin ice. Always looked very like her trying to win back the initiative in terms of controlling the agenda of the Labour Party in Scotland to me after Gordon Brown had been weakened by a major electoral setback south of the border.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/7387669.stm |
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 2:21 pm Post subject: |
doodells wrote “Scotland has waited long enough for a referendum” - indeed it has. All the more reason not to have even more delay.
“I don't see any harm in Salmond holding off for 2 more years especially if he thinks there is more chance of a yes vote” .
The harm is that this can look like it is being done for party political reasons, yet a referendum is supposed to be a non-party-political matter. The official reason for not pressing ahead with a referendum sooner is that "people are entitled to judge the SNP on their performance in government first". But the whole point of a referendum is that it gives people the chance to answer a single question, without committing themselves on a hundred other questions. In a referendum, people can vote for independence without committing themselves one way or the other on plans for large golf parks in the North East of Scotland. In a referendum, people can vote for independence without thinking that a local income tax is the best idea since sliced bread. A referendum is about whether we should be independent, NOT about which political party should form the government of Scotland.
I don’t know if you’re old enough to remember this (I am) but when Harold Wilson’s Labour government called a referendum on the “Common Market”, he recognised that the Labour Party were split on the issue, and he allowed senior members of his government to campaign on opposite sides in that referendum. The “yes” campaign had Labour, Tory, Liberal, etc, prominently involved, and so did the “no” campaign.
THAT is what Alex Salmond should be challenging Wendy, and the other unionist party leaders, to do, to allow not just a free vote but to allow members of their party to campaign on opposite sides in the referendum, without any reprisals being taken. And don’t tell me there are no Labour members who would support independence. I happen to know different.
Appearing to delay a referendum for what look like party political reasons plays into the hands of those who want the referendum conducted purely on party-political lines. It also gives an impression of being worried about the outcome, which is completely the wrong thing to do. For if the trumpet sound an uncertain note, who shall prepare himself for battle? |
agentmancuso Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Joined: 06 Sep 2006 Posts: 2008 Location: Darkest Lanarkshire
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 4:52 pm Post subject: |
| Dave Coull wrote: | | The “yes” campaign had Labour, Tory, Liberal, etc, prominently involved, and so did the “no” campaign. |
Any details on Liberal involvement in the 'No' campaign? The Liberal Party was as a whole committedly pro-European, as is its successor party, the Liberal Democrats.
It was probably interaction between the Liberal Party and the (sensible) pro-European wing of Labour during the referendum which led to the formation of the SDP, and hence eventually the Liberal Democrats, in the first place.
| Quote: | | For if the trumpet sound an uncertain note, who shall prepare himself for battle? |
Me, for one. Striking imagery Mr Coull. _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |
agentmancuso Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Joined: 06 Sep 2006 Posts: 2008 Location: Darkest Lanarkshire
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 4:55 pm Post subject: |
| William_Cleland wrote: | | Given the fact that waiting to 2010 was the keystone of the SNP's election manifesto she also appears to have a shaky grasp of how parliamentary democracy is supposed to operate. This doesn't look like well thought out strategy to me. More like a kneejerk response to a panic attack when the realisation that the Tories are likely to win power at Westminster in 2010 sunk in. |
Yes, very probably. The Evil Unionist Press says
| Quote: | Roll up, roll up for Wendo, the amazing one-woman circus act.
Thrill as she performs a U-turn with double twist on the political high wire. Gasp as she spins on the trapeze, just avoiding an accidental slip that could make Scotland independent. Shudder as she fearlessly places her head in the jaws of fiasco. Scratch your head as you try to figure out what on earth she's playing at. |
Which is a pretty accurate description.
More here, thanks to Bernard Salmon. _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 5:36 pm Post subject: |
Agentmancuso wrote "Striking imagery Mr Coull".
I remember Maggie Thatcher using the quote, but she didn't invent it any more than I did. Paul's First Epistle to the Corinthians, Chapter 14, Verse 8. |

Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 9:34 pm Post subject: |
Today in PMQ's, Brown denied that Alexander had said that she wanted a referendum, yet last night on Newsnight she told Brewer that she had agreed it with Brown.
Labour are a shambles at the moment.
Although Salmond is calling for Alexander to go, he may well want her to stay in the hotseat for a long time yet as the amount of political gain he is getting from her is better than he could ever have imagined. _________________ Visit the Our Scotland Blog at http://our-scotland.blogspot.com/ |
chicmac Gaining a Reputation........
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 10:52 pm Post subject: |
| Reluctant Hero wrote: | Today in PMQ's, Brown denied that Alexander had said that she wanted a referendum, yet last night on Newsnight she told Brewer that she had agreed it with Brown.
Labour are a shambles at the moment.
Although Salmond is calling for Alexander to go, he may well want her to stay in the hotseat for a long time yet as the amount of political gain he is getting from her is better than he could ever have imagined. |
Salmond has not called for Alexander to go.
What he said was, that if Nicola was asked whether Wendy's position was untenable after PMQs this afternoon the only rational answer could be 'no'.
i.e. an honest answer (the unusuallness, for politicians, which he even commented on to that effect). |

Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 10:59 pm Post subject: |
According to the Beeb, he said this, which is as good as calling for her to go.
| Quote: | But Scottish First Minister Alex Salmond said something now "had to give".
He added: "The positions of Wendy Alexander and the prime minister are incompatible. This claimed agreement is clearly not there.
"Either she has to go, he has to go or they both have to go and I suspect he wants to stay so I think she's now in a very difficult position."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/7387669.stm _________________ Visit the Our Scotland Blog at http://our-scotland.blogspot.com/ |
chicmac Gaining a Reputation........
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 11:18 pm Post subject: |
| Reluctant Hero wrote: | According to the Beeb, he said this, which is as good as calling for her to go.
| Quote: | But Scottish First Minister Alex Salmond said something now "had to give".
He added: "The positions of Wendy Alexander and the prime minister are incompatible. This claimed agreement is clearly not there.
"Either she has to go, he has to go or they both have to go and I suspect he wants to stay so I think she's now in a very difficult position."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/7387669.stm |
Aye, but that, like the earlier accusation made by Brewer of Nicola, is NOT him calling for Wendy's head, it is simply him giving an honest appraisal of the outcome of a Labour mess of their own making.
There is a difference. or don't you see it? |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4413 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 11:37 pm Post subject: |
| Alasdair wrote: | | And now, following PMQ's, Brown has refused to endorse Alexander's position, going so far as to deny that she wants a referendum now!?! |
Indeed - and that exchange in full:
| Quote: | Mr. David Cameron (Witney) (Con): I join the Prime Minister in paying tribute to Trooper Ratu Babakobau, who was killed in Afghanistan on Friday.
The whole House will also want to send our condolences to everyone caught up in the Burmese cyclone. The Prime Minister knows that he will have the full support of those on the Opposition Benches in any action needed for the aid and assistance that clearly will be necessary.
I join the Prime Minister in congratulating my hon. Friend the Member for Henley (Mr. Johnson) on his magnificent victory. I am sure the Prime Minister has always secretly wanted to see the back of Ken Livingstone, and I am sure he will have a fruitful relationship with my hon. Friend. [AN HON. MEMBER: “Will you?”] Indeed. Following Thursday’s elections, the Prime Minister said that he would listen and lead, so let me start with an issue of leadership. Labour’s leader in Scotland, Wendy Alexander, says that there should be a referendum now on Scottish independence. Does he agree with her?
The Prime Minister: That is not what she has said. The Conservative party, the Liberal party and the Labour party have joined together in setting up the Calman review, the commission on devolution. I hope that we can see progress in that commission, and we will review the progress before making any further decisions. I thought that that was the policy of the Conservative party, which supported the commission.
Mr. Cameron: I think the Prime Minister is losing touch with reality. This is what Wendy Alexander said:
“I don’t fear the verdict of the Scottish people,”
she told BBC Scotland on Sunday,
“Bring it on.”
What else could that possibly mean? Can I ask the Prime Minister again? Does he agree with Wendy Alexander or not? It is not much of a leadership if no one is really following him.
The Prime Minister: The Calman commission has been set up to review the progress of devolution. I believe that all parties in the House will welcome the fact that it is looking at all these issues. When we review the progress of the Calman commission, we can make further decisions.
What the leader of the Labour party in Scotland was pointing to was the hollowness of the Scottish National party, which said that it wanted independence, said that it wanted it immediately, and now wants to postpone a referendum until 2010–11. That is what she was pointing out. She was making it clear that what the Scottish National party was doing was against its election manifesto.
Mr. Cameron: The one thing that people thought about this Prime Minister was that he was quite a good political fixer—and he has now lost control of the Scottish Labour party. So there has been no leadership on the Union. |
Sounds like it's being rather quickly backpeddled.
Someone really ought to collar Wendy and ask what the bloody hell is going on. It's nothing short of ludicrous that there's this amount of doubt over what she meant on such a subject. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really mean—power over people, power to the State.' |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4413 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Thu May 08, 2008 12:00 am Post subject: |
Also notable today - on the Daily Politics, Brian Wilson, former Scotland Office minister, made the point that it is not within the powers of the Scottish Parliament to have a referendum and whilst a debate and vote may be held on approving the idea, it was ultimately down to Westminster to grant.
Andy Burnham, the SoS for Culture, Media and Sport, representing the cabinet, seemed to agree with this analysis, as did Nick Robinson - who made something of a lengthy speech on it. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really mean—power over people, power to the State.' |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum