Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Ten Good reasons for Independence
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 11, 12, 13  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Aventinian"]
Scotland won its independence which it maintains to this day - it has never been under the dominion of any foreign power.

Right noo take aff yer Union flag tinted glasses an hae another attempt at that.Never heard so much bollocks in my life.

x_scotsdream_x
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aventinian - i was being polite in my posts you were just plain rude everyone is allowed an opinion you obviously are a unionist i obviously am a nationalist therefore why dont we agree to disagree eh? and if you would care to read my posts Im 19 years old and still learning a lot and apologised if i sounded a bit daft however i am not stupid so please dont patronise me and lets get back to making some valid intillectual points eh!

Abieuan

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinian wrote:
what has HM Government done to instill this lack of self confidence in you? I'd imagine it'd be Holyrood - responsible for education and patronising initiatives - that'd have done this to you.

If you really lack self-confidence, I suggest you go and see some sort of mental health expert - hell, I imagine the London Government will even pay for it.

I was not saying that i have a lack of self-confidence, (I am an SNP member) but that many people who vote for Unionist parties do so as they have told by HM Government members for generations that Scotland is "too small" and could never go it alone in the world.
Time For Reincarnation

Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

x_scotsdream_x wrote:
aventinian - i was being polite in my posts you were just plain rude everyone is allowed an opinion you obviously are a unionist i obviously am a nationalist therefore why dont we agree to disagree eh? and if you would care to read my posts Im 19 years old and still learning a lot and apologised if i sounded a bit daft however i am not stupid so please dont patronise me and lets get back to making some valid intillectual points eh!

I will not patronise you for your age. I've met people who are intelligent and mature before their 19th birthday, I can assure you.

However, I will not let you make racist comments without at least criticising you for them. What you said was certainly not a 'valid intellectual point' - in fact, it was the intellectual equivilent of someone complain about there being too many blacks walking down the street these days.

Abieuan wrote:
I was not saying that i have a lack of self-confidence, (I am an SNP member) but that many people who vote for Unionist parties do so as they have told by HM Government members for generations that Scotland is "too small" and could never go it alone in the world.

So you'd rather have the sheep herded by a government in Edinburgh than a government in London? That sounds distinctly pointless to me.
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aventinian wrote:
I will not patronise you for your age. I've met people who are intelligent and mature before their 19th birthday, I can assure you.

But when someone openly admits to expressing a somewhat naive opinion and is looking for feedback, it is only polite to treat them in the same manner.

However, I will not let you make racist comments without at least criticising you for them. What you said was certainly not a 'valid intellectual point' - in fact, it was the intellectual equivilent of someone complain about there being too many blacks walking down the street these days.[/quote]
Surely anti-English comments are regionalist rather than racist, no Wink ? It's like an Edinburger complaining about all the weegies in the capital nowadays, no? Racism is very different, it involves having an opinion on someone based purely on their race. Very different from the concern about someones political persuasion based on the fact that they come from a different country. Do you think that the USA is racist because they won't let someone born outwith the US become president? As nationalist we believe that the interests of Scotland and her people (including those born outwith Scotland) are best served through Independence. Surely it is understandable that having those in positions of influence from that nation we are in Union with might lead to a possible conflict of interest? Holly came here expressing an opinion, but with an open mind. I've tried to explain that in science, there isn't really and issue. However in other areas of life (directly political or media based) the case might be different.

Aventinian wrote:
So you'd rather have the sheep herded by a government in Edinburgh than a government in London? That sounds distinctly pointless to me.

I would. Why pay our taxes for an incompetent political class in London when we can employ all those folk locally and feed some of that money back into the local economy? So even if we gain nothing in terms of political change, I think that is a benefit. Of course you know fine well that all nats believe that Independence will produce a positive change to governance.
sandmountainslim
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Wolf of Badenoch"]
Aventinian wrote:

Scotland won its independence which it maintains to this day - it has never been under the dominion of any foreign power.

Right noo take aff yer Union flag tinted glasses an hae another attempt at that.Never heard so much bollocks in my life.

Maintains to this day? Confused Not since the Act of Union I am sad to say Crying or Very sad
Alba will be free again however, bet yer arse on that!
Jefferson Republican Party
http://jeffersonrepublicanparty.com
http://jeffersonrepublican.blogspot.com/
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

x_scotsdream_x wrote:
Keeping in mind i am 19 years old - i am still very passionate about our country and all of my friends agree with me.

Out of interest, are you or any of your pals members of any poitical parties?
x_scotsdream_x
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG - not as of yet were all open minded (this is why im on this iste is to learn but obviously aventinian has problems dealing with this) lol Very Happy

Aventinian - i am not racist a dont have a racist bone in ma body and if u would care to actually read what a said in that post you would see that a said i do not hate the whole of england i hate the things that they try to do to scotland AND i apologised if i sounded racist as it was not meant to sound racist. You obviously did not agree with what i said but surely even i at 19 years old am intellectual and mature enough to have a decent debate without falling out and getting personal? stop grabbin onti something that isnt worth grabbing onto as it is not a valid point that you are making? i was not racist - i merely stated that i was sick of all of the english trying to change the way things are done THATS ALL.

Again, no offence and apologies to anyone who may be offended by my earlier post - i am still young and daft Very Happy

True Scotsman
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do not worry x_scotsdream_x you are not the only youngster here. I am 18 years old. So you're age is something to be ashamed & I think there will be quite a few young people on this forum.

True Scotsman
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry there x_scotsdream_x I made one mistake on my last post. There was one word that that was wrong. It should be nothing to be ashamed off not something. Sorry about that.

x_scotsdream_x
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

True Scotsman - call me holly its a lot easier LOL aye cheers eh!kidden! age is only a number a just use it as an excuse for ma daftyness ahahaha Very Happy
redlak
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is for Scotsdream I can only applaud you and all of your freinds for engaging in debate about the prospects and future of Scotland,let me assure you I have great faith in the people of Scotland regardless of age,creed or colour to find the answers and voting for independence.

It is right and proper you should ask questions, we who are older have a responsibility to impart our knowledge in a sensible manner witout being condescening or patronising.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

redlak wrote:
this is for Scotsdream I can only applaud you and all of your freinds for engaging in debate about the prospects and future of Scotland,let me assure you I have great faith in the people of Scotland regardless of age,creed or colour to find the answers and voting for independence.

It is right and proper you should ask questions, we who are older have a responsibility to impart our knowledge in a sensible manner witout being condescening or patronising.

I have to say that this is probably one of the best posts I've seen on this board - and I've made a high % of them myself and looked at every single one so I should know!

I'm happy we're attracting people like scotsdream to this board - that's why I set these forums up after all. You want to learn - and there are many good people here that will be only too happy to help you to.

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
x_scotsdream_x
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot redlak! since joinin the forum i felt that ad been a bit ae a pest causin a riff wi aventinian n whatnot so its nice and encouraging to know theres people as nice as yourselves to help folks like me out! Plus i agree with ye 100% i have every faith that our naition will one day unite together and gain independance, whether its now or 10 years down the line it will happen!

rs_azzuri - Thanks a lot to you too, its very much appreciated! and its nice to actually find a forum of people who are actually willing to help people like maself oot, this site has been forwarded and recommended to all my friends and family for your kindness and you should take pride in the site cos its really good! Very Happy

Pericles
Finding Ma' Way

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An independent Scotland SOUNDS all very nice but lets face reality here and admit that Scotland wouldn't last 5 minutes without England.
England is already having to bail her out continuously since devolution and this is a sure sign that She isn't ready for devolution yet LET ALONE the crazy ga ga idea of independence.
I guess that we knew that Scotland would have this problem when the NHS started emptying the assylums! <laugh>
Pericles
Finding Ma' Way

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pericles wrote:
An independent Scotland SOUNDS all very nice but lets face reality here and admit that Scotland wouldn't last 5 minutes without England.
England is already having to bail her out continuously since devolution and this is a sure sign that She isn't ready for devolution yet LET ALONE the crazy ga ga idea of independence.
I guess that we knew that Scotland would have this problem when the NHS started emptying the assylums! <laugh>

It is no suprise to note that Wallace was actually facing ENGLAND when he cried 'Freedom'! Razz

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pericles wrote:

Ony chance ae ye backing that staement up wi facts or are ye just oan here tae post a lot ae bollocks an make a complete arse oot yersel?
I take it the asylum yer talkin` aboot is the wan that ye escaped fae.

Did ye no ken that quoting yersel an replying in all likelyhoods means your aff yer heid?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Groan - going fishing are we? Rolling Eyes

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
wisnaeme
This is Ma' Life!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 5:22 pm    Post subject: Dross. Reply with quote

Pericles wrote:

Having an opinion on a subject without the means to verify that opinion with facts from known and prooved sources which can be substantiated is regarded by most sane and intelligent folk as pish.So "Pericles" where's the substance for yer pish coming frae? Eh.
Time For Reincarnation

Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sandmountainslim wrote:
Maintains to this day? Confused Not since the Act of Union I am sad to say Crying or Very sad
Alba will be free again however, bet yer arse on that!

The Act of Union united two countries. The Wars of Independence were, as I'm sure everyone knows via the Declaration of Arbroath, to prevent Scotland being under the dominion of another country - which has yet to happen.

Alba? One of those Gaelic cultural imperialists, are you?

[quote="SLG"]Surely anti-English comments are regionalist rather than racist, no Wink ? It's like an Edinburger complaining about all the weegies in the capital nowadays, no? Racism is very different, it involves having an opinion on someone based purely on their race. Very different from the concern about someones political persuasion based on the fact that they come from a different country. [/quotes]

Ach, it's fairly common usage.

Races were pseudo-science anyway. It would certainly be entertaining if the only people who you could be racist against were someone of another of the supposed three racial groups...

Do you think that the USA is racist because they won't let someone born outwith the US become president?

Actually to an extent I do believe that law was designed to discriminate based on race and culture.

I would. Why pay our taxes for an incompetent political class in London when we can employ all those folk locally and feed some of that money back into the local economy?

Haha. Good answer.

x_scotsdream_x wrote:
Aventinian - i am not racist a dont have a racist bone in ma body and if u would care to actually read what a said in that post you would see that a said i do not hate the whole of england i hate the things that they try to do to scotland AND i apologised if i sounded racist as it was not meant to sound racist. You obviously did not agree with what i said but surely even i at 19 years old am intellectual and mature enough to have a decent debate without falling out and getting personal? stop grabbin onti something that isnt worth grabbing onto as it is not a valid point that you are making? i was not racist - i merely stated that i was sick of all of the english trying to change the way things are done THATS ALL.

In case you haven't noticed, the most racist comments are often preceded by the phrase 'I'm not a racist or anything, but...'

You indicated an emotive response to English people daring to be employed as academics in Scotland - and I did the same to you. In both cases, the response seemed to be disgust.

Pericles wrote:

Despite the general arseishness of your post, I agree to some extent.

I find it quite interesting how devolution has never done anything new or different, it has just been given more money by the UK Parliament to throw at problems - which is what the rest of the UK would be doing if it was similarly graced.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 3 of 13