azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 9:16 pm Post subject: |
a sensible decision for once where the executive were able to look further than the end of their nose. _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |
Aventinian Time For Reincarnation

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4570 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:59 pm Post subject: |
| I really don't think it'll stop the Kingston Bridge from being clogged up during the Rush Hour if that is indeed one of their main intentions. It'll just make it 60p cheaper to visit Loch Lomand... |
wisnaeme This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:05 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | I really don't think it'll stop the Kingston Bridge from being clogged up during the Rush Hour if that is indeed one of their main intentions. It'll just make it 60p cheaper to visit Loch Lomand... | No,it won't stop the Kingston Bridge from being clogged up but that is not the point of the exercise regardless of the spin from the big hoose in Edinburgh.Yes,it could add £20 million in various forms to the local economy for the loss of £4 million in toll receipts but that is not the main reason for why it is being done.The cost of constructing the bridge and the yearly maintenance of same has been more than repaid by toll receipts over 26 years.The decision to make the bridge toll free is a political gesture.I suppose Jack the lad will turn up tae cut the ribbon declaring "I now make this bridge toll free" with a bevy of school kids in tow and a couple of local New Labour worthies tagging along fer the free ride and free eats not to mention as many of the friendly media as he can gather round himself.It is basically a"be nice tae the punters"decision and aren't I a nice man,look wit I'm doing fer ye.Aye,just so.I bet he would nae be that daft to have his wee ceremony on April the first,would he? Go on Jack dae it, jist for me. |