SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 11:50 am Post subject: Scotland Against ID Cards |
I though I'd posted this a while back, but I can't find it.
NO2ID Scotland is the campaign to stop the introduction of ID cards and the associated database.
http://www.no2id-scotland.net/

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 11:54 am Post subject: |
Here is a letter from a member of the campaign in todays paper.
| Quote: | RUTH Wishart clearly understands the concerns that lead civil liberties campaigners to reject ID card proposals and is quite right that the government has failed to make a positive case for the scheme (February 13). The reason that the Home Office has not attempted to promote ID cards in such a way is that the arguments set forth do not stand up to scrutiny.
The notion that ID cards would be useful in a motorway pile-up is sheer fantasy. Paramedics do not need instantly to know the blood group of accident victims type O can be given to anyone and it would be foolhardy in the extreme to rely on the accuracy of an overly-complex central database when lives are at risk; even the government has not claimed that it would be able to maintain 100% accuracy for the data stored on a National Identity Register.
Furthermore, even if the database were accurate, the very high failure rates of biometric technology would certainly scupper any such attempts to use fingerprints or iris scans for medical identification.
People with drug allergies already have the option of voluntarily wearing an SOS talisman, at a fraction of the cost of a National Identity Register and with far greater reliability. The enormous costs of the ID proposals would be better spent investing in hospitals to treat the victims or better public transport to reduce the number of such accidents that occur.
Nor will ID cards significantly protect citizens from identity fraud. The government figures of £1.7bn have been widely ridiculed: the payments association Apacs has noted that the Home Office has attributed costs of £508m to card fraud, yet only £39m of that can be considered "identity theft".
The vast majority of credit-card fraud is of the card-not-present type where cards are used to purchase goods online, by telephone or by mail order; ID cards can do nothing to prevent such crimes.
A further £395m of the headline figure is attributed to money-laundering, yet when challenged even the Home Office has admitted that the figure is purely illustrative.
The government has entirely failed to make a case for compulsory ID cards. It would have found its task significantly easier if it had decided what problems it actually wished to solve before designing the system and drafting the legislation.
Geraint Bevan, NO2ID Scotland, Glasgow |
http://www.theherald.co.uk/features/56150.html |
Morph I really have nothing else to do!!!

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:36 pm Post subject: |
I agree that these ID cards seem to be a rushed barely thought out goverment plan _________________ "An oppressive government is to be more feared than a tiger" |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4210 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:00 pm Post subject: |
I don't believe they are a proportional or effective response to the problems of today. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really meanpower over people, power to the State.' |

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:02 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | I don't believe they are a proportional or effective response to the problems of today. |
And that seems to be the consensus... It's never easy to tell, but I don't see any great public support for these measures. |
wisnaeme This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:35 pm Post subject: |
| SLG wrote: | | Aventinian wrote: | | I don't believe they are a proportional or effective response to the problems of today. |
And that seems to be the consensus... It's never easy to tell, but I don't see any great public support for these measures. |
I for one,have deep misgivings about the commercial use of personal information and confidential data contained within any future ID cards. I am also deeply concerned about the cost ,both to a citizen who has to apply for one if they need certain official documentation on a personal level and the cost to the public purse on a UK level.Would not the huge financial sums involved be better spent on our public services?Also of deep concern to myself is the awarding of large sums of public money to service contracts beween the government and private,commercial concerns.Would the public be entitled to scrutinize and hold the government to account with regard to these contracts?Would we, the people trust the government to inform us of decisions taken in our name?Would the public be informed by the government that due to commercial confidentiallity laws information regarding public expenditure vis private contractors is not availiable?In common language,is this another scam for Tony's pals and jobs for the boys to the detriment of ourselves and our public services? I am deeply suspicious of certain elements of HM's government and senior civil servants and their o so plausible reasons for ID cards.What ever the stated motives and spin thereof,one thing is for sure,vested interests and not public security is at stake here and not the so called"war on terrorism".Shades of disinformation and WMD comes to mind here and quite frankly I wouldn't trust this government to defend me and mine,neighbour or fellow citizen,to keep us from harm or to have a duty of care towards us without the involvement of commercial considerations or of vested interests coming to the fore.Any public sense of duty is merely an after thought and a pretence.Shame on them. |

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4210 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:22 am Post subject: |
I have misgivings about not only the commercial, but governmental use of these things.
You may now note that our country holds information on our religion, race, national identities - after this it will hold photographs, finger prints, everything... even today our voting papers have a unique number on them. Through taxation, we are required to surrender all of our financial information.
I trust no human being that much, and particularly not one over whom I have such little control. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really meanpower over people, power to the State.' |

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 11:49 pm Post subject: |
| I have just watched and listened to BBC Question Time and while I think it is rather a tame political programme sometimes it does have it's moments. Mr Peter Hain had quite a rough ride tonight and it was evident that he had some awkward moments,squirming would be a more appropriate description.Not one member of the panel were in favour of ID cards,indeed they were very vocal in their opposition to them,as were the overwelming majority of the audience.Is it just Scotland against ID cards?I think not. |

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 7:55 am Post subject: |
No2ID is a national organisation, this is just the Scottish branch.
I don't think anyone with sense is supporting them at the moment. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 9:36 pm Post subject: NO,nae gonnae dae that. |
I have just watched a programme on the box about ID cards.Bloody frightening if freedom is your choice.Say no in a channel4 poll.
http://www.channel4.com/news/microsites/S/stealing_freedom
Naw,naw,naw. Dinnae let ra loons dae that.Gonnae nae dae that tae us. |

Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 10:57 am Post subject: |
| So far 95% say no - I wouldn't sacrifice my civil liberties for more security. |