Un-FAIR face of Love Ulster
One of the Love Ulster campaign organisers praises old South African system
Ciarán Barnes
04/03/2006
“Under apartheid, the black man was better paid, they
had better jobs,
better everything.”
“I couldn’t care less if people call me
a racist. I couldn’t care less what they think. Apartheid meant the black man was better treated and respected."
The Opinions of Jim Dixon
One of the organisers of the Love Ulster campaign can be exposed today as a racist.
In an interview with Daily Ireland, Jim Dixon praised apartheid, called for an end to immigration into Ireland, and insisted on “other races having their own schools, hospitals and buses”.
In 2001, Mr Dixon stood as an independent unionist candidate in the Fermanagh and South Tyrone constituency, in an election that was eventually won by Sinn Féin’s Michelle Gildernew.
The Democratic Unionist Party withdrew from the poll to give Mr Dixon a better chance of victory. In the 1998 Stormont elections, Mr Dixon stood for Robert McCartney’s UK Unionist Party, narrowly missing out on winning an assembly seat.
Mr Dixon is chairman of the Ely victims’ group, which is based in Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh. He was severely injured in the IRA’s 1987 Remembrance Day bombing in the market town.
Daily Ireland learned recently that Mr Dixon had been made honorary life president of the ultra-right-wing Northern Ireland Springbok Club.
The organisation wants to see the return of “civilised white rule” to the African continent.
Representatives of the Springbok Club distributed thousands of leaflets at the Love Ulster rally on west Belfast’s Shankill Road last October. Mr Dixon led the rally, which was supported by both the DUP and the Ulster Unionists.
Speaking to Daily Ireland yesterday about his role in the Springbok Club, Mr Dixon extolled the virtues of apartheid.
“Apartheid is what blacks want. It’s the same as in Northern Ireland. Catholics don’t want a united Ireland like blacks didn’t want a new South Africa. Both groups prefer to stay as they were,” he said.
“I’ll be travelling to South Africa in two weeks. I’ve travelled there extensively in the past. The black man wants segregated schools. The black man hates the white man. I can support apartheid without being a racist.
“I am not trying to do down the black man. He should have his own space to do his own things.”
Mr Dixon told Daily Ireland that black people had benefited under apartheid rule in South Africa.
“Under apartheid, the black man was better paid, they had better jobs, better everything. He was treated better than anywhere else in the world. Under apartheid, the white and black man got on well.
“Learn the history of South Africa. The black man didn’t live there. He doesn’t belong to South Africa. The country was originally inhabited by the Bushman. Blacks came to South Africa to find jobs.”
Mr Dixon also blasted immigration laws in Ireland and Britain.
“It’s wrong that blacks are coming to Northern Ireland,” he said.
“I couldn’t care less if people call me a racist. I couldn’t care less what they think. Apartheid meant the black man was better treated and respected.
“Immigration is a recipe for trouble. It shouldn’t happen anywhere. Each to their own. Other races should have their own schools, hospitals and buses.”
Mr Dixon’s racist views caused fury in his home county of Fermanagh. Local SDLP assembly member Tommy Gallagher said the public would be shocked.
“We have people of other races living in Fermanagh and they are made welcome by the vast majority of people,” said Mr Gallagher. “Some have been the victims of racism, and Mr Dixon’s remarks will only encourage those responsible for disgusting racial abuse. Under new legislation, Mr Dixon’s comments can viewed as inciting hate crime.”
Sinn Féin equality spokeswoman Caitríona Ruane also condemned Mr Dixon’s comments.
“They are outrageous, racist and completely unacceptable,” she said.
_________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP |
RBK I Love 'Our Scotland'
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:19 pm Post subject: |
| One thing it has shown is that Ulster is a tolerant place compared to the R.O.I. Sein Fein can walk through the centre of Belfast [and has done] but Loyalists cannot walk through the centre of Dublin. Speaks volumes. |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:42 pm Post subject: |
| RBK wrote: | | One thing it has shown is that Ulster is a tolerant place compared to the R.O.I. Sein Fein can walk through the centre of Belfast [and has done] but Loyalists cannot walk through the centre of Dublin. Speaks volumes. |
Yes of course you'd believe that because it fits your agenda perfectly.
Look at the bigger picture for once.  _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:10 pm Post subject: |
| Not a matter of fitting an agenda. It is a fact.....simple as that. |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:16 pm Post subject: |
| RBK wrote: | | One thing it has shown is that Ulster is a tolerant place compared to the R.O.I. Sein Fein can walk through the centre of Belfast [and has done] but Loyalists cannot walk through the centre of Dublin. Speaks volumes. |
Were most of the protesters not down from the north as well?
Also, do the Sinn Fein marchers in Belfast not mainly come from NI? That is very different from Orangemen marching in a city that is, IYO, in another country. Is it not expected that such a city would be less tolerant of foreigners marching. |
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:19 pm Post subject: |
| SLG wrote: | | RBK wrote: | | One thing it has shown is that Ulster is a tolerant place compared to the R.O.I. Sein Fein can walk through the centre of Belfast [and has done] but Loyalists cannot walk through the centre of Dublin. Speaks volumes. |
Were most of the protesters not down from the north as well?
Also, do the Sinn Fein marchers in Belfast not mainly come from NI? That is very different from Orangemen marching in a city that is, IYO, in another country. Is it not expected that such a city would be less tolerant of foreigners marching. |
This has been claimed by some people, including I think the Love Ulster people,but Sinn Fein has denied this to be the case.
I would say yes most of them would be from Ulster. But in the light that Dublin and the R.O.I. look at the island as one. It doesn't seem fair that they can't accomodate a fairly small protest,
in what they would call their capital.
It amuses/amazes me that republicans never get tired of telling us,[and who ever else will listen] that the orange in the Tricolour is there to represent the Protestant ethos culture and tradition. Yet their hatred is always on show when people of that tradition try, to hold any sort of a parade.
I think they should 'take it down from the mast' or at least take the orange out of it.......and stop living a lie. |
Aventinian Time For Reincarnation

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4570 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:47 pm Post subject: |
| Not to mention that most Protestants probably don't want to be associated with the connotations of the colour orange - it certainly doesn't represent them. |
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:02 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | Not to mention that most Protestants probably don't want to be associated with the connotations of the colour orange - it certainly doesn't represent them. |
Good point....but it was republicans who put it in the flag and the colour they used was orange. So THEY must have thought it did.
I think in view of present day republicans attitude/behaviour towards that colour, its about time it was taken out of the flag offically. Some tricolours have a gold bar in them. Maybe they should drop the pretence and use the gold version instead. Their fooling nobody...except maybe themselves. |
the bard of keppoch Nationalist
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:09 am Post subject: |
did anyone note how jim dixon stated ' learn the history of south africa,the blackman did'nt live there,he does'nt belong to south africa,the country was originaly inhabited by the bushmen,Blacks went to south africa to find jobs ' is this not double standards by this man to suit his own agenda, rbk im interested in what you make of his opinions please _________________ " i was no chief and never had been,but because i was more wronged than other's,this honour was conferred upon me,and i resolved to prove worthy of the trust " GERONIMO |
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:48 am Post subject: |
| the bard of keppoch wrote: | | did anyone note how jim dixon stated ' learn the history of south africa,the blackman did'nt live there,he does'nt belong to south africa,the country was originaly inhabited by the bushmen,Blacks went to south africa to find jobs ' is this not double standards by this man to suit his own agenda, rbk im interested in what you make of his opinions please |
Bard,Not to sure about all that stuff, Its a wee bit out of my territory. We've enough here to contend with without getting bogged down in that.
I did hear or read somewhere many years ago something along those lines. But as far as I can remember it was the Hottentots, or something like that who inhabited the area now known as South Africa. But they were black people as far as I know. I don't know what he's saying/implying when he mentions bushmen. |
parkhead_rfb Getting on a bit!
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:46 pm Post subject: |
aye lets ignore his comments eh rbk  _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP |
Leathlaobhair No Longer a Wean

Joined: 26 Oct 2005 Posts: 94 Location: Every day above ground is a good day
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:26 pm Post subject: |
oh you joker you. _________________ Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 2:31 pm Post subject: |
| Leathlaobhair wrote: | | RBK wrote: | | One thing it has shown is that Ulster is a tolerant place compared to the R.O.I. Sein Fein can walk through the centre of Belfast [and has done] but Loyalists cannot walk through the centre of Dublin. Speaks volumes. |
oh you joker you. |
But True.
Derision Is The Refuge Of Threatened Ignorance. |
Leathlaobhair No Longer a Wean

Joined: 26 Oct 2005 Posts: 94 Location: Every day above ground is a good day
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:52 pm Post subject: |
| RBK wrote: | | Leathlaobhair wrote: | | RBK wrote: | | One thing it has shown is that Ulster is a tolerant place compared to the R.O.I. Sein Fein can walk through the centre of Belfast [and has done] but Loyalists cannot walk through the centre of Dublin. Speaks volumes. |
oh you joker you. |
But True.
I am not going to teach you the history of Northern Ireland. Ask Mullah Paisley if you can read a book and maybe you'll learn a bit of it. _________________ Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:16 pm Post subject: |
| Leathlaobhair wrote: | | RBK wrote: | | Leathlaobhair wrote: | | RBK wrote: | | One thing it has shown is that Ulster is a tolerant place compared to the R.O.I. Sein Fein can walk through the centre of Belfast [and has done] but Loyalists cannot walk through the centre of Dublin. Speaks volumes. |
oh you joker you. |
But True.
I am not going to teach you the history of Northern Ireland. Ask Mullah Paisley if you can read a book and maybe you'll learn a bit of it. |
This is the second time on this site I've been told I haven't any knowledge I don't read any books. I find this line amusing...very amusing  |
Posted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:36 pm Post subject: |
well you did post an "academic" report that may as well have been written with a crayon then looked on smugly as if it actually proved anything. _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:01 pm Post subject: |
| parkhead_rfb wrote: | | well you did post an "academic" report that may as well have been written with a crayon then looked on smugly as if it actually proved anything. |
Derision Is The Refuge Of Threatened Ignorance  |
Cymro I need ma own bl**dy forum!
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:42 pm Post subject: |
My sister was in Dublin that weekend for the Wales Ireland match. She was saying some lads walked in and showed the group of girls she was with a video footage filmed on one of their mobile phones of the fighting.
My mum was all panicy about my sister being near the riot but the people in Temple Bar where completely unaware of anything else appart from rugby and Guinness. |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:58 pm Post subject: |
Thats the way it should be. To be honest the media focus's a lot on the negative side of things.
At Drumcree the O.O. go down to the barrier at Christmas and gather round,have a religious service and sing carols. But there's not a T.V. camera in sight.
Bet if there was another riot at the barrier. The T.V. crews would be there in their hundreds.  |
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 3:35 pm Post subject: |
the orange order shold inform some of there bretheren in scotland that it is actually a religious organisation, many of them dont seem to know as they dont attend church
the derision of that report is well justified in my opinion, if i handed in a piece like that in my course i would expect to fail. _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP